We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, don't miss this adventure!”

Rippled Earth Kayaking
Ranked #5 of 15 things to do in Glenorchy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rippled Earth kayaks operates kayaking tours on the conservation reserves Pig and Pigeon islands, we can meet you in Glenorchy or pick you up from Queenstown. We use Double Sea Kayaks produced and designed in New Zealand, very stable and comfortable. The Islands we go out to have been maintained as bird sanctuaries so we can paddle around the headlands and onto the various beach's with the sound of many NZ Native birds, it is the home of Weka, one of New Zealand's flightless birds along with tui, fantail, bellbird and wood pigeon.With a spectacular backdrop of the Southwest New Zealand World Heritage Area these islands are a paddlers paradise
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, don't miss this adventure!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Sam, our guide, did a spectacular job on our trip to and around Pigeon Island. He was patient and thorough with instructions, engaging and friendly, and most knowledgable about the area. He obviously loves this part of the world, and likes to share his passion. We felt very safe the entire time. I would definitely go back and do this trip again, or any other that Sam offered.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    2
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dinner at Sunset - wonderful!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We wanted to do something a little different, so opted for the Dinner at Sunset adventure. Sam was very easy-going and gave us a brief safety rundown before we set off. The lake was glassy smooth for our paddle over to Kinlock. The three of us sat down for a fabulous meal with wine. (Wine was not included, but we knew that). I really enjoyed Sam's insight as how the Queenstown area has changed over the years.

When we returned to our kayaks, the view of the mountains in the twilight took my breath away. Everywhere you turned, it was simply beautiful. We paddled back under slightly breezier conditions, but nothing difficult.

This was a very special trip, I highly recommend it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank deSchenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
“Perfect Day, Top Guide, Trip Completed.”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

After a long tramp on the Routeburn, Sam was happy and willing to take a pack of us out on the lake and literally made our trip to South Island/greater Queenstown on for the books. He even went so far as to accommodate storage for all of our packs and gear in a safe place while we were out! His knowledge of the water and beachy spots to relax on and general disposition made the trip out fantastic and extremely enjoyable. He even scrounged up a sizable greenstone jade for my girlfriend, a perfect keepsake for the time out!

Wanna take in a spectacular view? Not far from Queenstown? Wanna hit the water?? Sam's your man.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TimB83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“The icing on the cake”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Sam took a group of us out in the afternoon after we had just finished the Routeburn Track and it was an awesome trip that topped off the 3 days in the mountains. I think we all felt like we were living the dream! The lake is beautiful to paddle on- you get a really nice perspective of the mountains. Sam pointed out the different valleys and ranges surrounding us and told us about the different vegetation on Pigeon Island, greenstone, other interesting local info/history which was good. We made a stop on a quiet beach on the other side of the island and chilled out for a bit (no sandflies there, yey!), some of us had a swim too. Then we cruised back on amazingly calm water. The pace was good, nice amount of freedom to paddle into the shallows if you want, good boats- all tandem I think. I felt the trip was safely and efficiently organised, good amount of time on the water, relaxed, fun, just perfect!! Thank you!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BBL404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Eco-Adventure!”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This was by far the best day of our week long vacation and very reasonably priced. It was an amazing trip and I really appreciated how litle impact on the environment this trip made. So many tours include jet boats and large groups and are obviously going to impact the animals and birds along the way and cost a fortune as well. A trip with Rippled Earth means you are supporting a local, who was born and raised in Glen Orchy and loves, protects and respects every inch of the area.

Sam, our guide, who owns and operates Rippled Earth is extremely knowledgeable and passionate about what he does. His deep love and respect for all that makes up the environment is conveyed in his stories about the history of the area, the info about the plants and animals, the legends, and his joy at sharing it with us as we kayaked across the lake and explored Pigeon Island. The paddle to the island was beautiful and we were the only ones visible on the lake. We were a group of four; two very experienced outdoor people and two inexperience. Sam gave us a very thorough safety lesson and kept an eye on us at all times to make sure we were all safe and comfortable. It was wonderful to see the rare Weka birds on our hike and learn about the plants and geography of the area. We had a lovely little picnic snack on the island, while watching birds and hearing stories. An amazing morning and I learned a lot and had a wonderful experience!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelFunVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rippled Earth Kayaking also viewed

 
Glenorchy, Otago Region
Glenorchy, Otago Region
 

Been to Rippled Earth Kayaking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing