We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glenorchy Lake House
Ranked #3 of 5 Glenorchy B&B and Inns
St Kilda, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were lucky to have this beautiful B&B to ourselves. The property is beautiful, spotless, and a joy. The hot tub is a great bonus!

Breakfast was amazing - seriously one of the best breakfasts I've had at any B&B anywhere in the world. Delightful owners and manager as well.

Glenorchy is a gem, especially once the LOTR tourists leave! :) What a joy to have stayed in this beautiful part of the South Island, and in this very special property.

Room Tip: One bedroom has an en suite and is far larger and more private than the smaller bedroom, which has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heilaneats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinloch_Lodge, Owner at Glenorchy Lake House, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thanks for your review. Glenorchy is starting to be very popular during the day and hence there are a lot of people in town and by the lake where the Glenorchy Lake House is located. When 4 pm hits, they all tend to head back to Queenstown and you will then appreciate the peace and tranquility of Glenorchy and will have the views and vistas all to yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    2
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
37
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Wish I had read that last review before staying here. Glenorchy is lovely but this 'Lake' house was outrageously overpriced. For a price that was more than a great room at Millbrook, we got no sound proofing from the people next door, a faulty lock between the rooms, a view of a car park instead of a lake and access to promised facilities only by an outside route. Even Suzie's charm (manager) could not compensate for the unpleasant owner's intransigence when I pointed out that this was at least twice what it was worth. Warning bells should have rung when payment was asked in advance-before seeing this room--such misleading advertising and grossly overpriced compared with both the recently renovated and very cute Glenorchy Lodge and Glenorchy Hotel.
All Glenorchy can see the mountains but I can't understand where rbbj1 got the view of the lake!.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere: to the Glenorchy Lodge or Glenorchy Hotel for a third of the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 707CJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinloch_Lodge, Owner at Glenorchy Lake House, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
We are sorry the guest found me "intransigent" When my manager phoned me I was trying to extricate young children from a birthday party and get them back to the boat to Kinloch that was leaving in 10 minutes time. The guest was asking to speak to me and despite being told the above, refused to let me call her a short time later when I would be able to concentrate on her rather than the children. When she spoke to me, she was highly agitated and said that the Glenorchy Hotel! was so much better with sunny verandahs!l. I was then threatened with Trip Advisor if we did not drop the price to what she wanted. With my head focused on children, and feeling extremely bullied, I have to say the guest is correct and I was intransigent. Our 2 bedroom bed and breakfast is as advertised - this is a 4.5 star bed and breakfast with hot springs spa, great bathrooms, really good beds and TV, DVD, Sky and all the facilities as advertised, we offer a really good breakfast with cafe coffees and full cooked as well as freshly baked croissants etc.. We have never had a complaint about noise from the room next door though will re-test this as we always do our best to provide the best facilities we can and in keeping with our 4.5 star Qualmark rating that is assessed each year. There is not a faulty lock in the house. When the guests spoke to my manager prior to asking her to speak to me they said they did not expect to be sharing the house and were concerned about this. As a gesture of good will, we put a stop sell on the second room in the bed and breakfast and opened the whole house to the guests. They then locked the interconnecting door from inside, hence the comment with regard to the faulty lock. We work really hard on both our businesses Glenorchy Lake House and Kinloch Lodge to be the best we can be. We will not be bullied and threatened. Trip Advisor is good in how it shows both sides of the story. Glenorchy is a wonderful place. There is a range of accommodation here. There are plenty of rooms with basic en-suite facilities around the $150 per night mark on a room only basis. These places do not include breakfast, do not have lake views, spas, gardens, sky, free wifi, underfloor heating or luxury bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

This is a nice timber cottage that is well appointed with a great bath and spa outside. The big king bed is also very comfortable and the accommodation is located in a convenient spot. However at $340+ per night it is completely overpriced for what you get. What gets worse, this price was just for the room, not even the whole house. I can't imagine the lack of privacy should there be other guests staying there. Another rip off was the $60 5 minute boat ride to their restaurant on the other side of the lake. This was never mentioned otherwise I would have ate in glenorchy. To charge this amount for guests is ridiculous. I would give this accommodation tops marks if they dropped their prices by about 35% to 40%

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank AJM92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinloch_Lodge, Owner at Glenorchy Lake House, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
We're sorry these guests found the property over-priced. This is a bed and breakfast so there is just one lounge and dining area shared by guests, not a lounge and dining area each. The website clearly depicts what the property is a about. We offer a boat transfer to dinner at Kinloch which costs $15 per person each way. Most of the time there are just two guests on the boat. We run the boat from Kinloch to collect the guests in Glenorchy to bring to Kinloch. Anyone who knows boats will understand that this is what it costs. We have two properties at a range of prices and these are all quality checked each year by Qualmark. We are passionate about our business and want every guest to have a fantastic time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, Wyoming
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at this B&B because of it's easy access to High Country Horses and Paradise with all of the georgeous film locations. Nice and roomy, very modern and an excellent host in Suzi....She makes a tremendous flat white! Very convenient, great hosts and the entire Glenorchy area is off the charts.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pullnleather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinloch_Lodge, Owner at Glenorchy Lake House, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thanks so much for your review. Glad you enjoyed our cafe coffees for breakfast and Suzi. It sounds like Glenorchy is your kind of place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Having been fortunate enough to visit Glenorchy a number of times and to stay at the Glenorchy Lake House on a couple of those occasions I felt it only fair to let others know just how good it is. The house sits in an amazing location on the edge of a quiet reserve with stunning views of the lake and mountains. It has generously proportioned rooms and its whole ambiance oozes comfort and luxury. Besides providing a warm welcome, delicious food and various top class creature comforts, the owner/operators Toni & John have that special gift of seeming to know when their input is valued and when it might be better to leave you to soak up the atmosphere of the place on your own. If comfort, luxury, tranquility & genial hosts are high on your list of wants then I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbbj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinloch_Lodge, Owner at Glenorchy Lake House, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Great to see you all again. Thanks for your lovely review. Keep coming back to Glenorchy and Kinloch we love all our repeat guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Glenorchy is a small town in the heart of Otago back country. The Lake House is a well appointed, very comfortable home with a stunning location on the shores of Lake Wakatipu. Toni is the owner/manager/host who serves delicious breakfast and services the house while you are on the many outdoor activities the area offers. Lunch and dinner is to your own account but a visit to the sister lodge at Kinloch for dinner or lunch is a must and the town offers basic food at the hotel and lodge, there are no supermarkets though. Definitely quieter and more relaxing than Queenstown and a must for the discerning traveller who likes to get away from the crowds.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimfromzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
itinerant doctor
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

This small lodge presents the very best of New Zealand luxury boutique accomodation. There had been a mix-up with our booking but it was quickly sorted to our advantage and we spent a very relaxed couple of days with the place to ourselves. The rooms are beautiful and the beds incredibly comfortable. Breakfast was sumptuous and they serve REAL TEA the way we should be able to expect in this level of accomodation. The trip to dinner over the lake is a special experience and the dinner at the other end did not let us down. This spectacular location is one of New Zealand's gems and I will return many times I am sure.

Room Tip: both rooms are beautiful and the house so comfortable.Spend a day relaxing and enjoying it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphnekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
17.6 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#4 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
19.4 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
18.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#28 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 5 in Glenorchy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenorchy Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenorchy Lake House

Property: Glenorchy Lake House
Address: Mull Street, Glenorchy 9372, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Glenorchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenorchy Lake House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual luxury in a remarkable setting.The Glenorchy Lake House offers amazing, uninterrupted views of Lake Wakatipu and the surrounding mountains. You'll find comfortable beds, tasteful decor and an outdoor therapeutic massaging spa perfect for star-gazing. A scrumptious breakfast prepared at a time of your choosing fortifies you for a day enjoying the great outdoors. All this just a 45-minute incredibly scenic drive from Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Glenorchy Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing