We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for motorcyclists”
Review of Hotel a La Ferme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel a La Ferme
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ferrieres
Ricany, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ideal for motorcyclists”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed for one night on our bike trip to UK. The hotel is off main roads in an absolutely quite and picturesque little village far from the crowds (and far from mobile phone signal - you have to climb a hill to place a call - which was the only fault of the place). Our room was spacious, clean and top design. The hotel restaurant serves five star hotel meals, continental breakfast was very rich. Owners are very nice and friendly. Motorcycles can be parked in a locked yard. Loved the place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    26
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
17
33
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We chose the Hotel a La Ferme as we booked rooms quite late for the Belgian Grand Prix at Spa-Francorchamps. Sy is a quiet little town with only a few inns and houses and is definitely off the beaten path. We were happy with our choice- the rooms were quite decent and we found the hotel owners and staff to be friendly and very helpful, however as other reviews have indicated, be prepared to dust off your high-school or college French skills as this is the only language spoken at the Inn. Breakfast was the standard continental, while the dinner menu was hearty Belgian country fare.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skihouse132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampthill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a group of 20 people. We were made very welcome and we were given additional security for the motorbikes. Marc and Lucy, the owners, were very welcoming and friendly.

The food was absolutely fantastic. Breakfast was traditionally continental and plentiful. The evening meals were on par with any 5 star restaurant I have ever been too, and you would never go hungry. We paid 22 euro's for a 3 course meal each evening with the occasional additional course thrown in, including home made sorbet and locally caught fish.

The hotel itself was in a small hamlet next to a river. It was very well looked after, modern rooms and was cleaned every day.

Fantastic time was had by all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Second time we stayed here for 2 nights on a motorcycle trip. Wonderful restaurant, elegant and very good food, charming young waiting staff, very hospitable owners. Beautiful but small terrace on the river. We had an apartment (nr 9) across the street in a separate house and to our surprise it was huge with a kitchen, living room and 2 bedrooms for just the 2 of us. Paid 88 euro per night including a nice but not too elaborate breakfast buffet (only cold so no eggs etc). Would definately stay here again. Clean, hospitable, friendly, beautiful area. Only small frustration - but this the hotel cannot help - is that there is absolutely no reach for cell phones : zero network, so no ams, no calls possible, unless you walk about 500 meters away.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed four nights with a group of 20 people. We were made very welcome by Lucy and Marc the owners. Our rooms were first rate, the ambience in the hotel was very pleasant, the location superb and our evening meals were typical local cuisine but absolutely delicious, made from fresh produce, served hot and efficiently. Breakfast is plentiful and the wine list more than adequate and a superb selection of local and national beers. All very reasonably priced and served up with appetisers. I would recommend this place to anyone, the only thing to ensure is to take enough cash with you as there are no credit/debit card facilities. Wi-Fi but a little slow....will I be going back....you bet....only for six nights this time....oh, did I mention the swimming pool and the gym !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Syd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

located next to the Ourthe, in a beautiful setting. And that's where the good news ends. You're not welcome for drinks on the terrace unless you're a hotel guest. Hotel guests are not guaranteed a terrace table if the owner's friends are in town. The owners are prime examples of sullen people-shy country-folk with non-existent language skills, so communication is a challenge. They openly scold the (very helpful) waitresses for no apparent reason, and do this in public, right at your table. The kitchen claims quality but does not deliver, the beds are great if you like your beds made of concrete. They seem to have entered the 21st century by using wifi-tablets to take your order, but accept only cash - no plastic money of any kind is possible - and the nearest ATM is in Hamoir. Large smelly mold-stains in the room made sleeping with all windows open compulsory. The only thing this place has to offer is the location. Everything else is professionally ruined by the ill-mannered owners and their ridiculous policies. Stay away!

Room Tip: Try hotel down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mischa_zelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Quiet but very basis hotel. It's just next to the river Ourthe, pictures of the hotel on the internet or only from the suite. Normal rooms they don't show, because it's very very basic. It's clean at first sight. Swimmingpool was not open, breakfast very basic 80's style. Dinner at night, ok it was food, but better drive a bit further to get a good dinner. Expensive 'hotel/pub' overhall.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferrieres
0.0 mi away
Le Bonheur de Sy
Le Bonheur de Sy
#4 of 4 in Ferrieres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel Quartier Latin
Hotel Quartier Latin
#1 of 2 in Marche-en-Famenne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
21.3 mi away
La Malle Poste Rochefort
La Malle Poste Rochefort
#1 of 1 in Rochefort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Val D'Arimont Hotel
Val D'Arimont Hotel
#1 of 11 in Malmedy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
20.7 mi away
Le Beau Sejour
Le Beau Sejour
#1 of 1 in Nassogne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
17.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Balmoral Hotel, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Ferme

Property: Hotel a La Ferme
Address: Rue Principale 43, Ferrieres 4190, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Ferrieres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ferrieres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel a La Ferme 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel a La Ferme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel a La Ferme Ferrieres, Belgium - Liege

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing