We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Wedding at the Brook Meadow!!”
Review of Brook Meadow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brook Meadow Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Wedding at the Brook Meadow!!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

From the first time I got in touch with the hotel they've been professional, polite and all the staff help you out before you even realised you needed help!

Loads of our wedding party stayed the night before so as to relax before the wedding and the dinner and breakfast was amazing and just a teeny hint of the amazing food for the wedding breakfast! The food for this was perfect! cooked to perfection and every flavour was delicious together!! Although it doesn't look like it I'm a fussy fussy eater and there wasn't anything I had in the hotel over the three days were were there I didn't like!!

All the staff were so friendly and accommodating and I can't thank you all enough it's you guys that helped to make it the day of my dreams- everyone kept saying how lovely all the staff were and how attentive you all were also!! You also cleared up all my crazy decorations ( I know there were not easy to pack away!! lol) with such care and attention!!So thank you so much for this too!

A special thank you goes out to Brian you were fantastic in dealing with all of us in our good emotions and our not so good emotions! But you handled everything so wonderfully and made us all feel at home here!!

I was sad to have to go but another wedding was on it's way and it was so lovely to see the weather was turning lovely for them also!!

The hotel itself and the grounds were beautiful everyone just couldn't stop exclaiming how beautiful everything was and for me it was just perfect and completed my dream!!

I think perhaps the happiest moment of the whole wedding for me was when I saw how huge the bathtub was ( don't judge me! I love baths and we only have a shower at home so I was in my element ha ha) Even my new husband- ekkk did have to agree with me on this point!!

I would wholeheartedly recommend the Brook Meadow to anyone for a visit for any reason and if you're thinking of getting married here please don't hesitate do it now! It was the best decision I made and I knew it as soon as I went to visit it had the makings of being perfect for us!! Then with the hard work of everyone it was just that perfect! I hope you enjoyed the little present we left for you but no amount of words or anything can express the gratitude we feel towards you all for giving us our beautiful wedding at the Brook Meadow! Thank you and we'll be seeing you soon! We've also decided to come back for our anniversary every year!!

Maz & Jon Hart xxx (11.4.14)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, General Manager at Brook Meadow Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thanks for a great review

So glad you enjoyed the big day and I have paased on the thanks to Brian who was delighted to hear it!

Best of luck for the future and visit again soon

Regards

Tom & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    133
    48
    27
    10
See reviews for
67
226
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Having had our wedding and numerous fantastic visits to Brook meadow for meals, we had no hesitation in booking to celebrate Mothering Sunday. What an utter disappointment this turned out to be.
On arrival we were immediately seated but then left unattended for fifteen minutes before the waiter returned to take our order. At this stage a mentioned that nobody had taken a drinks order, so this was placed along with our food order. A further fifteen minutes passed without a drink and further chasing up was needed before thus eventually arrived albeit a drink missing. Next our starters arrived and were given to the wrong table - this was dismissed by the waiter, when mentioned by a member of the other party. At this stage my wife complained to the manager, without much success.
Having eventually received and finished our starters, our main courses arrived but we were not offered any gravy - with Sunday roast! Puddings were eaten and we decided to skip coffee and pay the bill. This was the icing on the cake. Over forty pounds worth of drinks had been mistakenly added to our bill.
Needless to say this was the worst visit to Brook meadow we have had and it will be some time before we return

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, General Manager at Brook Meadow Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your review

I am very sorry your lunch was not as you hoped and as you stated all of the previous visits have been a lot better.

Unfortunately the gentleman who took the order made a mistake with the table number which did lead to confusion and the mistakes happening.

I am confused about the gravy comment as all the main courses left the kitchen with gravy and I know that another waiter did check on you with the main course, we would have happily supplied more if needed.

The bill again was wrong and I do apologise again this was caused by the same error regarding table numbers, I have looked at your bill and can only see that £10 was corrected not £40 so if your bill was wrong please contact me directly to correct this

I do hope you decide to return again and let us restore your faith in us

Regards

Tom & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed here for our Valentines/Anniversary weekend and were surprised that there were not more people staying at the hotel which had got good reviews on Tripadvisor.Throughout our stay the staff were very pleasant and helpful with any questions that we had.The rooms were of a good size with all expected facilities but would suggest that TV's need updating even if just to get ones that have remote control.The spa bath was a nice feature but might be an idea to put a little explanation in the visitors guide as to how to switch it on :).Lovely to watch the squirrels in the gardens which came up close to the windows.
The evening meal was very good and the staff were very efficient and polite and made sure everyone was looked after.Overall we thought that the hotel was very good value and is in a good location being relatively close to the Motorway it was surprising that it seemed quite empty at the time of our stay but that in itself might be part of its appeal as it provides a nice tranquil retreat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartBWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, General Manager at Brook Meadow Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay

Most of the time the hotel can feel quiet and relaxed even if we are busy (It is part of our charm!)

Regards

Tom & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England
Level Contributor
209 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed at The Brook Meadow on business in February.

There were a couple of downsides to my stay, but outweighed by the positives.

On the downside, their spiel informs you that you will have a view over gardens etc.... bearing in mind there were very few people staying the night I was there, I was miffed to find my room overlooked a brick patio area and the car park. Oh, well, I guess that after 6p.m. in early February the view becomes irrelevant.

The other downside was the TV!!! It was probably older than some of the antique furniture in the room. It was a large silver thing on its own stand and about the size of a small car ( not quite, but you get my gist). Seriously, offering a meagre 5 channels and Cbeebies is ridiculous in 2014! Thank goodness I'd brought a book to read.

On the plus side, large room, yes, it's an old fashioned hotel, but that's part of the charm IMHO. Good sized bathroom, decent towels.

I didn't have dinner since I was meeting a friend, but I had breakfast which was very good indeed. I have to say I didn't need to eat again until evening!

Would I stay again? Not sure, nice hotel, nice location,but I felt a bit let down by being give the " Car Park View " room and the TV is a major negative for me.

Room Tip: I don't think any rooms will suffer from external noise, as Brook Meadows is down a country lane...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeC-R23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, General Manager at Brook Meadow Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thanks for the review

We are slowly updating our TVs so please bear with us

But glad you had a good time

Regards

Tom & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Arrived on a damp January afternoon. We were shown to our room by a friendly member of staff. The room was spacious with a lovely outlook over the garden. To be honest the room does need a lot of t.l.c though it was clean. Unfortunately had to change rooms as the central heating was eratic so we were either too hot or too cool. Enjoyed the large corner bath before going down for dinner. The meal was excellent. Fresh ingrediants superbly cooked and presented. Would definately recommend staying there. Fell in love with Evi the sqirrell so just had to bring her home with me.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marod77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, General Manager at Brook Meadow Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope Evi is enjoying her new home!

Regards

Tom & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We came here for a friends wedding last April but just realised I never put a review on for it!

We decided to stay the night at the hotel and booked for bed and breakfast. Our friends had been married at a church and the reception and evening party were being held at this hotel with a lot of wedding guests staying over here whilst others chose the near by travel lodge! When arriving at the place it looked really nice with lots of character. The small bar area were the wedding party took place was lovely and it had a partition that opened up to a dining area and small stage and dance floor! Everything was done lovely and the wedding guests and bride and groom had a really great time food was really great and staff were lovely!

The room was generally nice but also felt and looked quite tired looking which is a shame because it could look really good, also although generally quite clean there were areas of the room that were thick with dust this isn't something that was new it was thick and clearly quite old dust, there was even a small table near the window that had clearly been hoovered around but not under for a long time as there was a perfect square of thick dust on the carpet under the table! The room is decorated with old pictures, mirrors and furniture in keeping with the hotel just unfortunate that so many things were thick with dust. Bathrooms nice with a jacuzzi bath altho again tired looking and jacuzzi bath would spit out black bits! I think at one time there was possibly aircon in room but It didn't work whilst we were there!

People on here have mentioned about noise particularly when there is an event on, being part of the wedding party this wasn't a major issue for us but I can completely see why people would complain this hotel has no sound proofing what so ever we actually popped back to our room midway through wedding party and the floors, walls and everything were vibrating I would certainly not want to stay as a regular guest and I get the impression the hotel makes its money more through events than regular room bookings so these will always come first compared to regular guests. The walls between rooms are also paper thin you hear EVERYTHING there really is no excuse for this as I believe the hotel created rooms by slitting much larger ones so therefore should have done things properly knowing part of a great hotel stay is peace and quiet in the room!

The hotel doesn't offer room service as such but you can pay a £5 tray charge to get breakfast in your room which we did it was a very good breakfast and there is plenty of space in the rooms to eat it comfortably.

My friends were so happy with their big day and the hotel staff were brilliant with this, as for the question would we return to stay, maybe if we were at another wedding but as regular guests I'm not sure I would like too but the noise issue would be a problem ( you can see from my other reviews this is a big issue for me, haha) but I do feel this is important for a great hotel stay!

We also feel the rooms need to be taken care of better it wouldn't take much for them to be so much better it is a shame for a place like this that has so much character to lose its way when it just needs a little TLC!

Room Tip: Don't stay when there's an event on unless you are part of it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David0ff82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, General Manager at Brook Meadow Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thanks for your review

Thank you for your nice comments about the day and the staff

Just so you are aware we allocate rooms for the wedding party in the rooms that will be most affected by the disco and as you mentioned it did not bother you as you where poart of the wedding. If guests do want a quiet room we do our upmost to allocate quiet rooms.

As you stated you stayed almost over a year ago and I can assure you that 12 months TLC has happened since you stayed

Regards

Tom & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SM1
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Booked to stay at Brook Meadow after seeing a good deal on Amazon Local.

The hotel was clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. As mentioned in other reviews, we also had trouble with the shower temperature - lukewarm at best.

The 3 course meal on Saturday was lovely.

Hotel location was great. We visited Cheshire Oaks, Chester, Parkgate - best ice creams at Nicholls - and easy to find from the motorway.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K_LSm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, General Manager at Brook Meadow Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Childer Thornton
0.5 mi away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thor...
#1 of 2 in Childer Thornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
2.2 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Meadow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Meadow Hotel

Property: Brook Meadow Hotel
Address: Heath Lane, Childer Thornton, Ellesmere Port CH66 7NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port > Childer Thornton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Childer Thornton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook Meadow Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for a relaxing stay at one of the South Wirral's superior 3-star hotels, close to the beautiful village of Childer Thornton. The period charm exudes from every corner of this hotel, yet each of the 25 beautifully-appointed rooms has en-suite facilities complete with spa bath, in addition to ISDN lines and air conditioning. The conservatory, from which you can enjoy uninterrupted views of the glorious gardens, is the place to enjoy exquisite cuisine served by our welcoming and attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brook Meadow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Meadow Childer Thornton
Brook Meadow Hotel Childer Thornton, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing