We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality”
Review of New White Bear

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New White Bear
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed at a room with a loft, and the hostess was amazing in making us feel like home. She went out of her way to make sure that our travel arrangements were properly taken care of, in the middle of a snow storm. The location was also perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dionysus38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Noumea, New Caledonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

this is my second time in this lodge , as last year i wrote still a very good place good situation
and the people are still very very friendly.
i forget to told you last year they serve you a very good breackfast ,each day is different ...
you could have diner if you want for good price aroud 2500 yen
so i confirm you this is a very good place to be to appeciate niseko powder

Room Tip: room white ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patrick p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noumea, New Caledonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

i was lucky to spend a week in this lodge very well placed ( walkind distance from the first lift ,and surrounded by restaurant and convenient stores )
the lodge is very clean and the people are very helpful and very kind
( i travel olone and i'm french)
so if you want to appreciate the powder of niseko a place to be ......

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patrick p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yamba
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I have just returned from a two week stay at White Bear in Hirafu and can advise people to stay there. It is central to the village and has bus stops just outside for shuttle access and buses to Kutchan and other areas of Niseko United ski fields. Most other pensions are in the lower village and it is not the temperature to be out walking. Most budget accomodation is targetted at Japanese so breakfast can be a cultural challenge. I don't mind a Japanese style breakfast but I prefer toast, eggs and cereal and at White Bear you get a choice!
Rooms are clean and tidy and I stayed in ensuite room with a view of the ski fields. The polished wood floors 'doors etc are just so Japanese you expect a samurai to emerge at any time. The hot water was tricky as you have to run it in order to start the heating coil, so shave or clean teeth first to allow the unit a minute or so to heat up. you won't get scalded as you set temperature on the tap. The instructions on room heater were in Japanese so make sure you ask them to set it to your preferred temperature as some could find the standard setting 17 to 19 a little cool although I didn't.
Room could accomodate up to 5 but it wouldn't be pleasant - probably 3 if you are like me and need/like space.
The breakfast provided was great for a day's boarding or skiing - western or Japanese available and they even had Vegemite - the locals love to see Aussie's eat such stuff, they giggled at me eating it!!!
The drying room is big enough - shoes off inside front door and stored at heater or in cupboards provided. Board and ski storage in small room before you enter and it lacks a bench so if you wish to adjust bindings etc then you have to work on floor, but it has rubber tiles so you won't damage board or wait until you get to lifts as they have benches and tools.
Staff were very friendly and it is like staying with your aunty - you feel part of family - some Aussies introduced hosts to friends in Australia via skype - so you get the family atmosphere! Guests seemed to be Aussies and Japanese and while I was there it was mainly hard core skiers and boarders so not much noise at night. So if your mates are yobbos then leave them at Chintose with their duty-free as the White Bear is a very peaceful and quiet place in fact the in room folder advises guest to limit the time of their "orgy".
If you want night life then it is central to bars and eateries and it is a short walk to Seico- Mart or Lawson so you can live cheap on take away. Micowave and boiling water are always available, refrigerators are shared or you can cool your beer outside the window in snow!!!!!! There is a kebab shop next door and pub food with free pool table on the other side and a little chinese another few steps away.
It was a bit of a hike to the Gondola but a nice 5 minute leg warmer to the Family lift or Quad (not in ski boots) so skiers take shuttle and boarders can walk. However get there before 9:00 as lessons can cause a bottle neck on this slow double chair lift.
White Bear has free wi-fi so take laptop for communication and entertainment - so you don't have to watch game shows or sumo. It also has a massage chair and hot tub if you don't want to walk to an onsen.
The walls are a little thin so be mindful of that if you're planning a romantic ski trip or take earplugs if your worried about the snoring coming from next room.
The lofted rooms have access via stairs that are more like a steep ladder and this could be a problem if injured or after too much sake but the lounges convert to a double bed.so you can avoid a fall.
This was the first non ski in ski out place I've stayed at in Niseko in 10 years and found it charming, and it suited my needs perfectly. If you are on budget then stay in room with shared facilities as there are enough to not have queues.
I intend to stay there again next year.

Room Tip: If budget permits get a lofted ensuite room. All rooms have sound from other rooms - not a problem b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kutchan-cho hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet Ivy
Chalet Ivy
#2 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yama Shizen
Yama Shizen
#3 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
M Hotel
M Hotel
#7 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Always Niseko
Always Niseko
#11 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Niseko Park Hotel
Niseko Park Hotel
#12 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ki Niseko
Ki Niseko
#1 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New White Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New White Bear

Property: New White Bear
Address: 170-43 Yamada, Abuta-gun, Kutchan-cho 044-0081, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Kutchan-cho
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels / Ryokan in Kutchan-cho
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Rakuten so you can book your New White Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New White Bear Japan/Hokkaido - Kutchan-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing