We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like a cheap b&b”
Review of Brook Meadow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brook Meadow Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a 2 night amazon local deal with breakfast and dinner on one night.
Rooms are quite large but need updating and a good clean we had cobwebs, mould in the bathroom water stains on the ceiling and cracked walls. Niggly little things like broken bath panels and furniture with broken handles and broken lights hanging out of the ceiling.
The tv was also very old with only terrestrial channels
The breakfast was ok but nothing special and only 1 rasher of bacon 1 sausage etc and no brown bread
Food in the evening was nice but if we had paid the £25 each cost of the set menu I would of felt shortchanged
Overall this place feels like it should be a cheap bed and breakfast not a 'bespoke' hotel. Personally it is not somewhere I would consider staying again

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, General Manager at Brook Meadow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thanks for the review though your comments do not match the majority of our reviews and nothing was mentioned to us at the time of your stay

We will look into the comments and action if we feel appropriate

Regards

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Brook Meadow Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

My husband and I took advantage of Deal Monster for a 2 night stay at this hotel for our anniversary, despite the fact that the website did not contain a sample menu, a wine list or a photo gallery. It is located in a beautiful country quiet setting with lovely gardens. We had upgraded to a suite for £20 and the room was lovely and large. However the sitting room was separate to the bedroom and the old fashioned terrestial only channel TV was in the sitting room. The bath was enormous, loads of piping hot water and a comfortable bed. However the room needed a good dust (dead flies on the windowledge) and some of the decoration was a bit scruffy.

As our deal was for dinner on the second night only, we thought we would walk to the nearest pub, The White Lion but the young girl on reception did not know where it was and the other lady did not know that they stopped serving food at 5pm on a Sunday. We then tried to order room service at 8.20pm (it stops at 9pm) but were told that the chef had had to go home and we were not offered any alternative.

This is a great hotel and the 3 course menu on the second night was lovely, despite the fact that they had run out of my husband's favourite wine (the excuse was that they had used it all up over the weekend).

They really need to sort out their website, upgrade their TVs to freeview at the least, train their staff to be more helpful and improve their cleanliness.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueburl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have stayed at Brook Meadow a couple of times and will continue to visit. The hotel is a conversion of an old house set in lovely grounds which are very well maintained. On our last visit we had a suite - a lounge area with comfy sofa and armchairs, a good-sized bedroom with plenty of wardrobe space, and a great bathroom with a double spa bath, powerful shower and twin hand basins. The food is good - excellent bar snacks and a very good breakfast. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are very good and easy to access with luggage.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, General Manager at Brook Meadow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thanks for a lovely review! great to have return guests

Regards

Tom & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is a real find - a charming old house, original features and set in large, well-tended gardens. We had a suite which gave us a large sitting room, well-furnished bedroom and a very large bathroom with a double bath! Very quiet location yet only a short drive from Chester. The bar area is spacious and comfortable and the conservatory is a delightful room in which to have dinner. The food is delicious and the breakfast is freshly cooked to order. We will certainly return - this is a gem!

Room Tip: any of the suites .
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This nice old hotel is in a lovely, quiet setting and is very handy for Chester - the railway station is 2 minutes drive away, alternatively there is a very good park and ride (near Chester zoo) about 10 minutes drive away. Park & ride is only £2 return and drops you right in the middle of Chester. We had a large, airy room with a really nice bathroom - big Jacuzzi bath, very powerful shower and 2 sinks. Staff are very friendly and bar snacks are good. There is also a happy hour until 7pm, drinks £2. Excellent cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We've been to Brook Meadow for a meal a number of times over the years and have always enjoyed good food, but unfortunately on our last visit, this was not the case. A warning should have been the fact that we had no trouble getting a table for 7.00pm on a Friday evening when ringing at the last minute (6pm) on the Friday to book! My starter of onion tart was ok, main course of salmon was cooked well but the sauce accompanying it was starting to set on the plate (probably whilst waiting to be served) cheescake dessert was very nice, but the profiteroles were hard - at first we thought they were still frozen, but after one mouthful, decided that they were dry and stale tasting, and the "cream" inside did not taste very fresh. On mentioning this to the waiter it was taken off the bill. We did not stay for coffee. Whilst I would not say that the food was dreadful, I would not go back again and probably wouldn't recommend, which is a shame because it's a lovely little place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Staymag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, General Manager at Brook Meadow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Many thanks for your review

I have taken your comments on board and spoken to the chef about this

I do hope you try us again as we get very few negative comments about the food

Regards

Tom & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We picked this hotel for the fact it had a jacuzzi bath, that was the best thin about it, I think the rooms were slightly dated and quite hot as one of our windows didn't open, the tv was too low to the floor and it was a big old style tv with a remote that didn't work :( the room service was ok but my burger wasn't very nice and the handcut chips were not handcut, breakfast was nice thou and the staff were pleasant, but this hotel wouldn't be In my top 5 to stay in next time

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabbybuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, General Manager at Brook Meadow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thanks for your review

will look at the points raised and have mentioned the room service to Chef

We are currently looking at options for TVs to be upgraded so bear with us!

Regards

Tom & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Childer Thornton
0.5 mi away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
0.6 mi away
Woodcote Hotel
Woodcote Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
781 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
492 reviews
2.2 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Meadow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Meadow Hotel

Address: Heath Lane, Childer Thornton, Ellesmere Port CH66 7NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port > Childer Thornton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Childer Thornton
Price Range: £50 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook Meadow Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for a relaxing stay at one of the South Wirral's superior 3-star hotels, close to the beautiful village of Childer Thornton. The period charm exudes from every corner of this hotel, yet each of the 25 beautifully-appointed rooms has en-suite facilities complete with spa bath, in addition to ISDN lines and air conditioning. The conservatory, from which you can enjoy uninterrupted views of the glorious gardens, is the place to enjoy exquisite cuisine served by our welcoming and attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Agoda, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Brook Meadow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Meadow Childer Thornton
Brook Meadow Hotel Childer Thornton, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing