We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in quiet mountain village”
Review of Sole e Monti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sole e Monti
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Quenza
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in quiet mountain village”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Beautifully located in the little mountain village of Quenza. Easy access to superb walking and splendidly scenic twisty roads. Most, if not all rooms have great views and little balconies. The lawned garden is over the road from the hotel and laid out with seating for dining or relaxing. A covered terrace leads into the open plan breakfast, bar and dining area. Functional wi fi.
We were made most welcome by the attentive staff, who often managed to speak English for us.
Standard rooms are rather disappointing, whereas the superior rooms have been refurbished to modern standards. We stayed in a superior room, which although not overly spacious had comfortable bedding, a desk area and a wonderful modern shower room. Our little balcony was nicely furnished with basketware style chairs and table.
Breakfast provided a reasonable selection of interesting food.
Dinner was very good.
Our motorcycles were securely parked within the locked kitchen compound and guarded by big dogs.

Room Tip: Chose a superior room; standard rooms are not very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    50
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
74
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
269 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

A good hotel in a charming mountain town. The hotel restaurant is excellent. We sat in the large outdoor dining area across from the hotel and had a delightful meal with a nice Corsican wine. Free parking is convenient. Well worth a stop.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BunkyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Our stop here was for lunch at the restaurant
We were cycling through the area. The food was excellent.before we finished a thunderstorm started. We asked other diners of they were heading in the direction where we had left the car.
It was too dangerous to ride. Sadly nobody was going our way.The manageress of the hotel/restaurant then offered her car to us. What an amazing and trusting person. We accepted and two of our group drove back to our van 40kms away. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizziemalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I don't exactly remember why we booked to stay in Quenza and not nearby Zonza, but I'm delighted that we did. Hotel Sole e Monti is a gem. It is very peaceful. Rooms come with a small terrace. On our terrace, in the early evening, we found tranquility. I tried to film it with my iPhone. Everything still. The occasional car or cow ambling by, the muffled clink of dishes from the downstairs restaurant, the gate to the garden across the street being closed. That's it. I'm not used to that. The restaurant is excellent and unpretentious; our food was delicious. The staff/family is a happy crew. We loved our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roganddrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
208 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located in a quiet village, near the Bavella mountains. The hotel is well maintained and the family managing it is very nice . The food in the restaurant is very tasty and is definitely worth a try. The rooms are small, simple, but with modern equipments. BUT the beds are unfortunately as hard as a rock. A pity, since evrything else in this place is really worth being recommended.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank angelbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

The village of Quenza is small and quiet, beautifully situated on a hilltop with great views between the Bavella Mountains and the coast. We had chosen this place for stopping over on our detour into the mountains between Bonifacio and Ajaccio, and were pleasantly surprised. Friendly reception, big, comfortable room, nice terrace and beautiful view over the hills to the south. The temperature in July was just right , no need for air conditioning. The dinner was really outstanding, alone worth the detour. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iverh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2007

Just a word of advice before you book a room at the Sole E Monti.
We were not able to get from Sardinia to Corsica by ferry as planned. There were a couple of days in mid May that gale force winds prevented the ferry service from operating. We called the hotel to say we could not get there that evening but they charged us anyway not only for the room but also for the meal. We continued on to Ajaccio and the Hotel Les Mouettes, people we met waiting for and on the ferry were not charged for missing a night. Just be careful where you book.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank AwayWeGoAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quenza
2.0 mi away
Hotel Le Tourisme
Hotel Le Tourisme
#1 of 9 in Zonza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de l'Incudine
2.0 mi away
Hotel Clair de Lune
Hotel Clair de Lune
#6 of 9 in Zonza
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Hotel Residence Olmuccio
Hotel Residence Olmuccio
#2 of 6 in Sainte Lucie De Porto Vecchio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
18.8 mi away
Kalliste Hotel Residence
Kalliste Hotel Residence
#1 of 9 in Porticcio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
11.8 mi away
Les Hauts de Porto Vecchio
Les Hauts de Porto Vecchio
#16 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sole e Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole e Monti

Property: Sole e Monti
Address: Monticello, 20122 Quenza, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Quenza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Quenza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sole e Monti 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sole e Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole e Monti Quenza, Corsica - Corse-Du-Sud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing