We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Owashi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Owashi Lodge
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at Owashi Lodge for 10 nights during December. The staff were always very helpful and friendly. The beds were great and the rooms big for japan standards. We had a private 3 person room. All rooms have there own heaters which were fairly easy to operate though I think some English instructions in the room would be helpful.

Loved the kitchen facilities and washing machines.

All in all a great stay.

Only criticism was that the room walls/carpets looked dated.

Great value though.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pointer_fudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    21
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
14
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival we had been put into two rooms, both with double beds but my booking on Hostelworld was clearly one room two people. The staff at Owashi were very understanding and put us into one room for half the price of the original booking and said if we cancel on Hostelworld and lose our deposit not to do it.. I contacted Hostelworld and they are looking into what seems to be a web error, in the meantime the staff said that they will absorb the loss of commission to Hostelworld. This just shows the type of kindness the staff have and they are genuinely caring about their customers. Best located hostel in Hirafu, excellent facilities, even all the little details set up especially for snowboarding/skiing. Will stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kriddle_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights recently. Very conveniently located, near the ski lifts, shops and eateries. Clean rooms and bathroom/toilets. Mainly caters to the younger crowd, not very suitable for families. I happened to be there when there when a snowboarding camp was being conducted. It gets pretty noisy at times and kitchen eating area can get a tad busy.

For the price you pay, and the location of the property, it's real good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fanziq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was a great place to stay. Really set up for the skiers and boarders. Very clean and well equipped with a large kitchen, plentiful bathroom amenities and an excellent drying room for your equipment. The close location to the lifts is a definite plus. Would stay again!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewanderingboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at Owashi for 4 nights. The pickup from the station was super convenient and the staff were great. There is a kitchen so we were able to make all our own meals which was terrific as we found Niseko to be extremely overpriced in that respect compared to the other snow resorts. The beds were very comfortable and the room had a basin which was convenient for teeth brushing as the toilets were downstairs.The lodge is only a very short walk to the chair lift. I think we got unlucky during our stay as there were a lot of large groups with very aggressive language (every 2nd word was swearing) just hanging out in the hallways at night (even though there is a common room). It was the only resort we stayed at were we felt unsafe going to the toilets at night and felt it imperative to lock our door all the time I think largely due to the hooligans in the hallway. We are undecided if we would stay again next time. The hotel itself was great…. some of the crowd, not so much.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kylieanne87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here January 2nd - 12th 2014. Over the 10 nights we made friends with most of the staff and one of the owners. The owner was the best possible host you could ask for. He was friendly and helpful ( even taking us out on the slopes a couple of days to show us some local knowledge of the mountain). The bar/communal area is great fun with the cheapest drinks in town and the main bartender there, Niall, is the bomb. I recommend you try one of his signature drinks the 'eastern bullet'. Owashi has recently done some renovations to the bar area and jazzed it up a bit with two big tvs and some mad cool big prints on the walls. Two ping pong tables and a pool table along with loads of board and card games to play will keep you busy. If you're looking to have a quite beer and lounge there are many lounges to grab a comfy seat on. Typical back packers type accommodation but that adds to the fun vibe. The communal Kitchen has everything you could possibly need to cook all kinds of meals and ample fridge and cupboard space to store your food. The rooms were basic but you cant expect too much for how cheap it is and how close to the slopes it is. Rooms were very warm (we only slept with the blanket, didnt even need the heaters). I cant say enough about Owashi lodge. its cheap, less than 5 min walk to nearest lift and ticket office. Staff are great and it was just an all in all fun time. We will be back again for sure. Special Thanks to Nestor, Storm, Niall and the rest of the owashi crew

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mav-eElger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed at Owashi Lodge for 3 nights from 26th to 29th December. Staffs are helpful and friendly. Shuttle service is provided from Kutchan station to Lodge at 1,000 yen for 2 pax. Had a lift from Lodge to Hirafu Center. Location of Lodge is extremely convenient. It's located along the main streets, extremely near lifts and ski areas, near convenient stores and restaurants. Reasonable priced. Rooms are big and nice. There's a bar for chilling, kitchen for cooking.Definitely a well equipped Hostel. Rooms and toilets are clean. WIll definitely stay here again, if I were to visit niseko. Thank you for the pleasant stay and experience!

Room Tip: Perhaps room 308? You can build snowman outside your window during the winter season! :P
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjuney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kutchan-cho hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet Ivy
Chalet Ivy
#2 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yama Shizen
Yama Shizen
#3 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Niseko Park Hotel
Niseko Park Hotel
#12 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ki Niseko
Ki Niseko
#1 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Niseko Alpen Hotel
Niseko Alpen Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Niseko Prince Hotel Hirafutei
Niseko Prince Hotel Hirafutei
#5 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owashi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owashi Lodge

Property: Owashi Lodge
Address: 188-7 Yamada, Abuta-gun, Kutchan-cho 044-0081, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Kutchan-cho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 60 Speciality lodging in Kutchan-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Owashi Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere two minute walk from the main quad lift, Owashi Lodge is a backpacker's hostel designed to cater for the modern independent skier and boarder. A combination of small private rooms and great communal spaces gives guests the option to relax in quiet comfort or party with fellow snow enthusiasts.Owashi Lodge is more than just great rooms at great prices. We can help you with many of the other mountain services you might need: ski equipment hire at discounted rates, all resort lift passes and loads of information about the many other activities available in Niseko.Free WiFi internet access & 2 shared public computers with internet accessBarPool tableDarts x 2Table tennisVending machineCoin operated washing machine and dryer with washing powder availableCommercial grade guest kitchenFood store roomTV / DVD roomLinen, doona & pillow providedSki, snowboard storage & drying roomWax table and wax Iron is available at drying room Hair-dryer is available at receptionDaytime reception desk with night wardenRooms cleaned with linen change after 7 nightsDaily cleaning of common areas / bathroomsWeekly event (Onsen, Poker, Dinner, Pool competition etc.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Rakuten and HotelQuickly so you can book your Owashi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Owashi Lodge Japan/Hokkaido - Kutchan-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing