We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location!!”
Review of Pension Berg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pension Berg
Ranked #8 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kutchan-cho
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The super friendly family that run this pension makes this cosy ski hutt special. Hearty breakfast every morning sets you up for a days skiing. Hot onsen heals a tired muscles at the end of each day. The pension has great character to get immersed in Japanese culture aswell. 100% recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Choose a Japanese room, you dont have the bed taking up your space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights and found Pension Berg to be the perfect location for skiing Niseko. If you're coming here for luxury, then think again, but if you're looking for a clean, well-equipped and well-managed base to stay, Pension Berg is absolutely perfect. The rooms are surprisingly large for Japan, have a sofa and TV for relaxing on and the beds are pretty comfortable. The bathroom is shared, but has a great hot bath for soothing post-ski muscles. The pension has discount ski passes for the resort and can also organise ski/board hire delivered to and collected from the pension (which was great on the last day). The nearest lift is only about a 3 minute walk and the Hiarafu Welcome Centre, where all the buses to/from the airport go from is probably only about a 5 minute walk (where there are more lifts). The breakfast is substantial and good for a day on the slopes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahlrhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We spend 1 week at pension berg for our ski vacation.
The staff is really friendly, the place is really nice and clean.

they have share bathroom with osen :) the room are spacious and well heated.
the pension is 5 min from the ski lift and in the middle of the town (so close to all the restaurant and bars).

I really recommend it ! we really liked our stay at Pension Berg.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B0ulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We had the best family holiday ever. The staff are very frendly and the location of this pension are fantastic as it was very close to the lift. we stayed in japanese style room with tow banks, but the beds are very confortable and clean. The bath rooms are small, but there was onsen, which was quite hot ( I loved it!! ). it was definetally value for money. snow was amazing and so easy to ski as it was so powderly. we love to go back!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We were three friends sharing a western style room. The rooms are warm, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was nice and enough for a day in the slopes. The shower room had a onsen.

The location of this B&B could not be better. It is literarily on the slopes and next to a really good ramen place for nice food. All the bars are in very close vicinity.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. You can buy ski passes and rent excellent value ski equipment in the reception. We paid 6000 yen per person in a triple which is fantastic for Hirafu.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sveinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

So friendly, staff were first class, very helpful. best location cross the road and ski to the lift, short walk back, easy enough to go back for lunch, great food especially if you pay for a home cooked local dinner. Breakfasts are great, hot and plentiful, just what you need before a day on the mountain. Great value for what you get. Went in a Japanese style room, onsen bathroom, nice ad warm with views of the volcano on a couple of mornings. Right in amongst the bars and shops but not noisy, just a few obnoxious Aussies in there but a good split of nationalities with Japanese overall. Easiest ski holiday ever to organise, get skis delivered to the ski locker room, lift passes collect from reception. I will definitely be back, loved it... Beats getting ripped off in Europe anyday. And the skiing and snow is amazing!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cosmic_teapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed here in a triple room for 5 nights. The place is in a great location with only a 3 min walk to the family ski run that takes you to the ski lifts. It is located in the upper village so really close to all of the bars and restaurants. The owners were ultra friendly with big smiles and extremely friendly attitude. Breakfast and if you choose dinner is great. Shower room and toilets are a little small in number for the amount of people but no real issue. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dahenchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kutchan-cho hotels
0.1 mi away
M Hotel
M Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet Ivy
Chalet Ivy
#2 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Niseko Prince Hotel Hirafutei
Niseko Prince Hotel Hirafutei
#5 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Red Ski House
The Red Ski House
#6 of 62 in Kutchan-cho
39 reviews
3.7 mi away
Nattural Resort Niseko Weiss Hotel
0.1 mi away
Moorea Lodge Niseko
Moorea Lodge Niseko
#1 of 62 in Kutchan-cho
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Berg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Berg

Address: 191 Yamada, Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun 044-0081, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Kutchan-cho
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kutchan-cho
Price Range: £72 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pension Berg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Rakuten so you can book your Pension Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Berg Japan/Hokkaido - Kutchan-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing