We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Val de Poix Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saint-Hubert
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed one night at this Hotel and I still can't find a justification for the price we paid.
Accommodation is roomy probably recently refurbished but very basic with quiet old piece of furniture, no Internet, TV is as big as a post stamp.

Ok maybe the location invites you to spend more time out of your room but what if you need some rest?
We could hear people from the room adjacent early in the morning almost as if they were in our own room, as there was communicating doors that provide no noise insulation.
Our room was on the newer building with no charm

The person at reception was not very welcoming. We arrived around noon with all luggage just to be told it was too early and we had to come back at three and we were no offered to keep our luggage so we had to carry them back to our car which was on the parking lot opposite the reception (with lots of stairs).

The hotel website showcase lots of activities but the staff seem not very knowledgeable about them. For example, we wanting to ride a quad bike and after some difficulties to find the place (we just had an address, far from the detailed map promised on the website, that does not exist on even up to date GPS) we were told by the owner that we had to booked in advance or should have called.

The breakfast was ok but there was lots of flies. Even 30 min before end of serving time there was enough to drink/eat with some more croissant and bread being brought.

We did not try the restaurant and brasserie (they seemed to be closed for refurbishment works) but they could still serve on other room as the way we had been welcomed (or more exactly the lack of it) did not invite us to stay here and we preferred to take our car to go to Saint-Hubert were there is some nice restaurants.

Driving around we saw some nice B&B places looking more charming and more welcoming!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jvlien_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    47
    24
    11
    5
See reviews for
21
64
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Local venison, trout mushrooms, and vegetables, as well as cheese and beer from nearby producers, makes dinner ar Val de Poix a vital part of the stay. A calm hotel of zen-like simplicity, by a river and walking distance from station with trains to Brussels every couple of hours.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oursoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brugge, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

good location when you like nature and walking.
Not for eldier peiople. No elavator.
Nice bar. Graet choice of Belgian beers.
Restaurant with good locat specialties.
When you pay "full rate" , it's quite expensive. But a lot of reductions are available. Then price/quality is very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wimBrugge_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meopham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Having stayed here on business in May 2012 I returned for another stay this September. I believe there are about 50 rooms at this hotel with two blocks divided by a river. There is a connecting bridge. On one side is the main hotel with reception, rooms, formal restuarant, bar and brasserie. The other side are just rooms. If you are a light light sleeper ask for a room in the main building. The annexe is opposite the railway station. Although there are only a couple of trains an hour the adjacent level crossing has a bell that sounds on every closing. I didn't find it a problem but my friend did notice it occassionally as he were trying to sleep. Also there is a little commuter traffic from about 07.30 onwards, mainly cars dropping off.
The rooms are quite modern and large, with not a lot of hanging space, that being confined to a strange swivelling wardrobe. The beds, singles in this room were comfortable. The usual telephone and television were there but not used. Bathroom was clean and tidy with enough towels for two. The bath had a shower attachment but no shower curtain which leads to a fairly wet floor if you are not too careful. Both rooms I have stayed in had the same arrangement. Surprisingly the towels were changed each day.
As there is very little choice in the village regarding eating out we ate in the brasserie. The week we were there the only other bar in the village had closed for their annual holiday. I have no hesitation in recommending the food at the hotel. It is very good. A strong enphasis on local meat and game. Very fresh and well served. Good beer on tap and a reasonable wine list. The surroundings are nicely appointed. On my last visit I did use the restuarant and found it just as good for a more formal dinner. For such a remote location the bar an restuarant was always busy. If you fancy a quiet beer there is a little terrace by the river with tables and chairs. It is easy to miss though which may explain the lack of use.
Breakfast is in the main building in a separate room from the restuarant. Plenty of choice including the usual continental selection plus scrambled egg. Well it could have been a Belgium omelette but I'll leave that for you to discover. Help yourself to as much or little as you want.
On both visits the hotel has been full so they must be doing something right. I also found it was nice that the staff recognised me from my previous visit and took the trouble to stop and chat. Having searched around for the best deal on internet travel sites I could find no better rate than the hotels own.
Overall a pleasant stay with little to criticise and much to commend.

Room Tip: For a quieter night ask for a room away from the station side. Beware drinking La Chauffe beer at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackrat751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We went to Poix-Saint_Hubert for a weekend stay, just to relax in the nature. As our stay was a gift from our friends, we didn't know the exact price for a room in this place (later on, I will comment this).
The hotel itself is located in tiny village, with literally less than 10 houses and a train station. Our welcome was nice and we were surprise that the lady at the reception could speak perfect flammish (quite rare in this area of Belgium).
The room was very spacy, with extra floor (comfy even for 4 adults), with brand new bathroom and toilet. I must admit that it was also perfectly clean.
If you stay there don't hesitate and try the kitchen served by the hotel restaurant. The prices are acceptable and the quality is very good.
The location - don't go there if you seek for an entertaiment. There is nothing interesting in this village. But if you like walking and enjoying nature, it is the right place for you.
But there were two things that made me lower my total score.
One of them was breakfast. We couldn't believe our own eyes when we arrived to the breakfast room. First and foremost 30 minutes before they close and a lot of things were out and nobody cared to replenish scrumbled eggs or milk.
But the worst was the place where they served ham, cheese etc. The temperature in the small fridge was exactly 18 (!!!!) C. I don't have to say how dangerous it is to keep meat and dairy products in such temp. We were shocked.
The last, but not least important is the relation price to quality. We checked afterwards the price for a room in this hotel and...it came out that the place is enormously OVERPRICED. For the same price you can sleep in Gent or Brugge, so...
THE CHOICE IS UP TO YOU :)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pitbulltje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
254 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

The Hotel Val de Poix is far from up market - having said that, we thought that what was offered, for the price paid, it was still a great place to stay.
We chose half board and the menu du jour each day was good - no choice, but everything fresh and tasty. On Saturday night we had booked the Gastronomic dinner - warning - do NOT eat at lunchtime! No choice but it was a brilliant meal with six courses - we sat down at 7 and were still eating gone 10 0'clock!
Alternatively, if you don't want the restaurant, you can eat snacks and drink beer (amazing selection) in the brasserie.
There is literally nothing in Poix St Hubert, which is the tiniest of villages - though strangely it boasts a railway station with a good service to Namur and Luxembourg.
However, for us, the well marked walks (4 - 12 kms) from right outside the hotel (map from reception) were really enjoyable and some took you through wonderful forest areas where we spotted birds, deer etc. then stopped to eat the couple of rolls and apple which we purloined from the breakfast buffet! After this, we worked our way back to the hotel to decide which beer to relax with on the terrace while listening to the river for an hour or so.
If this is your kind of low key relaxation - it's a great place.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank patrm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2008

At the last minute we decided to drive from Brussels to the Ardenne for a couple of nights over Easter and booked this hotel over the internet not knowing too much about it.
It lists its location at Saint Hubert, a small village in the very south of Belgium, but its actually situated in an even smaller hamlet 6km away called Poix St Hubert!
It was snowing quite heavily on our journey there and as it was getting towards dusk we were getting a little concerned - we seemed to be in the middle of nowhere and still climbing up into the hills.
Eventually we found St Hubert and then the right road to Poix - and finally the hamlet with the hotel in it. The hotel is situated on both sides of a river with a footbridge between the two areas - the parking is by the station outside the hotel and is very close - a good job as the snow was quite deep by then!!
The reception staff were really friendly and put up with our dodgy french very well and we were soon in our room on the opposite side of the bridge.
The rooms are basic - a bit Ibis like with twin beds and furniture that has more than a passing resemblance to a certain Swedish flat pack manufacturer - but the heating worked very well and the bathrooms were spotless with never ending hot water. The only issue was the lack of a shower screen so showering resulted in a completely flooded bathroom! ( I took long hot baths after that! )
We decided not to venture too far in the now blizzard conditions and scurried over the bridge again to the bar for dinner. There is a proper restaurant and a bar/brasserie, but as we'd eaten in Dinant at lunch time we opted for beer and cheese in the brasserie.
The beer was great ( hubby has a penchant for the Rochefort 10! ) and the assiette de fromage was lovely - the service was a little brusque at first but they were extremely busy and the ladies defrosted later on in our visit.
Breakfast is served here too and is an ample buffet with freshly baked rolls and croissants and various cheeses/meats/jams etc.
Be quick for the croissants!!
We felt the hotel was very reasonably priced and very friendly, and its fine for one or two nights, however I don't think the rooms have enough creature comforts for me for a longer stay.
We'd definitely go back again in the summer as the walking around there is wonderful.

  • Liked — The location and the brasserie
  • Disliked — Basic rooms, no shower screen
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tobyteabag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Hubert
6.0 mi away
Le Fournil - Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hostellerie des Tilleuls
7.7 mi away
Le Beau Sejour
Le Beau Sejour
#1 of 1 in Nassogne
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel L'Amandier
Hotel L'Amandier
#1 of 1 in Libramont
156 reviews
10.3 mi away
La Malle Poste Rochefort
La Malle Poste Rochefort
#1 of 1 in Rochefort
247 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hotel Quartier Latin
Hotel Quartier Latin
#1 of 2 in Marche-en-Famenne
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Val de Poix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Val de Poix Hotel

Property: Le Val de Poix Hotel
Address: Rue des Ardennes 18 | Poix-Saint-Hubert, Saint-Hubert 6870, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Saint-Hubert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saint-Hubert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Val de Poix Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Le Val de Poix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing