We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenorchy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Glenorchy Hotel
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very happy”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The location is great and we found the staff very helpful and accommodating. They stored our bag for a couple of days while we were on the track, and let us have a slightly later checkout. The rooms were fairly basic, but were clean and had everything we needed. After several nights on the track, a night at Glenorchy was a good idea. The owner was very friendly and keen to have happy customers. He asked us at breakfast how we had enjoyed our meals the night before. When we told him of a problem he promptly refunded us the cost of the meal, which we did not ask for or expect, and then shouted us coffees as well. We would definitely stay there again. Overall great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0byn1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hi I remember talking to you both. Thankyou for your comments and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and yes we like happy customers! See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    20
    13
    11
    5
See reviews for
8
26
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
322 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

It was probably the only backpacker accommodation in Glenorchy township. Its location was good as close to walkway, the wharf. However, its services had poor quality. We booked for two beds in a dorm room but staff told that we had a twin room while checking and tried to charge us more than we expected.
The backpacker cottage was quite small for 4 rooms (with 18 people). Room was too small. The bathroom was dirty. The kitchen was lack of essential utensils, knives. It was dirty also, just like it was not cleaned for thousand years. The fridge was terrible with lots of leftover food inside.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiet Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
What a load of crap but I guess you are from Auckland! BackPackers sleeps 10 and not 18 as you state. There is more than enough cutlery and plates except for teaspoons as backpackers keep stealing them.
The fridge always has food in it as backpackers come and go and return from their tramp to reuse their food.
The showers were clean for the time of day remembering that they are continually in use as is the kitchen.
But I guess you forgot that DOC charge 52.00 for a bunk bed on the walking tracks that is in a room for 30 or more with no showers TV etc. You payed us 30.00 each and from this comes a credit card fee. This includes sheets and bedding, heating, tv and like most trampers 15 minutes or more in the shower twice a day not to mention the electricity used as you prepare your 5 star cuisine and then leave the dishes on the bench afterwards!
So before you go criticising facilities present the correct facts first. I guess we could post CCTV footage as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glenorchy hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Have stayed here for the beginning and end of two tramping trips that start and finish nearby (Routeburn-Greenstone and Rees-Dart). Rooms are small, but have everything you need and are good value for money - and there's something about staying in a room called Paradise after 4 nights in huts or under canvas! Staff are unfailingly friendly and helpful and the huge bonus is the food - a fantastic feed of venison after a few days in the great outdoors is heaven on earth. Make sure to book for dinner as it can get very busy at peak holiday periods.

The only caveat for staying here is beware of public holidays - there is a surcharge at the restaurant, but it is only advertised in the menu rather than signs outside and is easy to miss, so be prepared for a larger bill.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hi Thankyou for choosing to stay at our hotel and dine with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our food and will pass this onto our chefs. Great to see that the venison was good as this meal can be a ball breaker! Our staff will also be pleased that you liked their friendly approach.
Unfortunately we do have to have a surcharge on public holidays as we pay the staff time and a half plus a day in lieu which equates to over 40.00 per hour which was introduced by the labour government.
We do have the surcharge printed on the menus and inform customers when they order.
Thankyou once again and we look forward to seeing you again.
Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The rooms, bathrooms, and common space were dirty. It was also very difficult to figure out which room was ours, as there was no marking and no staff available to help show us our room. Luckily we didn't spend much time there since there is much better stuff to do in the region, but considering the hotel and restaurant appear to be decently functioning, they should put some deep cleaning into their backpackers accommodation, at least to keep up with what is available in other similarly priced options throughout the country.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winonana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hi thanks for your comments. Backpackers has been full for weeks with large volumes of guests coming and going. Our guests are mainly trampers and fisherman who leave gear everywhere to dry etc. Cleaning has been a continuous process this Summer and at times it will always need to be cleaned several times per day.
The doors to each room have numbers on them which match the keys. We obviously cant show every backpacker that pays 27.00 to 30.00 per night to their room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here for a wedding trip for James and Qwan Wynn-Williams in early 2014... Great food, great rooms and great value!! The hotel rooms are amazing and the hostel rooms are just as good too! Rooms come with free breakfast and the dinner options are tasty and interesting too! Big ups to the owners!
IOC

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eonohc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi Pleased to see that you had a great night and really enjoyed yourselves. The staff enjoyed you too!
Thank you for choosing to stay and dine with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feuilla, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The bedrooms are simple but clean andcomfortable. We had a twin room with shared bathroom facilities and these are in serious need of an update. I think nearly every tap in the establishment dripped! But the staff are very friendly and eager to please and the restaurant serves remarkably good meals. Glenorchy is a quirky place and we were very glad to be able to escape Queenstown for New Year's Eve, dancing the evening away in the restaurant where a cover band played a range of golden oldies. All in all, great fun and I would recommend this small country hotel to anyone more interested in character than upmarket amenities!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi Thankyou for staying at the Hotel. We have renovated all of the rooms in the hotel except for the shared bathroom which is hardly used.
Great to see that you enjoyed the band. We will pass on to the Chefs that you enjoyed the meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Went for one night stayed for two. A typical NZ country hotel but full of character and history. Rooms typical hotel style but very clean and comfortable, particularly the bed. Meals an absolute delight with venison and lamb our choices and washed down with local wines. The hosts and staff were most helpful concerning what to see in the area and one of the main reasons we stayed the extra day. An extremely well run little establishment and we will be back. Just to sit in the beer garden at the end of the day looking at those NZ mountains makes time stand still.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dajnoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hi Thankyou for choosing to stay at our hotel and dine in our restaurant. I will pass your comments onto our front of house staff and chefs. Look forward to seeing you again. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
19.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
17.5 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#1 of 58 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
20.8 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#3 of 58 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
18.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 5 in Glenorchy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenorchy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenorchy Hotel

Property: The Glenorchy Hotel
Address: Mull Street, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Glenorchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Hotel located 47kms or 35 minutes from Queenstown at the Head of the Lake in the centre of town. Recently renovated. We have ensuite rooms with TVs and free wifi,BackPackers accommodation and parking for self contained campervans. We have a separate restaurant, with a full Gastro Pub restaurant menu, both breakfast, lunch and dinner, Bar with HAPPY HOUR FRIDAY AND SATURDAY NIGHT, and bar menu and a large terraced outside beer garden. FREE OFFSTREET CARPARKING, luggage storage and boat parking.Our Glenorchy Information Centre and Glenorchy General store provides maps, track transport bookings arrival and departure centre,bike and fishing rod hire. Free information for trout fisherman,and trampers from experienced staff.Special rates during winter.Recently renovated ensuite rooms.Self contained campervans park for FREE. Backpackers has recently been renovated. Twin rooms and bunk room cabins. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing