We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every function should be held here!”
Review of Brook Meadow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brook Meadow Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We had our wedding reception here and it was amazing. From the moment we booked (a year earlier) Brian was always there to answer questions or offer advice, and we feel that he really makes this hotel a special place to hold any function as he is so attentive....everybody should have a Brian!
The grounds are absolutely stunning and the overall vintage style of the hotel remains throughout, even when you are in the newer part of the building. The peaceful and relaxed atmosphere is wonderful, especially in the lounge area. In fact, we missed the place so much we went back and stayed 2 days later(for some tranquility).
Both the bridal suite and later the family room we stayed in had jacuzzi baths. The rooms were perfect for us and all our guests too. Many commented on the food - Seriously the nicest beef and yorkshires (apart from my Mum's, obviously) I have ever tasted. The fact that they were able to make and serve piping hot 120 meals at once is a testament to how well this place is run. Tom the manager is also very warm and friendly and is probably one of the least coroprate managers we have met!
We will definitely be returning to the Brook Meadow very soon, and would recommend it to anyone whether it be for a meal, just drinks, small function or a large wedding. This review may seem gushing but we really can't praise it enough.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siobhan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Brook Meadow Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

We got a great deal for a weekend break and were satisfied that we got what we paid for! Room was clean but in need of some renovations, eg tap on bath was loose. We had a jacuzzi bath which was very relaxing after walking around Liverpool and Chester all day :-) There is a train station within walking distance, although I would not recommend this walk with children as there is no path at all, we only saw 2 cars on the road during our walk. Train only takes about 10 mins to get to Chester and about 20 mins to Liverpool :-) You can park at station for 80p all day. We got an all-day train ticket which was only £4.50 per adult.
Hotel is really out in the countryside and has a restaurant, bar and lounge where you can choose from a set menu or bar snacks. Our first nights meal was included and was delicious, 2nd night we opted for bar snack and again this was lovely and filling. Restaurant price was about £25 per adult, I think, snacks, burgers etc from about £9. Staff were lovely and friendly and I would go again!! The only real downside was we had twin beds and although mine was ok my fiancés was not very comfortable. Toiletries were also in our room, soap, shower gel and conditioning shampoo. Hair dryer also in drawer, saves space on packing!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debtat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Brook Meadow is a beautiful venue for any function.
We had a large amount of family and friends attend the wedding, some staying over for two nights.
The food was fantastic and served hot, considering their were a hundred sitting down.
Rooms were clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: All rooms are spot on. Family rooms are really big.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lestom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stayed at Brook Meadow to celebrate a birthday and had an enjoyable stay.really good 3*hotel serving 4* food.The staff could have not been better.Evening meal and breakfast 1st class.Advertised as near Chester but a little firther away than i anticipated.We drove to Hooton station only half a mile away and got the train to Chester it only cost £3 20p retun each and 80p for all day parking at the station.what a fab city to visit.The hotel grounds picture perfect .A great location for many attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alanRWhitleyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

A comfortable hotel in a secluded location.
Friendly and helpul staff even though they were busy as there were weddings on both days of our stay. A request for a remote for the TV was met promptly.
Wonderful food.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank normanmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Went with my two children to meet up with freind & her two kids. A small friendly & relaxed hotel. Beautiful gardens which the kids loved to play leaving us to relax & catch up over some delicious & reasonably priced wine. Staff were so accommodating & eager to assist. There was a wedding on & it was noisy but we got kids to sleep & ended up being welcome wedding crashers!! The food at this hotel is faultless - I am critical of food - deserts were to die for & not usually a chip person but we ordered some for kids with their sandwiches at lunch & they were possibly the best I have ever tried! Kids loved the spa bath - rooms a good size & clean but a little on tired side. I.e., few Bulbs gone, knobs fallen off wardrobe handles. We used this hotel as a base to take the kids to Chester zoo. Very convenient for this super attraction.

Room Tip: If you like to go to bed early & there is a function on- ask to move to a room away from car par...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshstirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I recently spent a very enjoyable weekend here with my partner to celebrate her birthday.

Set amongst some very well kept and picturesque gardens, the hotel is in a nice, tranquil location yet easily accessible from nearby roads.

The only negative of any note was our room was a little tired; the bathroom was showing pretty visible signs of wear and tear and the ornate headboard and light fitting were somewhat dusty, but you'd have to be pretty sad to let such things really bother you because the room was otherwise fine.

We had a great value package of 2 nights bed & breakfast with dinner on the first night and I have to say the food was excellent. Drinks prices were around what you'd pay in a pub so that made a pleasant change too.

What really makes this hotel though are the staff. The service in the restaurant was as good as I've had anywhere and every member of staff we met were exceptionally friendly and welcoming.

Would happily stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Busbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Childer Thornton
0.5 mi away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
0.6 mi away
Woodcote Hotel
Woodcote Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
781 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
492 reviews
2.2 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Meadow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Meadow Hotel

Address: Heath Lane, Childer Thornton, Ellesmere Port CH66 7NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port > Childer Thornton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Childer Thornton
Price Range: £50 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook Meadow Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for a relaxing stay at one of the South Wirral's superior 3-star hotels, close to the beautiful village of Childer Thornton. The period charm exudes from every corner of this hotel, yet each of the 25 beautifully-appointed rooms has en-suite facilities complete with spa bath, in addition to ISDN lines and air conditioning. The conservatory, from which you can enjoy uninterrupted views of the glorious gardens, is the place to enjoy exquisite cuisine served by our welcoming and attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Brook Meadow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Meadow Childer Thornton
Brook Meadow Hotel Childer Thornton, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing