We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A New Year's eve to remember!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glenorchy Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenorchy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Glenorchy Hotel
Feuilla, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A New Year's eve to remember!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

The bedrooms are simple but clean andcomfortable. We had a twin room with shared bathroom facilities and these are in serious need of an update. I think nearly every tap in the establishment dripped! But the staff are very friendly and eager to please and the restaurant serves remarkably good meals. Glenorchy is a quirky place and we were very glad to be able to escape Queenstown for New Year's Eve, dancing the evening away in the restaurant where a cover band played a range of golden oldies. All in all, great fun and I would recommend this small country hotel to anyone more interested in character than upmarket amenities!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi Thankyou for staying at the Hotel. We have renovated all of the rooms in the hotel except for the shared bathroom which is hardly used.
Great to see that you enjoyed the band. We will pass on to the Chefs that you enjoyed the meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    19
    13
    11
    5
See reviews for
8
26
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Went for one night stayed for two. A typical NZ country hotel but full of character and history. Rooms typical hotel style but very clean and comfortable, particularly the bed. Meals an absolute delight with venison and lamb our choices and washed down with local wines. The hosts and staff were most helpful concerning what to see in the area and one of the main reasons we stayed the extra day. An extremely well run little establishment and we will be back. Just to sit in the beer garden at the end of the day looking at those NZ mountains makes time stand still.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dajnoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hi Thankyou for choosing to stay at our hotel and dine in our restaurant. I will pass your comments onto our front of house staff and chefs. Look forward to seeing you again. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is shabby, the rooms are cramped and like something from the 70's but clean. We paid extra for a teeny tiny cold ensuite.....it had a bar heater on the wall which only worked if you kept your finger on the timer. The heater in the room didnt work, either, but there was a kettle (jug). Breakfast was good and the staff friendly.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HampshireBaggin... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
The rooms were renovated when these people stayed. New carpets, drapes, bedding etc.
The heater in the bathroom is on a timer like most places. The bedroom heater along with all of the light fittings are also new.
The hotel bar, restaurant have also been renovated and toilets are new. So maybe this is not our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glenorchy hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I have just spent a night at this hotel and would like to congratulate the staff there.They are very friendly and welcoming. The room was basic but that was all we were after. We enjoyed a beautiful evening meal, compliments to the chef, and a filling breakfast the next morning. I would highly recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kararina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Hi Thankyou for your comments. Great to see that you enjoyed our food and hospitality. We will pass your comments onto the staff.
Thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in October. The room. Alfred. Was basic but what do you want. You don't travel to NZ to stay in hotel rooms all day. The hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming. The food was also very good. Definitely recommend to anyone travelling to NZ. Such a Beautiful location.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank idp1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thankyou for staying at our hotel. Please to see that you enjoyed our food and that our staff made you feel welcolme. Glenorchy is indeed an outdoor paradise with spectacular views.Our rooms have recently all been renovated.Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenatchee, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed at this fine establishment earlier this year with a mate from the U.K. We arrived late on a Saturday night to a bar full of people all dancing merrily away to an awesome cover band that was playing. The music was great and the crowd really fun, with everyone dancing and having a good time. We ended up staying longer than we had anticipated just because of the friendly locals in the pub every night, and the excellent access to the hiking tracks and fishing. They had just hired a new chef, Barry, who cooks a mean poached egg, which certainly helped to start us off in the right direction every morning before we went off on another excursion. We found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating, and were hardly ever want for anything we needed. It was also rather nice that it was late in the season and relatively quiet around the area. They were also screening Top of the Lake every week when the new episodes came out, and it was a neat experience to get to watch the show from where parts of it were filmed! I was also introduced to Tim the owner while I was there, and he was a great bloke who sought to make sure that we were comfortable in all regards. I know where I'll be staying next time I'm around the area, and that's for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Horm919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hi, Thankyou for your positive comments. It was nice to see that your stay in Glenorchy was'' Top of the Lake'' Our staff will be pleased that you enjoyed your stay .thankyou for choosing the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Visiting Glenorchy on what wanted to be a day trip, myself and a friend ended up staying in this place for one night, and certainly did not regret the choice.
The place is very welcoming, and all members of staff have been available and very friendly. For the price of a backpacker room we had access to a fully furnished, independent cottage on our own, including kitchen and a fireplace.
It would certainly be a good idea to try the food at the restaurant - even just simple scrambled eggs in the morning will make a difference for a very good day!
In short: homely venue, nice people, gourmet and good value for your money. Can't certainly ask for more.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjdron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Hi, We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our hospitality and that you loved the fire and of course the food. Next time you return ask us to organise a special activity for you as there are so many here besides eating. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
17.5 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#4 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
18.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
20.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 5 in Glenorchy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
3.6 mi away
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
#1 of 5 in Glenorchy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blanket Bay
Blanket Bay
#1 of 5 in Glenorchy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenorchy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenorchy Hotel

Property: The Glenorchy Hotel
Address: Mull Street, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Glenorchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Hotel located 47kms or 35 minutes from Queenstown at the Head of the Lake in the centre of town. Recently renovated. We have ensuite rooms with TVs and free wifi,BackPackers accommodation and parking for self contained campervans. We have a separate restaurant, with a full Gastro Pub restaurant menu, both breakfast, lunch and dinner, Bar with HAPPY HOUR FRIDAY AND SATURDAY NIGHT, and bar menu and a large terraced outside beer garden. FREE OFFSTREET CARPARKING, luggage storage and boat parking.Our Glenorchy Information Centre and Glenorchy General store provides maps, track transport bookings arrival and departure centre,bike and fishing rod hire. Free information for trout fisherman,and trampers from experienced staff.Special rates during winter.Recently renovated ensuite rooms.Self contained campervans park for FREE. Backpackers has recently been renovated. Twin rooms and bunk room cabins. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing