We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best baking!!”
Review of The Lodge Glenorchy - CLOSED

The Lodge Glenorchy
Price range: US$5 - US$24
Cuisines: Cafe, Gastropub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Under new Management since June 2013 you will find us in the heart of the town. Just five min. to the Lake and all major places of interest in Glenorchy. A perfect stop on you adventures around Glenorchy for all occasions. We do Breakfast, Lunch and Dinners, have Free Internet, Bottle Store and Take-Away options on our Menu.
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Try the Caramel Anzac Square or the huge Peanut/Choc Chewy biscuits. Good coffee and great staff. Lovely to sit outside & take in the views. Nice touch to have the old red truck there for photo taking opportunities

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham D, General Manager at The Lodge Glenorchy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

We're glad you enjoyed the baking...you'll have to come back again for another visit as we have some new specialties!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

we had a light lunch & coffees at the cafe , good selection , good coffee, great place for a pitstop whilst visiting stunning Glenorchy, VERY friendly cat !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pemb1est
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham D, General Manager at The Lodge Glenorchy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

Thanks for calling in. I see you've met Clara, our cat! She has a mind of her own, but when she likes someone she happily lets them know. Glad you were one of her favourites!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Two recent experiences at the lodge have left me with a great feeling. The first was one of the best seafood chowders for lunch I have ever had and again last night when we joined friends for a family meal in the restaurant cafe. The service was warm and friendly with caring and knowledgeable wait staff, the menu was rustic country fare and just the right amount of choice. I had Rabbit stew, the kids had a venison burger, blue cod and chicken nuggets and my husband had a lamb pie. All were tasty and great value. Each meal came with separate vegetables and potatoes or fries all included in the price. The average price for the main meals was $25. The best thing about the whole experience aside from being with great friends, was the fact the staff really wanted to do a great job. Great to see a team with passion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kinloch_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham D, General Manager at The Lodge Glenorchy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

Thanks so much for sharing your experience. We're glad that you've been in a couple of times of late and appreciate that you took the time to write a review, too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Ok.food ok atmosphere ok cakes and ok coffee glenorchy Is a beautiful place the scenery is our of this world

Thank Lain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham D, General Manager at The Lodge Glenorchy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

We always consider ourselves pretty lucky to live in such a beautiful place. Glad you found it that way, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were served by a helpful and cheerful Dutch girl. We had excellent hot pies for lunch but that was spoiled by the cold-hot chocolate-drinks that accompanied the pies. Why can't staff learn how to make hot - hot chocolate. A start would be making sure the glasses are hot to begin with.

Thank HACKER69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham D, General Manager at The Lodge Glenorchy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

Thanks for letting us know. We would have happily made you a hotter one...next time! Do come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lodge Glenorchy also viewed

Glenorchy, Otago Region
 
Glenorchy, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing