We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Taman Ayun Temple
from US$33.00
More Info
from US$57.00
More Info
from US$33.25
More Info
from US$23.00
More Info
Reviews (1,691)
Filter reviews
1,691 results
Traveller rating
600
796
267
27
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
600
796
267
27
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day tour visitors bali significance beauty denpasar statues
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 1,691 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2019

What I liked about Bali temples are even if there are crowds of people, it is still quiet and there is always that calmness vibe around it. Taman Ayun is a beautiful temple with scenic location and a must to do list.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank nomadic_heart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 July 2019 via mobile

Part of a day tour, Mustika, our knowledgeable friendly tour guide, and Surya, our wonderful driver, of Destination Asia helped us visit this World Heritage listed mandir.

We went early in the morning and found the mandir to be peaceful and serene. The landscape was very well kept and had an air of calmness.

The shrines and temple had a sense of religious magnificence about them. You could sense there was a history about them.

Mustika gave a brilliant tour providing a history of the complex. In doing so, he touched on the history of Hinduism in Bali.

Do visit Taman Ayun mandir but visit with someone who can talk to you about its history.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Penfold-Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2019

This temple is well worth the visit as it is somewhat quieter than other major Balinese temples. The vistas around the temple are really beautiful too.

This temple was built in the 17th Century and still carries the peaceful energy of the temple worshippers of yore. The temple is surrounded by a wide moat and well-manicured gardens, which gives it a very beautiful ambiance. There is a long pathway leading up to the temple, but visitors cannot enter the main temple, which occupies the top of a plateau, but they can walk around its perimeter to watch any ceremonies being conducted within the temple.

There are many paths within the complex, and if you follow these down towards the moat, you will find yourself inside a shady glade which offers a cool retreat from the temple proper. Here, you can rest within any of the many gazebos that dot the gardens, or follow the paths to explore the gardens further. These are peaceful places by the flowing waters where you can meditate and retreat.

There are eleven spires in the main temple, each of which rises higher than the one before it. Attached to these spires are thatched roofs, beginning with one roof, on the shortest spire, until the tallest spire had eleven spires attached to it, and these represent your journey through life and the spiritual world.

We truly enjoyed our time in this temple

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank HelpfulAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2019

This is a pleasant and relatively lightly visited (at 10:00 when we visited) Royal Water Temple in Mengwi, about 30 minutes drive NE of Tanah Lot or NW from Denpasar. Elegant and peaceful, it has a delightful layout and has been well-restored and maintained. There are some attractive woods to wander around at the back of the main site.

It is worth noting that Taman Ayun is part of the “Cultural Landscape of Bali Province” UNESCO World Heritage SIte, the citation for which says that it is “the largest and most impressive architectural edifice of its type on the island”.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 July 2019 via mobile

We walked into the temple and we were immediately greeted with a stunning view (after you had passed security.) We then walked up some steps and saw the main temple! Waking around the outside was slightly difficult as there were a couple of groups in the middle of the pathway! I would highly recommend walking around the path behind the temple as it is tranquil and pretty! All in all it was an excellent trip and would go again!!

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank _WhatTomDid_
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews