We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Blanket Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blanket Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Perfection is the one word that sums up Blanket Bay. This was our 2nd visit, the 1st one being 5 years ago and we certainly won't be waiting 5 years for the 3rd visit! The lodge itself is stunning in design and looks and we had a beautiful room(were even lucky to get upgraded!). The staff without exception are so helpful and friendly and nothing is a problem. Dinner is a 5 course affair with every course beautifully presented and of course tasted divine. This comes after pre dinner drinks and nibbles where you can meet other guests if you wish or retreat to one of the many private places if you don't. The gym was small but adequate (with better views than most gyms!) and being able to relax in the spa with the double doors open to admire the stunning scenery was just gorgeous. Many thanks again to all the wonderful people that made this visit so perfect. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We had Mount Aspiring room which was lovely-spacious with it's own fire and lovely large deck ou...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thecarrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review. It was super to see you back with us, although I do agree, a five year gap between visits was far too long!
What is also so nice to see is an increasing number of guests from New Zealand staying with us in the quieter season taking advantage of our low season rates. Time and again we get the feedback that a short break at the lodge is a great way to celebrate a birthday, anniversary or just to recharge the batteries without travelling overseas and in your case a short drive away.
I’m pleased you enjoyed The Mount Aspiring Suite, we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Best wishes from all of my team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Blanket Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was our second visit to Blanket Bay, the first being 5 years ago when we came to celebrate our wedding anniversary with our son and daughter.
What we love about Blanket Bay and what draws us back is the fact that even though there is absolutely no doubt that this is a luxury Lodge with all the bells and whistles you are made to feel at home. The Lodge itself is a very impressive building built with sympathy to the environment. Internally it is decorated with passion and love and without having ever meet the owners you do feel like you know them already. The Grand room with its amazing vistas, wonderfully comfortable couches and large welcoming fire is just wonderful. The last time we came we couldn`t find our daughter 22. Eventually we found her in the grand room fast asleep on one of the luxurious couches. She looked like she belonged there.
The cuisine is world standard and pre dinner drinks and canapes a great time to socialise with the other guests if desired.
We stayed in one of the suites in the main lodge with awesome views, own outdoor balcony, huge bathroom with steam room, wonderful comfy seating area, fire and of course beautiful comfy bed.
We made full use of all of the facilites. The spa pool looks out onto the massive water feature that fronts the lodge. The games rooms houses a large TV entertainment centre, pool table, darts, shuttle board, library. Very easy to spend a lazy few hours there.
We went on one of the easy walks around the Lodge and were entertained by the skydivers taking off and landing at the small airfield adjacent the Lodge.
A wonderful wonderful 2 days was had. Many thanks to Judy and Ruth. See you all next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vibez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

With so many lodges to choose from in New Zealand the greatest compliment is to see returning guests. How often is the case, when one does return to relive treasured memories, it just isn’t the same? We are all thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your second visit and to know we will see you again before too long.
The owners of Blanket Bay get enormous pleasure reading how comfortable guests find the lodge; to discover someone fast asleep curled up in the Great Room in front of the fire is exactly the atmosphere they wanted to create. I’m sure your recent visit was enhanced by enjoying the services of our therapist Yumi who we are so lucky to have back with us running the Spa. Corey and his team were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed his cuisine.
We are very fortunate at Blanket Bay to have a team in place who have been with us for many years, (indeed some from when we opened last century!) so you will always find a familiar face on your return. I have posted your comments in the staff room for all to see. Thanks and come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Our stay at Blanket Bay was definitely the highlight of the holiday I had in NZ.

We were greeted at the door by Anna who quickly whisked us away on a tour of the lodge before showing us our room (which they so kindly upgraded). Everything about this place was exceptional and words couldn't possibly explain how much we enjoyed the whole experience. Dare I say it, you haven't lived till you've been to Blanket Bay.

Thank you Judy, Ruth, Anna and the rest of the staff for your heartwarming hospitality and making it such a memorable stay. I'm sure I'll see you again soon.

Zabrina

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zabrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Merci for your kind remarks. It was lovely having you stay, thanks for choosing Blanket Bay. The girls you refer to all enjoyed meeting you, I'm sorry I missed out on that pleasure. Hopefully we will see you back with us before too long. A one night stay was far too short!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This place is amazing. We had the best time ever. From heli skiing to the most amazing food and massages ever. Had a ball and looking at going back to do a bit of heli biking. The staff are super friendly. Thanks to all the staff that made our stay awesome. Jake and Gem. Can't wait to come again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakemaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

There are times when everything just goes right. Some would say 'luck' but I would say 'fortune favours the brave’. It was so much fun having you both with us. You picked the most perfect day to enjoy heli-skiing. The helicopter arrived on the front lawn on a cold, clear and crisp morning. I can tell you the guides enjoyed the day as much as you did as the snow conditions were perfect. There are so many unique experience to be had from Blanket Bay as we can call on some of the best guides in the world to take guests into this spectacular part of the world. Let us know when the next adventure beckons; heli-biking would be another awesome choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My wife and I visited Blanket Bay in May. It was an extraordinary experience. The rooms, food, and staff were all spectacular. In particular, the staff made us feel as if we were friends and not merely guests. We especially appreciated their candid travel advice (it was our first trip to NZ) and the quick, discreet manner in which they arranged tours, food, etc.

We will return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanMac14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

It was great to read you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us so much. It was lovely having you with us. Thank you for taking the time to send in your report to Trip Advisor. One of the things you mentioned was our commitment to ensure you experienced the best of the many activities on offer in this region. It gives us all a lot of pleasure to know you had so much fun during your holiday. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We celebrated two family birthdays at Blanket Bay over the weekend. From making the booking through to departure, everything was perfect.

We arrived by helicopter with Heliworks after a trip to the Earnslaw Burn, this was an excellent way to arrive. We were welcomed by the lovely staff on the lawn and one of the couples was returning guests and this was acknowledged which made them feel special.

We stayed in the Chalet with the shared Stateroom which was perfect for our family occasion. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the main lodge is absolutely stunning and the scale of everything is awe inspiring.

You are certainly made to feel like you are in somebodies house (a grand one at that) and you can make yourself at home, we really enjoyed this approach and you could immediately relax.

We enjoyed quite possibly the best meal we have ever experienced and the Chef Corey Hume is to be commended for his beautiful menu of fresh and local produce. The breakfast the following morning was also 10/10.

The only downside was we weren’t there for long enough, definitely a 3+ night destination and we will certainly be back.

Every visitor and New Zealander who appreciates excellent service and beautiful accommodation should have Blanket Bay on their list.

Thank you to all the team at Blanket Bay for a wonderful weekend and looking after us so well!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank at04_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Gosh, what an amazing report. Thank you. I'm sorry I didn't get to meet you during your all-too-short stay with us. What I do know is, you will have been well taken care of by Judy, Karen and Ruth’s restaurant team. It is always super to have friends and family travelling together and especially pleasing to see guests returning with friends in tow. Flying in by helicopter is such a dramatic way to arrive. It was a great choice coming via The Earnslaw Burn with all the waterfalls and hanging glacier, it takes a lot of beating. One of our most experienced pilots rates this spot as his favourite landing in New Zealand. Chef Corey Hume and his brigade get enormous pleasure receiving such feedback. They are a really passionate and talented collection of chefs who take pride in their craft and enjoy creating a new evening menu every night. He has posted your report in the kitchen for all to see. Thanks again for taking the time to send in your comments to Tripadvisor. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We wanted to stay somewhere special for our 25th wedding anniversary and Blanket Bay Lodge exceeded our expectation. The property is stunningly beautiful set in a tranquil environment in an amazing landscape, sweeping lawns overlook Lake Wakatipu with snow capped mountains beyond, the surroundings are impressive. The lodge is extremely warm and the atmosphere relaxing, the decor features mainly timber and schist. All of the staff are professional, knowledgeable and are skilled in anticipating your needs. The suites are inviting and have fireplaces, comfortable lounge chairs and are tastefully decorated with amazing views. We were extremely well looked after and moving from a chalet suite to a suite in the lodge was no problem at all. The chef and his team prepare outstanding meals, the degustation courses are superb and the quality and presentation are the best. There are so many activities that can be done from the lodge or close by. We had a fantastic time and we look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenora01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Celebration of anniversaries, honeymoons, birthdays and special occasions are such fun to host. Thank you for choosing Blanket Bay to mark the wonderful occasion of your 25th Wedding Anniversary. We know Blanket Bay is in a special part of the world. Apart from the majesty of our location, as you say, there are so many great activities to enjoy from the lodge. I know you certainly explored what activities are on offer. The owners of the lodge will be thrilled to read your compliments regarding the design and interior decoration of their property. My team and I are delighted that you felt well cared for. Chef Corey Hume and his brigade are particularly pleased to hear they hit the spot with his cuisine. Thank you, please don’t wait another twenty five years before coming back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
16.4 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#3 of 58 in Queenstown
236 reviews
17.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
16.9 mi away
Azur
Azur
#16 of 58 in Queenstown
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
17.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
18.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blanket Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanket Bay

Address: Rapid 4191 Glenorchy Queenstown Road | PO Box 35, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Glenorchy
Price Range: £577 - £1,521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blanket Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning backcountry retreat sits on the lakeshore 45 minutes outside Queenstown in the Southern Alps New Zealand. Lofty beamed ceilings, rock fireplaces and vast picture windows frame the heroic stone and timber lodge housing the Great Room, Den, Game Room, Gym, spa and several indoor/outdoor dining venues.Thirteen rooms offer every conceivable amenity. Activities include an outdoor lap pool, bush walks, fly-fishing, jet boating, horse riding and scenic heli-flights ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blanket Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blanket Bay Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing