We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nirvana”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blanket Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blanket Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nirvana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Thank you all the wonderful people who looked after us at our stay at Blanket Bay! Yes the lodge, our rooms, the food (OMG bring an extra stomach it's so delicious) and the unbelievable location are stunning. But it is the amazing people who make this experience unforgettable. Ruth you are a treasure ( Pumas World Cup 2015 ?!).
Blanket Bay is magical and (we warn you) addictive. We will see you in August again and we can't wait!

Room Tip: They are all fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veryveryveryfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
It’s not often I have to take issue with a review, despite the fact we agree Ruth is a real treasure, whatever she might dream, The Pumas will not overcome the mighty All Blacks in 2015!
It was great fun having you with us, I have passed on your review to all the team. Chef Corey will be particularly pleased to see your comment about his cuisine.
We look forward to seeing you back in August, bring the winter woollies, we’ll have the fires roaring and the red wine breathing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    15
    6
    6
    0
See reviews for
17
148
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed for four nights in March and held our wedding ceremony at Earnslaw Peak. The team where unbelievable and nothing was too much trouble. I would put this venue as one of the best we have encountered in our travels around the world. Thank you to each and every staff member, management and especially Tom for welcoming us into his home. We will be back.

Room Tip: The whole experience makes the stay not just the room. The main building is amazing as are the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GENERAL_MANAGER_DB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
It is really special for us to look after small intimate marriages at the lodge. Yours was particularly fun as you chose to fly to The Earnslaw Burn for the ceremony; this has to be one of the most beautiful places in New Zealand, further more you arranged the most magical weather day for the big event. I have passed your review onto Tom who, like us, gets us enormous pleasure meeting guests and seeing them enjoying the lodge that he and his wife have lovingly created. We look forward to seeing you back every year to celebrate your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in mid Dec 2013. This was our 3rd lodge in NZ after Huka ( mind blowing ) and Matakauri ( also very good ). Glenorchy is heaven on earth and a must visit. The look and feel of the lodge is more American Ranch meets Ralph Lauren ( dark ) than the contemporary cleaner NZ style at other lodges - though overall its very nice and classy ! The Chalets with State rooms we stayed in were also excellent. The food was sensational to taste - but the portion sizes were laughably miniscule. You could eat a 5 course meal here and still be very hungry !!

My dissapointment with this lodge was the lack of management !! There was no one who came up to us and introduced himself as the lodge manager and we didn't meet him / her for our entire stay. Contrast this with HUKA and Matakauri where the lodge managers were always around and made us feel like family. Further - there wasn't any clear second in command and at times the only staff we'd find in the lodge would be tucked away in the kitchen - it felt like it was their low season and since there were only a couple of guest the manager and the staff had taken off !! Well - after paying so much one does not expect this.

All told we will be going back as Glenorchy as well as the lodge are just too spectacular ! Maybe our bad luck with the management !

Room Tip: Chalets with State Room are awesome !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARJUNP921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Blanket Bay. First off let me say how disappointed I am you felt I and the management team let you down during your stay with us. I also apologise not personally being here when you stayed as I was indeed overseas at the time on annual leave.
I have investigated your concerns. December is an unusual month; typically it is busy at the start of the month, quiet in the middle as visitors return home for Christmas and very busy from about the 20th onwards when the resort fills up for the holiday season. 2013 was no exception. We would love to be full all the time but it was nice to know you stayed with us during a peaceful period.
During the two full days you were with us, I see from our daily diary notes our duty hosts did book for you the jet boat ride up the beautiful Dart River and a picnic at Lake Sylvan, horse riding on Wyuna Station and the helicopter ride into the beautiful Earnslaw Burn below the hanging glacier, (this is truly one of the prettiest places in New Zealand). This was a great choice on your part to do this surprise flight as part of the birthday celebration which was followed by reserving lunch for you at the ever popular Amisfield Winery.
I have also noted your comments regarding portion sizes and have passed your comments onto our chef. When you return we shall certainly be pleased prepare more fulsome dishes for you.
I can’t promise I will be here when you stay with us next but I can assure you my team and I are committed to ensuring we deliver a comprehensive friendly service to all our guests. If we dropped the ball during your stay in December I do hope you give us a chance to redeem ourselves soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is a perfect hotel. Location must be one of the best in the world. Rooms exceptionally comfortable with views all round. Food and service are faultless. I so ehow forgot the memory card in my camera and Martin wiped one of his own and gave it to me . Someone then went to queens town to buy a replacement. Nothing too much trouble. Excellent recommendations on what to do in the area. Truly wonderful place would love to come again someday

Room Tip: All are beautiful we had a lodge cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthcarnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
We all agree how lucky we are to live and work in this extraordinary environment. This in itself draws a special breed of hospitality staff of which Martin is one. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Don’t leave it too long before you return. Thank you for choosing Blanket Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Have just spent 2 nights at Blanket Bay and wish we had been able to stay for longer.
Alright the weather was perfect during our stay so we could really appreciate the amazing scenery but I think it would be spectacular at any time.
We stayed in the Mt Aspiring suite (I did not realise until later that we had been upgraded) which was spacious, comfortable with a "steam shower" and bath as well as walk-in closet, wifi, minibar and Sky TV (so we were able to watch an England rugby match at 6am).
Dinner each night was a 5 course menu. Each dish was very good and portion size well planned. Breakfast was more limited, the buffet could afford more choice and popular choices could be replenished more quickly.
Ruth was on hand to offer advice about local walks and at short notice she organised a helicopter sightseeing flight for us. This was absolutely amazing, one of my top holiday experiences of all time. Not only was the scenery stunning but we were also able to land on a glacier. Yes this was expensive but well worth every dollar!!
The gym (sadly 2 weeks of great food meant that a workout was long overdue) is small but well- equipped with again stunning views which helped to reduce the pain. If only there had been time for a massage too...
I would return to Blanket Bay in a flash if only it wasn't quite so far from home.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyleopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Ruth was delighted to read your review about Blanket Bay and was so pleased the weather behaved allowing you to take the helicopter to the glaciers and Milford Sound, it is a stunning trip. We were pleased to be able to upgrade you to one of our lodge suites. A good spot to enjoy the rugby, I hope the right side won! As you say two days is a little short to fit in all the delights we have to offer. Never mind our therapist is ready and waiting to give you a deep massage after your long return flight to New Zealand. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
540 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We were able to spend 3 nights here - and somehow we lucked into an upgrade to one of the 2 GIANT cottages up the hill. If you are seeking luxury lodges - this is on your list.

It is a spectacular property in a GREAT setting. Wonderful staff. Fine dining.

This was our second favorite of the higher end lodging we experienced in NZ. Although the staff is there to assist you, it is a much more reserved and formal atmosphere (than we experienced at Grassmere). This is a mere quibble - this is a world class lodge.

Breath deep, open your wallet, and ENJOY!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeHouston52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to review Blanket Bay. We are delighted to read you enjoyed the lodge. As you say there are many great lodges in New Zealand which all have their own unique character. Grasmere Lodge is always one of my favourites too.
We hope this will be the first of many visits to New Zealand. Thank you for choosing Blanket Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We ended our trip to new Zealand with a 2 night stay at this hotel. What a way to end a marvelous trip. Judy from guest services was EXTRAORDINARY, I would go back just to spend time with her! Ana and the rest of the staff was INCREDIBLE.The food DELICIOUS. the views from our room like walking into a gorgeous postcard. Swimming in the pool and using the jacuzzi surrounded by the stunning scenery was heaven. Expensive but you only live once and this is a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cailebotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words; Judy and Ana will be particularly thrilled to get a mention on Trip Advisor and I will certainly let the kitchen brigade know how much you enjoyed the food. I am delighted you ended your visit to New Zealand with such a positive Blanket Bay experience. Come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
16.4 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#4 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
19.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
16.9 mi away
Azur
Azur
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
18.3 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#1 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blanket Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanket Bay

Property: Blanket Bay
Address: Rapid 4191 Glenorchy Queenstown Road | PO Box 35, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Glenorchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blanket Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning backcountry retreat sits on the lakeshore 45 minutes outside Queenstown in the Southern Alps New Zealand. Lofty beamed ceilings, rock fireplaces and vast picture windows frame the heroic stone and timber lodge housing the Great Room, Den, Game Room, Gym, spa and several indoor/outdoor dining venues.Thirteen rooms offer every conceivable amenity. Activities include an outdoor lap pool, bush walks, fly-fishing, jet boating, horse riding and scenic heli-flights ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Blanket Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blanket Bay Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing