We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic, but overpriced”

Kamimura Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 226 Restaurants in Kutchan-cho
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$84 - US$193
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Romantic, but overpriced”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We were spoiled with so much great food on this trip that I think I may have given Kamimura a higher rating had we just eaten there and nowhere else. It was lovely, particularly the truffle butter and fresh baked bread! The atmosphere was gorgeous and romantic, but the price was very high for what you get I felt.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kmalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    41
    15
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fantastic French/Japanese restaurant in Hirafu (Niseko)”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The chef is really talented and takes excellent regional seasonal Hokkaido ingredients and creates wonderful fusion dishes. The restaurant itself is modern and the service excellent. The wine list is extensive (mostly French and Australian) and matches the style of food very well. There are 3 degustation menus of 7, 9 or 11 courses. We had the 9 courses for 13,000 Yen that was excellent value, considering the quality of the food (including black truffles) and its presentation. If the Michelin guide visits Niseko they should earn a star.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hard to satisfy the hype.”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Great that people are raising the bar for quality food in the Village.
It is good but the promos are better.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best of the best”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The best of the best!!! Talking to the chef is one of the enjoyable moments spent at kamimura

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pheeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fine dining, contemporary Japanese”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Excellent chef. Loved the nine course tasting menu. Not really suited to families with young children or people looking for a value meal. Bookings are essential and New Year's Eve was booked out 6 months in advance. This restaurant is as good as Sydney's best tasting menus we have tried. Nice wine list.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kamimura Restaurant also viewed

Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
 
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
 
 

Been to Kamimura Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing