We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must have hit bottom....”
Review of Hotel Victor Hugo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Victor Hugo
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Clamart
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must have hit bottom....”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel won the award, in my book, as the worst hotel I have ever been to in my life! And, I have traveled extensively for both pleasure and business. The hotel was DISGUSTING. From the carpet to the walls to everywhere my eyes had the misfortune of looking. In addition, we were a couple placed in a room that should have been for 1 person (pour soul). The two twin beds thrown into the room made the room impossibly small and unbearable. The bathroom door only opened a quarter way (if that) before it hit the bed and on the other side of the bed, you had to walk sideways down the length of the bed between it and the wall. Two people could NOT walk in the room at the same time. They are smart - PAY UP FRONT because if you have the opportunity to see the room first, you will flee. BTW, the location is in a miserable little town with wretched people 20 minutes outside of Paris.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    17
    12
    13
    18
See reviews for
5
31
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The staff as have been mentioned before are very friendly, and I'm sure that even if I tried, I would find no fault with them.

However, I would rate this hotel a zero if I could.

Technically, sure, it has 2 stars (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hotel_rating) and it does fulfill the criteria which are:

- Breakfast buffet
- Reading light next to the bed
- Bath essence or shower gel
- Bath towels
- Linen shelves
- Offer of sanitary products (e.g. toothbrush, toothpaste, shaving kit)
- Credit Cards

I would say this.

1. Walking up the stairs made me pray no one would be walking on them during the night.
2. The peeling paintwork in the room seemed to be 'standard' throughout the hotel.
3. The almighty stench of rose toilet spray throughout the hotel room is overpowering.
4. The bath itself is half size. What is the point in a bath if I can't lie inside it.
5. The shower head has no hook to be hung on
6. The bath shower, has no shower curtain
7. The toilet brush is brown-ish.

Oh, and no significant cafe's in the local area. Heading out for a bite? Go to central paris.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clamart hotels

Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed in this particular hotel last week on a 5 day trip to Paris. We booked last minute via laterooms.com as a back up plan to previous arrangements. I was a bit worried as it was the cheapest option in and around Paris, but it was honestly fine for putting your head down for a few hours each night. The room was clean and the bed really comfy, good storage, nice tv, fresh towels, kettle and a very hot and powerful shower (the shower had no curtain, but the shower was so amazing it was not worth complaining about). Hotel Victor Hugo is also very accessible from Paris city centre approx. 5 miles and is served by Clamart station on the Transilien Paris – Montparnasse suburban rail line. The train station is a short walk from the hotel with a market, supermarket, pharmacy and good restaurants all in the neighbourhood. Friendly staff also.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candystevo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

The best part of staying here was the staff. They were very friendly. I don't have anything else positive to say about the hotel. The room we stayed in had cheap decor. You walk into the bathroom and there is mild all over the bathtub. There was a huge hole in the side of the bathtub and hair on the floor. The best part was trying to shower, it wasn't even a shower, you had to hold the detachable shower head to wash yourself and there was no where to attach it too! While you were taking a "shower" you had to make sure not to get any water on the floor becAuse there was no shower curtain either!
I am not a very picky person when it comes to places I stay, but there could of been a lot of very little things thought could of made my experience here a lot better. All this room needed was some TLC and it would of been great! But as for coming back to this hotel, that will not Be happening.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steiermark, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Very nice hotel with excellent and friendly young staff. Little bit far away from center of Paris but public transportation is compensating this lack. Very cleaned hotel rooms with WiFi which is working on first floor rooms (not only in hotel lobby like is mentioned in hotel offer). Good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dejan821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Can't really rate the hotel in terms of a place to stay as we decided against staying here. We booked this hotel for 2 nights after searching on Easy To Book, 'Paris' hotels. We only wanted somewhere cheap to stay as we'd barely be in the hotel apart from to sleep. To our horror, we got in a taxi and ended up 45 minutes outside of the city centre! This was not made clear and is a complete joke that they can advertise as a 'Paris' hotel - it's in Clamart, miles away from anywhere. So, ultimately we had to pay off one night and booked another hotel in central Paris.
A bad start to what turned out to be an excellent trip. Do not stay here if you want to see Paris!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
6 Thank Anon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

was referred here after being being bumped from our first-choice hotel, either due to loss in translation or because they overbooked. regardless, hotel victor hugo was a fine enough hotel for our needs.

it's a short walk away from clamart sncf station. technically outside paris, but close enough that you can still use the paris visite zones 1-3.

the hotel owner and reception staff speak good english. but any effort to speak francais will be much appreciated here and anywhere else in france.

they got a small breakfast area but is well-stocked with food!

they got wifi! will need to register once you open your browser. and it's smooth sailing from there. beware when downloading large files, though, because the internet disconnects and reconnects every 15 minutes or so.

floors are wooden. some portions of the floor may give when stepped on. and be careful when walking and dropping things on the floor because it'll make a good amount of noise.

room heater may not work.

tv's full of french channels only.. makes for additional cultural experience

toilet's small but stocked with soap, shampoo, and toilet paper. bathtub's too short for lying down. there's a shower head, but you have to hold it while using; there's no wall attachment for this.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil tristan y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clamart
Hotel Du Trosy
#2 of 6 in Clamart
88 reviews
ibis budget Chatillon
#1 of 2 in Chatillon
260 reviews
B&B Hotel Paris Chatillon
#2 of 2 in Chatillon
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trocadero
Hotel Victor Hugo Paris Kleber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victor Hugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victor Hugo

Property: Hotel Victor Hugo
Address: 166 avenue Victor Hugo, 92140 Clamart, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > Clamart
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Clamart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Victor Hugo 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Victor Hugo welcomes you in Clamart. It situated in an ideal location, allowing you to easily get to Paris, located 10 minutes by car or train. Peaceful, its 31 rooms all feature a private bathroom with hairdryer, TV, telephone, free Wi-Fi and tea / coffee. Every morning you can start the day with a delicious breakfast, which is served buffet style in the dining room, decorated in earthy tones. We speak your language ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Victor Hugo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing