We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Owashi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Owashi Lodge
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed at Owashi Lodge for 3 nights from 26th to 29th December. Staffs are helpful and friendly. Shuttle service is provided from Kutchan station to Lodge at 1,000 yen for 2 pax. Had a lift from Lodge to Hirafu Center. Location of Lodge is extremely convenient. It's located along the main streets, extremely near lifts and ski areas, near convenient stores and restaurants. Reasonable priced. Rooms are big and nice. There's a bar for chilling, kitchen for cooking.Definitely a well equipped Hostel. Rooms and toilets are clean. WIll definitely stay here again, if I were to visit niseko. Thank you for the pleasant stay and experience!

Room Tip: Perhaps room 308? You can build snowman outside your window during the winter season! :P
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjuney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    21
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
14
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Had an amazing experience at Owashi Lodge!
Storm on front desk was so friendly and super helpful.
He made my first impressions of Japan a wonderful one, really took a load off.
The prices are affordable as well.
Great location.
Hard to beat I would bet!
Thanks again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda_Wils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My partner and I lived there for a snow season and had the most horrible time. The owners were intrusive, rude, arrogant and just all round horrible people. We were not allowed to use the heaters to much, it was cold, the internet hardly worked, and when you complained we were told to take a hike basically. We all got so fed up that a group of us actually moved out towards the end of the season. The rooms were tiny, horribly dirty when we arrived, and just all and all a horrible place to live. I would NEVER EVER recommend this place to anyone, let alone even consider staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Soybeanooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owashilodge, マネージャー at Owashi Lodge, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Hi Soybeanooo

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Owashi Lodge. We take our guests' views very seriously so we're sorry you had such a poor experience.

We haven't had guests stay for a full season since 2010/11 so it seems you might have mixed up your dates. In addition we haven't had any guests cut short their stay since that season. We did have some problems in 2008/9, when the lodge operated as seasonal staff accommodation. This was the first year we operated and we concede that there were some teething problems. If that was indeed the season you spent with us, we did our best to make up for those problems with our guests so we're sorry if you didn't feel that was the case. We certainly learnt a lot from that season and have worked very hard to keep improving on the level of service we provide to our guests.

Since that time we have changed our business model and upgraded our facilities and services by employing full time professional management and staff to operate the lodge year round, outsourced the cleaning of the lodge to a professional cleaning company and quadrupled the internet capacity within the lodge (we are not saying it is perfect but the improvement is substantial and it has always been free to guests).

We note your comments about the owners. However, none of the owners were in Japan in December 2012 so you either did not meet the owners or you have your dates wrong.

Rooms in Asia are traditionally smaller than those in the West but we also ask you to remember when considering the size of the rooms that we are a backpacker lodge. We believe that our room rates reflect excellent value for money given our location so close to the lifts. Obviously hygiene is important to us and that is why we employ a professional cleaning service.

We make every effort to resolve any problems with the internet and we continue to invest in improving our infrastructure. We can also confidently state that there is no problem with the heating throughout the lodge.

We are proud of what we offer our guests and incredibly proud of the fantastic job our staff do. We believe this is reflected in the overwhelmingly positive feedback we get from our guests, as evidenced by the other positive reviews here on Trip Advisor. We hope that you continue to support the wider Niseko community.

Best wishes
The Owashi team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I stayed in a shared bunk bed for 6 days and luckily no other people checking in during the period so I stay by myself the whole time.

This lodge is close to Hirafu resort, within a 5-10mins up hill walk to lift. 10-15mins walk to convenient store and shuttle bus stop is right at the driveway. The room is very basic, just a bunk bed with a small closet and that's it. Bathroom and toilet are shared. Amenities not provided so you have to bring your own towel, shampoo, toothbrushes etc. It's clean generally. Staff are nice, they are willing to give you lift when you're check in/out so you don't have to drag to bag to the bus stop. They provide a dry room for your boards and boot but it's pretty full.

They run a bar at the basement where you can meet some people there. There is also a pingpong tables too. Pretty interesting place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan-hob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owashilodge, マネージャー at Owashi Lodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Hi Alan-hob,

Thank you for your very kind review.
Most of our guests come to Owashi Lodge for ski/snowboarding so we make our rooms basic & simple with reasonable price. We are pretty full from mid-Dec till mid-Mar but as long as we have a room available, you will have a change to use dorm rooms by yourself.
Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you next winter!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Most of the staff here were amazing and helpful. The location is perfect just a short walk to the ski lift. clean rooms and facilities. Bar downstairs means we didn't need to trek out into the snow to have a ball.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owashilodge, Guest Relations Manager at Owashi Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Hi Jess,

Thank you for your very positive review. We are pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed the Owashi experience. The close proximity to the Ace Quad ski lift is definitely something that separates Owashi Lodge from other accommodation of similar price and we are very glad that this contributed to your overall satisfaction.

It is great to hear that you guys had a ball in our bar downstairs. It was named Kanpai Bar earlier this season after a naming competition. 'Kanpai' means 'Cheers' in Japanese!

We would also like to thank you for acknowledging the helpfulness of our staff and the clean rooms & facilities.

If you have any suggestions to help make our future guest's experience more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to contact us on; info@owashilodge.com

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you next time!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I stayed at Owashi Lodge for 4 days this Christmas. Here are the pros and cons:

PROS:
1. Very affordable - budget accomodation at its best
2. Proximity to Grand Hirafu - it is less than a five min walk
3. Very friendly staff - great people, very helpful
4. Side trips organized. We went to Niseko Grand Hotel Onsen one day - that was beautiful
5. Great company of travellers
6. They get you a discount for rentals too!
7. In-House bar

CONS:
1. The heater in rooms can be better - the reception area can be better heated too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AthmaGyaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owashilodge, Guest Relations Manager at Owashi Lodge, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Hi Athma,

Thank you for your very positive review. I am glad that you you enjoyed your stay at Owashi Lodge. We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our daily events, in particular the Mixed Onsen Trip to Niseko Grand Hotel and that you were surrounded by great company of other travellers.

We have taken your concern about heating into account and if you have any other suggestions that will help to make our future guest's experience more enjoyable please don't hesitate to contact us on; info@owashilodge.com

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

i stayed there in Feb 2012, and i can't wait for an opportunity to go back.
the hostel got a little loud, and sometime the other travellers got a little roudy - but there the people working at owashi try their best to keep things under control...without stopping people from having a good time.
i was travelling with friends, but was staying in the hostel on the last night on my own (since my friends left early). i was staying in the 6 person mixed share room, and one of the guys working at owashi offered to give me a private room for the night at no extra charge - in case i didn't feel comfortable being the only girl in the room. i didn't take it since i'd gotten to know the other travellers - but it was really considerate of them to offer.
the place is crazy close to two lifts - either walk up hill to the main lift, or downhill to the bottom of the bunny hill to connect back up to the main lift.
the bathrooms are clean, and the kitchen had enough room for people to all cook at the same time.
while you have a lock on the door, there are no individual lockers for personal items. you can get a few things locked away at reception if you're paranoid about some stealing your stuff...but theft did not seem to be a problem during my stay

Room Tip: Might want to consider not staying on the ground floor since it's above the basement where the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllMountainPass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owashilodge, Guest Relations Manager at Owashi Lodge, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Thank you for your very positive review. We really appreciate your acknowledgement of the considerate nature of our staff and are glad that you still hold very fond memories of Owashi Lodge a year down the track.

We are very happy to hear that you were pleased with our Kitchen/Bathroom facilties and the close proximity of our accommodation to the base of Grand Hirafu.

If you have any suggestions to help make our future guest's experience more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to contact us on; info@owashilodge.com

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kutchan-cho hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet Ivy
Chalet Ivy
#2 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yama Shizen
Yama Shizen
#3 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Niseko Park Hotel
Niseko Park Hotel
#12 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ki Niseko
Ki Niseko
#1 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Niseko Alpen Hotel
Niseko Alpen Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Niseko Prince Hotel Hirafutei
Niseko Prince Hotel Hirafutei
#5 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owashi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owashi Lodge

Property: Owashi Lodge
Address: 188-7 Yamada, Abuta-gun, Kutchan-cho 044-0081, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Kutchan-cho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 60 Speciality lodging in Kutchan-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Owashi Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere two minute walk from the main quad lift, Owashi Lodge is a backpacker's hostel designed to cater for the modern independent skier and boarder. A combination of small private rooms and great communal spaces gives guests the option to relax in quiet comfort or party with fellow snow enthusiasts.Owashi Lodge is more than just great rooms at great prices. We can help you with many of the other mountain services you might need: ski equipment hire at discounted rates, all resort lift passes and loads of information about the many other activities available in Niseko.Free WiFi internet access & 2 shared public computers with internet accessBarPool tableDarts x 2Table tennisVending machineCoin operated washing machine and dryer with washing powder availableCommercial grade guest kitchenFood store roomTV / DVD roomLinen, doona & pillow providedSki, snowboard storage & drying roomWax table and wax Iron is available at drying room Hair-dryer is available at receptionDaytime reception desk with night wardenRooms cleaned with linen change after 7 nightsDaily cleaning of common areas / bathroomsWeekly event (Onsen, Poker, Dinner, Pool competition etc.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Owashi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Owashi Lodge Japan/Hokkaido - Kutchan-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing