We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place no matter how strong your Mexican food craving is”

Obbligato Chatan-Branch
Ranked #146 of 371 Restaurants in Chatan-cho
Restaurant details
Okinawa, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Avoid this place no matter how strong your Mexican food craving is”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Poor service, flat out gross fiord, not sure how this place is still in business. Mike's TexMex or Chili's are a much better bet than here. Dos Manos near gate 2 street has most authentic Mexican food.

Visited September 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    30
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ehhhhhh”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

I guess if you are looking for ok mexican food then this maybe the place for you, but it is not exactly authentic

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“2 Times is Enough......”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I think most other people who have had "true" Mexican food would agree that Obbligato's is not quite that.....true Mexican food. We have been here 2 times and both myself and wife said we probably wouldn't come back as we have found some other restaurants recently that serve excellent Mexican food on the Island.

I think for me the rice and beans were different in their preparation. Felt like their beans didn't have that authentic preparation is the best way I can describe it. I also had their chicken burrito and noticed their red sauce was nothing more than tomato sauce.

So overall not a fan and won't be coming back but in their defense I think it worth a visit and for you to decide if you will return.......

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ehh...”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Even though this place has a clean atmosphere it just didn't meet up with the mexican food criteria. No beans. The mexican rice was steamed with mixed veggies thrown in and everything seemed to have a soggy appearance etc, etc,. Was not impressed in the least and was glad when it was time to go - phew!

Visited December 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Not a fan...”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

That being said, many others love this place. I just find it to be a not-so-good version of a Mexican restaurant.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Obbligato Chatan-Branch also viewed

Chatan-cho, Nakagami-gun
 
Okinawa, Okinawa Prefecture
Okinawa, Okinawa Prefecture
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing