We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpackers rooms in bad shape”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenorchy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Glenorchy Hotel
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The rooms, bathrooms, and common space were dirty. It was also very difficult to figure out which room was ours, as there was no marking and no staff available to help show us our room. Luckily we didn't spend much time there since there is much better stuff to do in the region, but considering the hotel and restaurant appear to be decently functioning, they should put some deep cleaning into their backpackers accommodation, at least to keep up with what is available in other similarly priced options throughout the country.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winonana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Hi thanks for your comments. Backpackers has been full for weeks with large volumes of guests coming and going. Our guests are mainly trampers and fisherman who leave gear everywhere to dry etc. Cleaning has been a continuous process this Summer and at times it will always need to be cleaned several times per day.
The doors to each room have numbers on them which match the keys. We obviously cant show every backpacker that pays 27.00 to 30.00 per night to their room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here for a wedding trip for James and Qwan Wynn-Williams in early 2014... Great food, great rooms and great value!! The hotel rooms are amazing and the hostel rooms are just as good too! Rooms come with free breakfast and the dinner options are tasty and interesting too! Big ups to the owners!
IOC

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eonohc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hi Pleased to see that you had a great night and really enjoyed yourselves. The staff enjoyed you too!
Thank you for choosing to stay and dine with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The bedrooms are simple but clean andcomfortable. We had a twin room with shared bathroom facilities and these are in serious need of an update. I think nearly every tap in the establishment dripped! But the staff are very friendly and eager to please and the restaurant serves remarkably good meals. Glenorchy is a quirky place and we were very glad to be able to escape Queenstown for New Year's Eve, dancing the evening away in the restaurant where a cover band played a range of golden oldies. All in all, great fun and I would recommend this small country hotel to anyone more interested in character than upmarket amenities!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Hi Thankyou for staying at the Hotel. We have renovated all of the rooms in the hotel except for the shared bathroom which is hardly used.
Great to see that you enjoyed the band. We will pass on to the Chefs that you enjoyed the meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Went for one night stayed for two. A typical NZ country hotel but full of character and history. Rooms typical hotel style but very clean and comfortable, particularly the bed. Meals an absolute delight with venison and lamb our choices and washed down with local wines. The hosts and staff were most helpful concerning what to see in the area and one of the main reasons we stayed the extra day. An extremely well run little establishment and we will be back. Just to sit in the beer garden at the end of the day looking at those NZ mountains makes time stand still.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dajnoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Hi Thankyou for choosing to stay at our hotel and dine in our restaurant. I will pass your comments onto our front of house staff and chefs. Look forward to seeing you again. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel is shabby, the rooms are cramped and like something from the 70's but clean. We paid extra for a teeny tiny cold ensuite.....it had a bar heater on the wall which only worked if you kept your finger on the timer. The heater in the room didnt work, either, but there was a kettle (jug). Breakfast was good and the staff friendly.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank HampshireBaggin... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

The rooms were renovated when these people stayed. New carpets, drapes, bedding etc.
The heater in the bathroom is on a timer like most places. The bedroom heater along with all of the light fittings are also new.
The hotel bar, restaurant have also been renovated and toilets are new. So maybe this is not our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I have just spent a night at this hotel and would like to congratulate the staff there.They are very friendly and welcoming. The room was basic but that was all we were after. We enjoyed a beautiful evening meal, compliments to the chef, and a filling breakfast the next morning. I would highly recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kararina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Hi Thankyou for your comments. Great to see that you enjoyed our food and hospitality. We will pass your comments onto the staff.
Thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in October. The room. Alfred. Was basic but what do you want. You don't travel to NZ to stay in hotel rooms all day. The hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming. The food was also very good. Definitely recommend to anyone travelling to NZ. Such a Beautiful location.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank idp1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thankyou for staying at our hotel. Please to see that you enjoyed our food and that our staff made you feel welcolme. Glenorchy is indeed an outdoor paradise with spectacular views.Our rooms have recently all been renovated.Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
17.6 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#4 of 58 in Queenstown
245 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 7 in Glenorchy
287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bold Peak Lodge
Bold Peak Lodge
#4 of 5 in Glenorchy
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glenorchy Motels
Glenorchy Motels
#5 of 5 in Glenorchy
57 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blanket Bay
Blanket Bay
#1 of 7 in Glenorchy
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenorchy Lake House
Glenorchy Lake House
#3 of 5 in Glenorchy
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenorchy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenorchy Hotel

Address: Mull Street, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Glenorchy
Price Range: £15 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Hotel located 47kms or 35 minutes from Queenstown at the Head of the Lake in the centre of town. Recently renovated. We have ensuite rooms with TVs and free wifi,BackPackers accommodation and parking for self contained campervans. We have a separate restaurant, with a full Gastro Pub restaurant menu, both breakfast, lunch and dinner, Bar with HAPPY HOUR FRIDAY AND SATURDAY NIGHT, and bar menu and a large terraced outside beer garden. FREE OFFSTREET CARPARKING, luggage storage and boat parking.Our Glenorchy Information Centre and Glenorchy General store provides maps, track transport bookings arrival and departure centre,bike and fishing rod hire. Free information for trout fisherman,and trampers from experienced staff.Special rates during winter.Recently renovated ensuite rooms.Self contained campervans park for FREE. Backpackers has recently been renovated. Twin rooms and bunk room cabins. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing