We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect.”
Review of Balam Bali Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balam Bali Villa
Ranked #2 of 7 Mengwi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2010

This was my first time in Bali and I cannot say enough about this place. It is a gem. I am traveling alone and pay close attention when choosing a place to stay, I stayed in Balam Bali because of the reviews and wish I could have stayed a whole month. It is so peaceful, cozy, and charming that you won't even want to go to Ubud. The staff is incredibly helpful, they would go out of the norm to help you or get you what you need. The food is tasty and breakfasts in the terrace overlooking the rice fields are priceless. Highly, super highly recommended.
I would definitely recommend getting the airport pick-up, a big help in order to get to Mengwi.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielaburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2010

I stayed in balam bali for 8 nights.
the location is too far(for the bali standards) from ubud. You must pay taxi 20Euro per day balam-ubud-balam.
oF course is in beatiful place among the Rice Paddy Fields BUT BELIEVE ME you can found the same beatufil places only 2 minutes by taxi from ubud.
it is to tired for you 2 hour every day travel by taxi, of course if someone like me want to drink a coffee or have a lunch or dinner in a restaurant in ubud.
and the coffee and the food is more tasty delicious and interest in ubud than in balam bali.
About the room ,i stayed in Java room which smell too bad humidity and mould and the plumbing in wc has problems,when you use the the shower your feet are in
in a dirty lake.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kopa-56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalamBali, Propriétaire at Balam Bali Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2010

We feel sorry that our clients are not satisfied with their stay in our guesthouse because the customer satisfaction is our first priority.

However, we are a little surprised that our clients did not react or give us any feedback during their first stay (from October 27 to 31, 4 nights in Java room), especially when we asked if everything was fine with their room or food before their check-out. Furthermore, we keep wondering why they decided to return to our guest house for a second stay five days later in the same room (November 5th to 10th, 4 nights in Java room), if they were not happy with the location of the guest house and with the room. As our guest house was not fully booked during their stay, we could at least have proposed another room to the guests, or checked what went wrong.

Balam Bali Villa is located in the Mengwi district at 25 minutes away from Ubud (not 2 hours). If the guest wants to be at a walking distance from Ubud, our guesthouse is of course not the right place to stay,. Our place is a quiet place to get relaxed, a guesthouse among the Balinese, and a good starting point for many excursions on the inland to discover the Balinese culture and landscapes.

Adi, Hubert, and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

It was wonderful property in village area of mengwi. Our purpose to visit the place to see balinese culture and tradition closely. Our stay was very well managed by the villa staff and every one was very helpful in all the ways. It was like a home away from our home.

I will definately recommend this property

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamyalok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Balam Bali is a perfect example of how the staff can really make you feel at home away from home. Set in an excellent location this is an ideal place if you really want a quite and relaxing vacation in bali away from the commercial hustle and bustle. We stayed in the Agung room at the pirate house and it gave us a complete experience of a true balinese stay. Any appreciation of Balam Bali will be incomplete without a special mention of Hubert and Adi who go an extra mile to make sure that you feel like guests rather than paying customers.

I would highly recommend Balam Bali for people who are traveling to Bali for a relaxing stay close to nature, this place will provide you a true balinese experience amongst the Rice Paddy Fields for a great price.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Safarnama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We stayed in Java room for 5 nights at the beginning of our 2 week trip to Bali/Lombok then returned to Toraja room for the last night of the trip. We had arranged airport transfers which made everything very easy.

The villa is in an amazing location surrounded by rice fields, the view was fantastic. You can hire bikes from the villa which were useful for exploring the nearby surroundings. The villa itself was gorgeous, the rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The breakfasts were superb - especially the banana pancakes! We ate at the villa a few nights, the food was delicious and good value. Ubud is just over half an hour drive away for a change of scenery.

Hubert and his staff went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay, they were a wealth of information about the local area, Balinese culture and the trips arranged through the villa were great. Would thoroughly recommend booking one of the massage treatments on offer.

I would not hesitate to recommend Balam Bali, thanks to Hubert and staff for such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

My husband & I stayed in Balam Bali for 5 days & without a doubt it was the best 5 days we spent in Bali, having previously stayed in All Seasons & Indiana Kennanga.
Positives: Great food, friendly atmosphere, helpful staff
What we really loved about Balam Bali are the people - Hubert, the co-owner, knows Bali like the back of his hand and can guide you to unique places & experiences. He'd pass by & crack jokes with a poker face, always a tidbit about Bali ready for our consumption! Adi, Mayun, Kadek, Poka & the rest of the staff really set the standards for hospitality.
I was really interested in attending a traditional Balinese ceremony & Hubert, Adi really went all out to make that possible.
When we visit Bali again, we are definitely staying in Balam Bali!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supsleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

I chose to stay at Balam Bali Villa for my first time in Bali as my partner & I prefer a more natural setting.

Upon arrival at Denpasar, our pre-arranged villa driver, Borju, was there to pick us up. He is a very nice guy and as we discovered over the next few days, highly punctual too. The villa helped us arrange drop-offs at Ubud and even bought us tickets to experience the 'Jegog', a bamboo musical performance.

Hubert & his team, Wayan, Adi etc are excellent. The level of attention to detail, the care and quality of service is impeccable. Looking around the villa you will note how immaculate everything is and you will appreciate that every piece of decor, crockery, etc are extremely aesthetically pleasing. Hubert also provided us with a most valuable map that highlights all the must-do places in Ubud - it is very useful!

Also of note is the breakfast and food at the villa. We found the eggs, pancakes, toast, etc to be super fresh & tasty! Plus the coffee and food from the menu are all excellent and served with careful decorations.

To sum up, this is one place I will return to Bali once more in order to experience it again. We greatly enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and lush green-ness of this place. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank li-kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mengwi hotels
9.7 mi away
The Edelweiss Ultimo Cemagi
4.7 mi away
Hotel Made Bali
Hotel Made Bali
#1 of 2 in Mengwi
4 reviews
9.6 mi away
Angin Sepoi Resort
Angin Sepoi Resort
#5 of 22 in Mengwi
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sejuk Beach Villas
Sejuk Beach Villas
#4 of 22 in Mengwi
64 reviews
8.8 mi away
Pande Villas Spa and Restaurant
9.5 mi away
Andy's Surf Villa and Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balam Bali Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balam Bali Villa

Address: Jalan Teleng 100, Banjar Cengkok | Baha Village, Mengwi 80351, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Mengwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mengwi
Price Range: £19 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balam Bali Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Villa is nestled amid the rice paddies, near the temple of Taman Ayun, at 25 minutes drive from Ubud. You will discover here a 17th century pirate lair perched atop a hill with two family rooms. It was restored with connoisseur passion. The more contemporary marble villa alongside has also been enhanced with an exceptional collection of objets d'art.Balam Bali Villa embraces seven rooms and includes a convivial bar, a pool, authentic cooking, and a panoramic terrace view. It is a perfect place for a family or a couple. Our guest house organises several excursions to discover the inland (volcanoes, amazing rice fields, temples, lakes, and local villages). WIFI internet available and free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Balam Bali Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balam Bali Villa Hotel Mengwi
Balam Bali Villa Mengwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing