We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Onsen was warm and natural” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Onsen Yukoro

Onsen Yukoro
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kutchan-cho
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Onsen Yukoro
Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Onsen was warm and natural”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I went here twice during my time in Niseko. Once I went alone and on a second occasion took a friend. Both times - once during the day and another at night - were relaxing and enjoyable. You are able to hire a towel set when you go or you can bring one for free yourself. You can also by beers to take in with you. There were not many girls drinking in there so I felt a little uncomfortable but there were some so I was not alone. Felt very traditional.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandles84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    12
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
6
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Just arrived in from Nozawa Onsen and thought I would give the local Onsen a try. Onsen Yukoro is good experience especially if you haven't been to an Onsen before.
There was a couple of guys in the Onsen, one who obviously drinks to excess on a regular basis given his size that kept getting out, no vanity towel, then came back with super sized cans of beer. I just hope they were using the toilet while they ere getting the beer. Please Onsen Yukoro ban drinking from your Onsen. In Nozawa there was no drinking allowed and it worked fine. If someone cannot resist drinking for the time it takes to enjoy an Onsen they shouldn't be in it.
I am giving Yukoro Onsen a Average only because I do not agree with the drinking policy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MarkF54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XXX
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

it has no long a japanese onsen Feeling. At least during high season. I sat along with 25 loud chatting and beer cans sipping males in the ourdoor onsen.
The Feeling now, compared to some years ago, is more like an average hot tub anywhere in the world. Things change and the owner makes now more money with seeling beer, then with the entrance fee.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank JoachimG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Highly recommend a visit at least once to this traditional onsen, esp after a full day on the slopes. Entry costs app USD6 and you can sit there as long as you wish. The facilities are basic, and better to have own towels, but soaking outside with the snow up to 5 meters in front of you is priceless. Your weary body and muscles will be grateful. Take a drink with you the onsen!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ania8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

this was one of four onsens I tried in Niseko (3 in Hirafu, 1 in Niseko Village) during my stay in Dec 2012.

if you have time you can check out the complete list that i have posted in the forums :
http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g321549-i9846-k6031421-List_of_onsens_hot_springs_in_Niseko_Hirafu-Niseko_cho_Abuta_gun_Hokkaido.html


Price: JPY600/adult, JPY300/child

Facilities: 1 x indoor (hot), 1 x unsheltered outdoor (hot)

Toiletries provided in shower area: Shampoo and soap only

Toiletries provided in changing room: Hairdryer only

Lockers: Yes, free (insert JPY100 to operate, take it back when you unlock the door)

Conclusion: Very traditional (the only one where we could smell the sulphur in the water). Outdoor pool was made of real boulders, and it is unsheltered so the falling snow will gather on your head (very cool experience). No partitions in shower area.

Note: I do not think you should bring drinks into the pools (as mentioned by previous reviewer) as this is disrespectful of local culture. the bath should be kept clean at all times for the enjoyment of all.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BeyondBanalityBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
222 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

I have only tried the onsen not the pension attached. It is a decent place but not as modern as some others and not overly friendly but the owner is now used to foreigners taking cold beer and other drinks into the baths and a bit more relaxed in that regard than other onsen. Kids can go too.

Really soothes away aches and pains picked up during the day. No cold plunge pool but usually plenty of snow if you like to cool off between dips in the hot one.

Definitely something to try, take care to follow the etiquette, there is an explanation as you go into the changing area. Bring your own towel to save a bit of money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safemach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I did not stay at the pension which is next to the Onsen. Went there for the onsen itself and it's the most authenthic and traditional one you will find in Hirafu. Outdoor and indoor hot pools. The outdoor pool is probably the best in Hirafu as you are in the open and can enjoy the snowflakes falling on your face whilst you soak in the hot onsen water.

I do find it's slightly lacking in facilities like a sauna or even a cold pool. However, if all you're looking for is an onsen that's cheap and has hot pools, you won't go wrong here. Especially if you're staying in the lower village.

Bring your own towels and save 300 yen on renting them.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanYung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kutchan-cho hotels
0.4 mi away
Niseko Park Hotel
Niseko Park Hotel
#12 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Ivy
Chalet Ivy
#2 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Always Niseko
Always Niseko
#11 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yama Shizen
Yama Shizen
#4 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Niseko Prince Hotel Hirafutei
Niseko Prince Hotel Hirafutei
#5 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ki Niseko
Ki Niseko
#1 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onsen Yukoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onsen Yukoro

Property: Onsen Yukoro
Address: 163 Yamada, Abuta-gun, Kutchan-cho 044-0081 , Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Kutchan-cho
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels / Ryokan in Kutchan-cho
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Onsen Yukoro Japan/Hokkaido - Kutchan-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing