We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Quiet”
Review of Taman Ayun Temple

Taman Ayun Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
US$60.00*
and up
Bali Temples Sunset Tour: Taman Ayun and Tanah Lot
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Mengwi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Taman Ayun Temple is a Royal Temple of Mengwi Empire and it is located in Mengwi Village, Mengwi sub district, Badung regency and about 18 Km north side of Denpasar town. It is strategically located beside of major roadway between Denpasar to Singaraja. It is set on the land which is surrounded by the big fish pond and look like a drift on the water
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Quiet”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is a beautiful temple locates. Unlike many other temples in Bali, this one was quite, at least during our time to visit.

It is worth seeing closely to traditional Bali temple, especially the roof and the funny story that birds could eat the roof somehow as it was made by plants. LOL. I should thank my tour guide for introducing it the entire way.

And I should emphasize again that it was a very quite temple where you can spend longer time to take rest, enjoy the peace, see the temples, hear the stories, etc.

I love it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dadaniu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    530
    204
    23
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1,547 reviews
1,005 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,074 helpful votes
“Better with a guide !”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This temple is nice to have a look at but we were fortunate enough to have a driver who knew about the history of the temple and the area ! What would have been a 15 minutes stroll around the temple turned into a 45 minutes description of the Balinese history and the importance of the religious symbols in its culture .
There are sometimes some guides offering their services at the entrance of the area ; this is one occasion when it would be worth it !

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank belleretraite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth watching”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This a beautiful temple and it is seriously good. But you have go early before 11AM to avoid HOT SUN draining you.
There are many tall temple like structures, well maintaned and must include in your trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ambareesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincennes, France
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful royal temple”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Make a short visit there, it won't take long but still beautiful to see. Not one of the best on Bali though!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Slie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful temple (from outside look)”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

It's looked wonderful from outside since we were not allowed to go inside. They provide some nice angle for you to take a photo with all those temples, though.The temple itself is not very big. The area to walk is quite small, too. If you ask me to visit once more time, I would say no, since I think I get to see all of them already.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jeune_daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taman Ayun Temple also viewed

 

Been to Taman Ayun Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing