We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location”
Review of Niseko Alpen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Niseko Alpen Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Only 50 metres from the front door to a quad chair. Very helpful staff. Rooms adequate. Clean. Great views of te Grand Hirafu area. Restaurants are OK, but there's so much choice in just a few blocks. The Sweets Cafe does a fantastic dessert called Custard Pudding Toast - like french toast - but much, much better. Try it! Also the general shop in the hotel has great selection of souvenirs, clothing, food, grog etc. Onsen is lovely. Pool is a good size and was most unexpected. Breakfast has a great range of Japanese and western selection. Overall a top place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1602Bernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Niseko Alpen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in a triple room (463) for 9 nights end of Feb (booked through ski japan). I went on a skiing holiday with my two teenage boys and I must admit the room was very small and quite cramped for the 3 of us. Beds were comfortable, but I found the pillow hard and high. Room was very clean and didn't smell of smoke. Neighbours a little noisy at times so walls must be paper thin. Our room overlooked a beginners run and was a great place to people watch. Breakfast was adequate but did not change much during our stay. Wifi in the foyer worked well. We didn't use the onsen so I can't comment on that. Enough bars and restaurants within a short walk down the hill. Was very icy and snowed every day for most of our stay so you did need to be careful walking at night in particular. The main reason I chose this hotel was location to the lifts....it is worth every cent, and regardless that the rooms cramped I would stay here again next time without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank swampee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here for a week in march. Very few westerners like us which was refreshing. Onsen very nice and clean. Great spread at breakfast - many things I didn't recognise but loads of choice.
Bedrooms large and comfortable. Great view of the slopes.
Only complaint was wafts of cigarette smoke in the bedroom. Room was definitely a non smoking one but I think there must have been smoking rooms on that floor.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank klwombat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルニセコアルペン, 宿泊 at Niseko Alpen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you very much for your feed back .
I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us

Sorry about cigarette smell of the room , untill this winter, we do not have non smorking floor , but we have changed all hotel room to non smorking room from this June. I do hope that I can welcome you back to Hotel Niseko Alpen in the near future and thank you once again for your kind review.

Kind regards,

Hirofumi Takahashi
Reservation , Hotel Niseko Alpen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Make this your snow destination! Snow conditions fabulous, powder galore. Apret ski in the wonderful Japanese Onsen to soak away your aching muscles, and then on to a wonderful in house dinner set menu of Japanese or Western food. Many other local eateries close by if you are curious or try The Ice Bar, The Igloo or many others. We will be going back again and again.

Room Tip: Take your own pillow if you do not like hard pillows.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルニセコアルペン, 宿泊 at Niseko Alpen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Hi Martina , Thank you for your review . I am pleased you continue to enjoy your stays with us.
I will be sure to share all your comments with our staff.

Thank you again and I hope in the future you continue to chose to stay with us.

Kind regards.
Hirofumi Takahashi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

10 day ski trip during Feb 2013 stayed in room 275, standard western twin with ensuite.
Room was bigger than expected, clean & well presented.
Sufficient shelves for storage but hanging space was limited.
Bathroom was adequate if a little on the small size with a shower in bath arrangement.
Toilet was separate.
Mirror was lacking height for the tall.
Found our beds and pillows on the firm side.
Appliances were as expected including a new flat screen TV (note… channels are in Japanese)
Free internet room access (Ethernet cable) – excellent.
Breakfast, included in our package, was self-service, day to day variety was limited, with a strong Japanese flavour but with enough western selections (just} to get you off to a hearty start.
Housekeeping was good.
Staff were friendly and helpful even if their English (or my Japanese) was not always the best.
The Ski locker, one assigned to each room, was functional and convenient but without a drying room.
Ace 2 ski lift is a few metres outside the ski locker doors which gives ready access to the entire resort.
“Holiday snacks” are available from the onsite the Convenient Shop and there is the café for the coffee drinkers
The free onsen for hotel guests became addictive after every ski day.
Washing machine, Dryer & powder is available, cost for a load was 340 yen - good value.
The Hotel is opposite the main bus / coach terminal – convenient connection to other ski areas including Rusutsu and the Airport.
As the Hotel is located at the top of the hill, there is a walk to the various restaurants & shops but the path is steep and icy with no designated walkway…… tread wearily as slips and falls are a little too common.
Enjoyed our stay in this ski in & ski out Hotel which meet our skiing requirements and more. Would stay here again. Finally, the snow / powder did not disappoint!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JGR_1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルニセコアルペン, 宿泊 at Niseko Alpen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you very much for your feed back.
I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us .

Thank you once again for taking the time to review Hotel Niseko Alpen and I do hope that you will choose us again for your next visit.

Kind regards.
Hirofumi Takahashi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Wow, talk about a time warp... it seems they took architectral advice from the 1960's soviet era....and the breakfast....if you like corn flakes with full cream milk and sugar, with a cold fried egg you have found a home....BUT, the plus side is onsen onsite and next door to the quad lift, so great opportunity for first tracks.....

Room Tip: If you can get a view of the upper slopes or family that is pretty good
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルニセコアルペン, 宿泊 at Niseko Alpen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.
We are sorry to disapoint you with break fast, I will be sure to share all your comments with our staff.

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Niseko next winter.

Kind regards.
Hirofumi Takahashi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The hotel is dated. Breakfast buffet selection is ok but I have seen better. We booked a triple room and its basically a twim room and they cramp another bed in there, it left very little space for opening suitcases.

My biggest problem with this hotel is housekepping. During our 5-nts stay, 4 items gone missing from our room: shaving gel, toothpaste, electric toothbrush head, our own slippers!!!! Not sure it's intentional or not, but very annoying to found something missing everyday. These are all personal items so it's not like the hotel can replace them with the same thing after complain. My advise, hide everything before you leave in the morning.

The only positive about this hotel is location!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Buffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルニセコアルペン, 宿泊 at Niseko Alpen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Mrs. Buffy

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niseko Alpen for your ski holiday and taking the time to share your experience through Tripadvisor.

We truly apologise about inconvenience of house keeping . Things like this should never happen as hotel service. We will take your feedback on board , and we cirtainly inprove this as not happen again.

For triple room, sorry to let you down as not large as you expected , for 3 to 4 people we have japanese western room which is 2 single bed with futon on Tatami (Japanese style), if you put away your futon( Japanese style bedding ) , there will be a space to open suitcase.

Again, I am sorry for inconvenience , and thank you very much for taking the time to review us.
I hope in the future you chose to stay with us again.

Yours sincerely,
Hirofumi Takahashi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutchan-cho
Chalet Ivy
#2 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
124 reviews
Yama Shizen
#3 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
117 reviews
Ki Niseko
#1 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Niseko Onsen
Hilton Niseko Village
Hilton Niseko Village
#1 of 11 in Niseko-cho
1,422 reviews
Niseko Prince Hotel Hirafutei
#5 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
202 reviews
Niseko Onsen
The Green Leaf Niseko Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niseko Alpen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niseko Alpen Hotel

Address: 204 Yamada, Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun 044-0081, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Kutchan-cho
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels / Ryokan in Kutchan-cho
Price Range: £82 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Niseko Alpen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Niseko Alpen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niseko Alpen Hotel Japan/Hokkaido - Kutchan-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing