We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic and wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinloch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kinloch Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rustic and wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I can not say enough good things about this accommodation and location, it is well worth the effort. The proprietors made us feel very welcome and had a charm that matched the location. Thank you to all the staff we certainly hope to be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cebaronee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    70
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
39
127
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My friend mentioned to me about Kinloch, as I was bored in the house. So I decided to have a nice scenic drive to the place. It was a beautiful tranquil area, where if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle, go to Kinloch. There was a restaurant which was part of Kinloch Lodge and so I thought I might as well treat myself to some lunch. Walking into the warm atmosphere, I was greeted by a Waitress, who made me very welcome. I ordered a ''house cured salmon served with home made rye bread, aioli, beetroot salsa and salad leaves. It was delicious and it complemented with a dry wine that the waitress suggested. I would very much come there again and maybe even stay there for a few nights. It was a pleasure being there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ags315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Kinloch Lodge is an ideal starting point for the Routeburn Track. I did not walk the track and only visited Kinlock as a tourist, but for other reasons I was very interested in the Track and the people at the Lodge were obviously very knowledgeable of, and committed towards, the Routeburn and Greenstone tracks. I looked at the accomodation offered and the range offered was most appropriate for those in transit to the walks and for those wishing a longer stay in beautifull surroundings. Coffee and cake was also most enjoyable in the Lodge with many interesting historical artifacts. The ratings are N/A for me as i did not stay overnight but the people were great and the ambiance was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Perfect 2 night getaway for our family of 4. We only live about 1 hour away but it was a fantastic place to get away for a change of scene. The kids loved the shared facilities & meeting other people. Loved the setting & hot tub. Enjoyed exploring up at the Greenstone area & Routeburn. Loved chilling out in the bar or reading a booking in the kitchen/dining area when the kids were in bed.

Room Tip: You could consider getting 2 rooms (depending on budget) if you are wanting separation from your kid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arrowfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We live in NYC and when we travel we try to get far away from city life as possible. This lovely lodge fit the bill. It is located right on Wakatipu, down a long, unpaved road with gorgeous views. It is an older lodge and we were a bit worried about sharing bathrooms at the price since we decided not to camp but it was fine. The rooms are very small but they are cosy and it feels authentic. We enjoyed dinner and two great breakfasts. We did unfortunately miss dinner one night as we got back from a day hike on the Routeburn trail later than expected and there was no option of food. However, we knew beforehand that you had to schedule meals, so we had a glass of wine in the bar and ate some trail food. We found the staff to be very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EH10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Hawea, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Cant speak for the accommodation but stopped there for a cup of tea and cake and was very impressed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Camping fees are so cheap, only $6 a night! You can also rent kayaks, definitively going to stay there on my next trip to Glenorchy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flora2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here for a night before hiking the Routeburn Track. The lodge is located on the head of scenic Wakatipu and is only 30 mins from the trailhead. The hosts and the staff were very helpful. The food was delicious too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
18.9 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#29 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
19.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
18.9 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#4 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
22.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
19.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinloch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinloch Lodge

Property: Kinloch Lodge
Address: 862 Kinloch Rd, Glenorchy, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Glenorchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinloch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a spectacular setting on the lakefront opposite Glenorchy township between the Routeburn and Greenstone tracks, a stay at Kinloch Lodge is a highlight of any holiday. One of just three places in the Southern Lakes to become an authors pick in the Lonely Planet guidebook. Kinloch is a haven for walkers, fishermen and people who want to feel close to their natural environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Kinloch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinloch Hotel Glenorchy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing