We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Beach Tower Okinawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Easy to get to everywhere, Friendly staff and sweet buffet breakfast. Close to the beach and shopping, a lot of americans but what can you do ? The pool was quite warm which was good as in April was still a bit cold.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sn0wsearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for The Beach Tower Okinawa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed August 2011.
We stayed on the 18th floor. Tiny bathroom but had all the amenities and was clean. Decent sized bedroom, comfortable bed, great view.
There was a typhoon approaching during our stay, leaving the hall door and balcony door open created an intense wind tunnel which sent everything flying as the middle of the hotel has no roof (see pictures). The computers in the lobby were all in Japanese, room service was efficient. We couldn't figure out the TV as there weren't any English instructions and that was amusing. Great location for shopping, sight seeing, the beach, bars etc. all within comfortable walking distance. Great 180 degree view from the balcony!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneoffstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

All the rooms consist of a balcony and most of the rooms face the sea. It was relaxing to sit on the balcony enjoying the sea breeze and the terrific sunset. Our room is not small comparing with the hotels in Tokyo. The room has 4 beds and we had 3 members so it was comparatively spacious. The beds were quite comfortable. Except the front desk staff, most staff couldn't speak English. The breakfast buffet was great but most food was in Japanese style. We also tried the dinner buffet with barbecued beef but the taste was so so. By the way, it was the highest hotel in Okinawa.

The hotel is quite near US base so you see fighters flying above it. It is also close to American Village and some shopping arcades , different styles of restuarants and shopping are readily available. In front of it, there is a small beach and a dam. The dam is a popular place for watching sunset.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hongkonger222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I was expecting beaches similar to Maui or at least Florida and I was disappointed. The swimming area is surrounded by netting to protect swimmers from jelly fish. During high tide there is plenty of swimming area and the beach is nice, during low tide there is no water inside the net. There were few beach chairs, but there were never many people on the beach. We enjoyed the ocean front path and walked every morning. It is very windy in this area, so windy there is a windmill.
We had a corner suite and we were very comfortable, but we did not have any drawers for our clothes and as others have said, there were three hangers in the closet.
We had one meal each day in the restaurant, usually breakfast and liked it because there was fresh sushi and salad.
The pool is across the parking lot and needs more chairs.
The only place we had Internet was in the lobby and it disconnects every 30 minutes.
The staff that I meet spoke very little English.

Room Tip: The corner suites are large. We were not disturbed by the noise from the American Village.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beverly5878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We booked during high season so our choices we limited and we had to pay a lot for a suite.

English service was rather poor, but the staff was earnest and helpful.

The room unlike most Japanese hotels had soft beds which is WONDERFUL compared to the rock hard ones I normally find. But terribly the room had no WIFI. How can that be in the 21st century?

Breakfast buffet had great choices for Japanese but limited choices for western food - which is sensible, I saw only one other westerner there.

The beach is nice but when the tide is out the water is gone, several hundred meters away!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The room is nice and the view is beautiful, but unfortunately I showed up during the summer beach season. I was not allowed to use any hotels facilties, still not completely sure why on that. The staff here speaks no English. No even a little. The really are not very friendly. The American village is close but nothing opens until 9:00. If you are not allowed to use the restaurant like I was, then you have nowhere to get food until after 9:00 at least. I would say avoid this place.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This was our first trip to Okinawa. Our flight from Hong Kong by Dragonair was delayed for about one hour, causing us to arrive in Naha at about 5pm. And the last Airport Limousine Bus to the Chatan area had left at 3.20pm (should have flown Hong Kong Airlines instead of Dragonair!). I was prepared for this and took a cab instead.

Due to some after office jams, we arrived at The Beach Tower Hotel about 50 mins later, costing us around 4,000 yen. I have booked a Seaview Twin at 46sqm with Japanican and was overjoyed when we learnt we had been upgraded to a Corner suite, measuring slightly larger at 49 sqm. Domo arigato ...

Our assigned suite, 2016, was blissfully quiet and afford us partial views of the Sunset beach, American Village and the East China Sea in the Chatan area. It was blissful watching that colorful Ferris Wheel lit up for the night and the gorgeous surrounding mountains and sea. This couldn't be better for our first Okinawan Hotel, I thought. There are also two extractors and open-able doors to a semi-circle balcony in the suite, great!

Though the Hotel's lobby and common areas are quite dated and probably not updated in recent years, the corner suite we had was pretty new and very well kept, with no signs of serious wear and tear. The comfy twin beds in the bedroom was separated by an unlock able sliding door from the sitting area, which has a huge sofa (might be able to sleep another adult or child). But there is only one bathroom near the main door.

Though Wifi was free in the suite but the TV has no English channels at all. The location of the Hotel, couldn't be better - you are 1-2 minutes walk to AEON, a huge Hypermart opposite; 5-7 minutes walk to the American Village and merely seconds to the Villa Chula Spa and Sunset Beach.

Though the onsen at the Spa starts at 7am (very very crowded, best to go later in the morning or afternoon), its pools are only ready from 10am and Fish Spa at 12noon! The same goes to Sunset beach, you could only swim from 9am onwards ... so disappointing for ladies who want to have their morning swim before bathing and putting on their make-up for the day!!!

As hotel guests, you would gain free entry to the Spa and the breakfasts coupons could also be used for lunch if you so desire - so we had lunch on one day and breakfasts on the other in order to enjoy two different meals at the Hotel. Lunch had both roast beef and lamb rack (really nice!) while breakfasts has BBQ sliced fish - both options were great.

Overall, we really loved our Hotel choices for our first trip to Okinawa - first stay two nights at the seaside, then stay the final three nights in Naha, the capital (at Hotel Doubletree Hilton, see my other review) where we could do lots of last minute shopping - really really nice!

The only thing we could have done better was perhaps booking the Churaumi Aquarium tour with this hotel earlier as their tour bus often come to The Beach Tower at 9.15am daily to pick up passengers, saving you some 45 mins of travelling from Naha. As we arrived late and tired on our first night, and the tour office is not open till 9.30am the next day, we could only do the Charaumi Aquarium tour from Naha.

Lastly, to get to Naha Bus Terminal from Chatan, its best to take the Airport Limousine Bus which stops by at The Beach Tower Hotel daily for three times, the earliest being 8.55am? It may costs a little more than a public bus which we took (620 yen each), but its a 12 minutes walk to the closest bus stop and the public bus do make very frequent stops along the way to Naha - about 50 minutes instead of the usual 30-35 minutes.

Overall, a very great stay indeed! So glad that we have chosen this older Hotel over the newer Hotel Vessel, which is a much shorter building. A taller building like The Beach Tower Hotel will almost certainly afford us better air, aerial views and much desired quietness we thought, and we were absolutely right on that point!

Room Tip: Choose a larger Twin room of 46sqm and asked to be upgraded to a slightly bigger Corner suite of 49s...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatan-cho
0.1 mi away
Vessel hotel campana Okinawa
0.3 mi away
Hilton Okinawa Chatan Resort
3.4 mi away
Okinawa Grand Mer Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Seaside Hotel The Beach
Seaside Hotel The Beach
#5 of 7 in Chatan-cho
69 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Nikko Alivila Yomitan Resort Okinawa
0.3 mi away
Terrace Garden Mihama Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Tower Okinawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Tower Okinawa

Address: 8-6 Mihama, Chatan-cho, Nakagami-gun 904-0115, Okinawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Nakagami-gun > Chatan-cho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels / Ryokan in Chatan-cho
Price Range: £97 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach Tower Okinawa 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Beach Tower Okinawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Tower Okinawa Hotel Chatan-Cho
The Beach Hotel Okinawa
Beach Hotel Chatan Cho
The Beach Tower Okinawa Okinawa Prefecture/Chatan-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing