We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect venue Great night”
Review of Blanket Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blanket Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect venue Great night”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My wife and I stayed in a Chalet Suite. We enjoyed every moment of this great experience set in an area of stunning beauty and tranquillity. . Great venue, staff, service and food and great company with some old friends. A most memorable experience. We have travelled widely over much of the World and Blanket Bay Lodge is a 'must do' experience for any discerning visitor to the Southern Lakes area of New Zealand

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggloes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a report about your stay with us. It was fun to have you at the lodge and particularly to learn by complete co-incidence we had other local guests in-house the same night who were such close friends of yours. You'll have to make the get together an annual event!
It is a delight to see more and more New Zealand guests staying 'at home', and enjoying the low season rates we offer over the winter period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    15
    6
    6
    0
See reviews for
17
152
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The Blanket Bay experience is one not to be missed. The location spectacular, the lodge phenomenal, the food flawless and the staff amazing. The experience was a great way to celebrate our wedding annivesary however we will make any excuse to go back. it was a pleasing remember that we have some fantastic hospitality right on our own door step.

Room Tip: keep your reason for travelling in mind, request a chalet if you are wanting total privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TylerNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thanks so much for endorsing us Tyler, come back soon!
Whilst it is an amazing privilege to look after our international visitors from all over the world and proudly show them the best of New Zealand, it is a real pleasure to see more and more ‘locals’ exploring and enjoying their own country. This report is testimony to the fact that New Zealand has come of age in the luxury lodge market. We are confident we can offer a quality of service which matches any to be found on the planet and you don't have to travel for hours to get here.
To all Kiwis, try out one of the New Zealand Luxury lodges near you or come on down to the deep south, we would love to see you here.
Now is the time to do it taking advantage of our off season rates and breathe in the crisp mountain champagne air.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We could not have chosen a better location and residence to celebrate our 30 wedding anniversary than Blanket Bay Lodge.

Set on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, majestic snow capped peaks either side of the lake, sweeping lawns and secluded from the road, this small hotel is exceptional.

We stayed in the Paradise suite and found the room, superb. Comfy bed, warm rustic decor, tastefully decorated as is the whole hotel. Great steam shower and large bath with amazing views of mountains.

The lounges, dining areas for dinner and breakfast are warm and close by. This leads me on to the chef, kitchen staff, maitre 'd and waitresses. Wonderful food, degustation courses that are modern, tasty and pure quality. The attention to detail and one's personal tastes are second to none.

Nothing is too much trouble for this awesome team, from arranging fly fishing guides and helicopter excursions, to picnics and walking poles for a hike through the routeburn as well as spa treatments.

Discreet, professional, knowledgeable and extremely hospitable.

We have had the pleasure of staying in luxury, whether, an African Safari, South American river cruise or New York hotels. None have deserved a 10 out of 10 like Blanket Bay does.

Room Tip: Let the professional staff know your preferences and then go with their selection. They know best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hansie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you, I have posted your wonderful review in the staff room for all to see. For these comments to come from such seasoned travelers is high praise indeed. We were lucky with your stay with us. You had super weather and you certainly took advantage of this, fishing, flight-seeing, hiking and enjoying our spa using the talented therapist we are so happy to have on the team. It was a pleasure looking after you. I know the owners of Blanket Bay will be thrilled to know you enjoyed their lodge so much. Don’t let another 30 years go by before you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at Blanket Bay for 3 nights and were blown away by both the lodge and the location. The lodge has a much more intimate feel than the big chain hotels and it almost feels like you are staying at a friends place (all be it a very wealthy friend!). There's the games room, the den (bar), the gym (if you feel you must after all the amazing food), the spa and of course the "great room" with the fire and amazing views. The staff are all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. All in all a fantastic place for a short get away from "the real world". We stayed in a standard room in the main lodge and while the room itself was great, we would recommend staying in the north end of the lodge, as this end is much quieter due to the fact it is away from the kitchen & dining areas, which we found started to generate a little noise in the early hours of the morning as they prepared for the terrific breakfasts.
Also while the mini bar snacks, soft drinks & beer were complimentary, it would have been great to have something (alcoholic) complementary included for the ladies to drink, rather than just the full size bottles of wine for purchase.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattkv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely report about your stay with us. We are so lucky in New Zealand to have a collection of lodges spread through both islands which offer visitors a unique experience away from, as you say, the typical chain hotel accommodation. All of the lodges are privately owned with wonderful locations; each one offers a different experience.
Since your stay with us we have posted some spectacular videos on the Blanket Bay website which I hope will bring back happy memories. When you do come back, please call me from your room and I will have the tipple of your wife's choice sent straight to your room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

No matter how little time you have, Blanket Bay can transport you (by helicopter) to the priceless beauty of New Zealand's Southern Alps, or slow you right down so you seem to hang motionless in the dramatic landscape of snow-capped cliffs rising almost sheer out of the blue waters of Lake Wakatipu.
The lodge itself, constructed from local schist and timbers from structures across New Zealand and Australia, does not disappoint. A smoky woody aroma envelops you from the moment you are welcomed in, and rooms enjoy super-large beds with spacious bathrooms - and views of the lakes.
Breakfast and dinner are served by charming and unobtrusive staff, and feature local seasonal dishes done to perfection. Run from its inception by Philip Jenkins, this is a magical retreat.

Room Tip: The Lodge Suites are worth investing in - better than the basic Lodge Rooms, but the Suites at each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuentinHeim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you Quentin for your comments about your stay with us. I must say I had my heart in my mouth when I first saw the title of your report!
You are right, I have been at Blanket Bay from the start. During these 15 years I have surrounded myself with hospitality professionals who are passionate about what they do. There are several who have been with me from the beginning. It is really they who deserve the high praise you give along with the owners of Blanket Bay who created this magical lodge in, as you say, this priceless part of New Zealand's Southern Alps. We hope to see you back with us before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The most spectacular and special luxury lodge on the planet! I have never stayed in such an incredible setting and location, everything was perfect from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, 7 stars for everything, location, accommodation, the staff the food if it could score 11 out of 10 it would, I don't think I will ever stop talking about it or recommending it to everyone who talks about New Zealand!

Room Tip: Go for a chalet room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
What a great review. There are so many spectacular resorts, lodges and hotels around the world it is great to hear from you Blanket Bay compares to the best you have stayed at. My team and I get tremendous satisfaction from knowing we have given our guests so much pleasure. The owners read every review and also take great pride in the creation of Blanket Bay.
Thank you for your kind words. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Best place we stayed in our 8 night trip - we stayed 2 nights in a chalet and it was absolutely magnificent - the staff were professional and friendly without pretentiousness. Ruth and Karen were exceptional. Highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narp35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Ruth and Karen were both thrilled to get a special mention. All of my team at Blanket Bay are committed to ensuring everyone who stays with us at Blanket Bay goes away with fond memories. We count ourselves lucky to work in the most spectacular surroundings and a privilege to look after guests, who often have come so far, to see this special part of New Zealand. With the frequent direct flights from Australia into Queenstown this magic alpine region is so close. I hope we see you back across the Tasman soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
16.4 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#3 of 58 in Queenstown
225 reviews
16.9 mi away
Azur
Azur
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
297 reviews
17.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Eichardt's Private Hotel
Eichardt's Private Hotel
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
261 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
17.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blanket Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanket Bay

Property: Blanket Bay
Address: Rapid 4191 Glenorchy Queenstown Road | PO Box 35, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Glenorchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blanket Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning backcountry retreat sits on the lakeshore 45 minutes outside Queenstown in the Southern Alps New Zealand. Lofty beamed ceilings, rock fireplaces and vast picture windows frame the heroic stone and timber lodge housing the Great Room, Den, Game Room, Gym, spa and several indoor/outdoor dining venues.Thirteen rooms offer every conceivable amenity. Activities include an outdoor lap pool, bush walks, fly-fishing, jet boating, horse riding and scenic heli-flights ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Blanket Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blanket Bay Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing