We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenorchy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Glenorchy Hotel
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I have just spent a night at this hotel and would like to congratulate the staff there.They are very friendly and welcoming. The room was basic but that was all we were after. We enjoyed a beautiful evening meal, compliments to the chef, and a filling breakfast the next morning. I would highly recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kararina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Hi Thankyou for your comments. Great to see that you enjoyed our food and hospitality. We will pass your comments onto the staff.
Thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in October. The room. Alfred. Was basic but what do you want. You don't travel to NZ to stay in hotel rooms all day. The hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming. The food was also very good. Definitely recommend to anyone travelling to NZ. Such a Beautiful location.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank idp1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thankyou for staying at our hotel. Please to see that you enjoyed our food and that our staff made you feel welcolme. Glenorchy is indeed an outdoor paradise with spectacular views.Our rooms have recently all been renovated.Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed at this fine establishment earlier this year with a mate from the U.K. We arrived late on a Saturday night to a bar full of people all dancing merrily away to an awesome cover band that was playing. The music was great and the crowd really fun, with everyone dancing and having a good time. We ended up staying longer than we had anticipated just because of the friendly locals in the pub every night, and the excellent access to the hiking tracks and fishing. They had just hired a new chef, Barry, who cooks a mean poached egg, which certainly helped to start us off in the right direction every morning before we went off on another excursion. We found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating, and were hardly ever want for anything we needed. It was also rather nice that it was late in the season and relatively quiet around the area. They were also screening Top of the Lake every week when the new episodes came out, and it was a neat experience to get to watch the show from where parts of it were filmed! I was also introduced to Tim the owner while I was there, and he was a great bloke who sought to make sure that we were comfortable in all regards. I know where I'll be staying next time I'm around the area, and that's for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horm919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Hi, Thankyou for your positive comments. It was nice to see that your stay in Glenorchy was'' Top of the Lake'' Our staff will be pleased that you enjoyed your stay .thankyou for choosing the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Visiting Glenorchy on what wanted to be a day trip, myself and a friend ended up staying in this place for one night, and certainly did not regret the choice.
The place is very welcoming, and all members of staff have been available and very friendly. For the price of a backpacker room we had access to a fully furnished, independent cottage on our own, including kitchen and a fireplace.
It would certainly be a good idea to try the food at the restaurant - even just simple scrambled eggs in the morning will make a difference for a very good day!
In short: homely venue, nice people, gourmet and good value for your money. Can't certainly ask for more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cjdron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Hi, We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our hospitality and that you loved the fire and of course the food. Next time you return ask us to organise a special activity for you as there are so many here besides eating. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Myself and a group of friends very recently stayed at the Glenorchy Hotel as a quick get away from the hustle and bustle of Queenstown during a recent ski trip. We ended up having a great weekend!

The staff were superb, as was the food (highly recommend the lamb shanks) and we discovered after talking to the owners while in the bar that the rooms had recently been renovated and were very comfortable and modern.

We had a great night in the bar as the locals were very friendly and the manager was very knowledgeable about the area. Would highly recommend and looking forward to hopefully coming back in the summer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomGard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thankyou for your comments. Our staff noticed that you all enjoyed the food . We also heard that you were not frightened of the wine either. Good to see you enjoyed yourselves. See you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Whilst visiting Glenorchy, we had couple of drinks in the Hotel bar, followed by a quieter dinner in the separate dining area (a nice touch). There were great, varied choices on the menu and an extensive local wine list, which was great, being in a recognised wine area of NZ. The pork belly was beautifully cooked and the vegetables perfect. The fire in the restaurant added to the cosy ambiance and the service polite and not intrusive to our meal. Others in the restaurant voiced appreciation similar to ours as well-thank you Glenorchy Hotel!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Hi, Thankyou for your comments. Yes we have two new top chefs now producing great Gastro Pub food. Unfortunately it took a while for a previous chef to move on. We are pleased you also enjoyed the scenery in Glenorchy and all it has to offer. The hotel is only one part of the ''bigger picture'' as it were. Thankyou and we hope that you will take the time to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The rooms are shabby. Seem like they were furnished in the 1960s and untouched since. They are clean, however, and as a frequent tramper of the tracks around Glenorchy, I know there are no better options for a night before the tramp when you want to save the hour or so it will take to get to here from Queenstown.

The bar in the evening (probably any evening) is a true rural New Zealand experience replete with dogs. REally fun and welcoming. The staff in the whole hotel are nice. I'll stay again when I want an early start or to be picked up by the 9.00 am shuttle.

Here's a tip: The breakfast bagel with egg and bacon for $7.50 across the street at Roxy's is a great deal and just right before the tramp!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Hi thanks for your comments. The Ensuite room rate includes breakfast so at 105.00 per night including breakfast for two we think is reasonable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
17.6 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#5 of 58 in Queenstown
245 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 7 in Glenorchy
287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bold Peak Lodge
Bold Peak Lodge
#4 of 5 in Glenorchy
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glenorchy Lake House
Glenorchy Lake House
#3 of 5 in Glenorchy
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenorchy Motels
Glenorchy Motels
#5 of 5 in Glenorchy
57 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blanket Bay
Blanket Bay
#1 of 7 in Glenorchy
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenorchy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenorchy Hotel

Address: Mull Street, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Glenorchy
Price Range: £15 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Hotel located 47kms or 35 minutes from Queenstown at the Head of the Lake in the centre of town. Recently renovated. We have ensuite rooms with TVs and free wifi,BackPackers accommodation and parking for self contained campervans. We have a separate restaurant, with a full Gastro Pub restaurant menu, both breakfast, lunch and dinner, Bar with HAPPY HOUR FRIDAY AND SATURDAY NIGHT, and bar menu and a large terraced outside beer garden. FREE OFFSTREET CARPARKING, luggage storage and boat parking.Our Glenorchy Information Centre and Glenorchy General store provides maps, track transport bookings arrival and departure centre,bike and fishing rod hire. Free information for trout fisherman,and trampers from experienced staff.Special rates during winter.Recently renovated ensuite rooms.Self contained campervans park for FREE. Backpackers has recently been renovated. Twin rooms and bunk room cabins. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing