We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant little retreat, loved it :)”
Review of Brook Meadow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brook Meadow Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant little retreat, loved it :)”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

When we arrived here the building looks like a lovely old building. Inside the décor is excellent and really does keep in with the rustic feel. If you like modern and white rooms this place probably isn't for you but if you enjoy character you will like it. Our room had original sash windows which were lovely. The staff here are really excellent and Pip especially is a credit to this establishment always smiling and helping as much as possible. I overheard other customers saying how helpful Pip and the other staff were.
The food here was divine, we had the 3 course meal and the lamb as the main was wonderful, we couldn't fault it in anyway. In addition to great food there was also a happy hour which was accompanied by a toy squirrel dubbed "Cyril the £2 a drink squirrel", the squirrel had to be brought to the bar to get the drinks, we didn't mind! We enjoyed using this while sitting in the beautiful sunshine in the gorgeous garden. Breakfast was fine though we realised you could actually order what ever you liked, but drinks were readily available as were cereals and cooked to order food!
Overall a lovely building, nice rooms, great staff and great food. I look forward to coming back very soon!

Room Tip: Upgrade is always the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirstiwursti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    137
    50
    29
    10
See reviews for
68
236
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed for two nights, Friday & Saturday, booking the shop till drop offer. Was picked for location to Cheshire Oaks (10 minute drive away), but actually handy for other areas like Chester, Chester Zoo and other visitor attractions. On arrival greeted by nice looking black & white character building (which later found out had some history to it). On arrival into the small reception area we waited for some time to be checked in which was done very quickly with briefest of overviews. We stayed in the Brook suite, which had separate area with settee and chairs, double bed with ample storage space and large bathroom twin sinks and a double hydro bath.

The bar is on the ground floor but does not have any sitting in there, either sit outside or in the lounge across the hall. The dining room is split into two, conservatory area used for dinner and the smaller area used for breakfast. We dined both evenings and can say that the food was very nice, portion size ample and we were well looked after by the waiter. Breakfast was pleasant and actually cooked to order which is an unusual find these days as well has having the self serve continental food.

The gardens well manicured and was nice to sit with a drink watching the birds on the feeders. With the hotel situated on a Lane it was also peaceful.

The hotel is owned by Bespoke Hotels and this is were it let itself down, the interior is very tired and could do with a complete redecoration. Whilst in one way felt charming it also lacked care, paint work especially on doors needs redoing, general housekeeping like light bulbs not working, windows in rooms that should open and not be screwed down, televisions updated and ones in bedroom placed on walls rather than on floor stand which makes it impossible to watch.

I would suggest that if booking you check that there is no wedding taking place as you could feel that you are intruding or loosing service, especially in the bar. We can only compliment the staff (except for initial reception), on how friendly and helpful they were which made the stay pleasant. Also be aware that the lift is through several doors from reception which may cause an issue to some.

Overall if you are looking for a hotel in that area you could do worse, it has character it has a charm and it does offer reasonable value for money, friendly staff and if their was an investment in it would certainly have given a rating of 5.

If you do stay there try and get one of the privilege cards prior to going as you can get 10% of food and drinks whilst there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taking35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have stayed here a number of times and are just unable to critisise the quality and cleanliness of the rooms in any way. Our evening meal was well cooked and very satisfying. Breakfast was also of a similar standard. The service was excellent at my evening celebration with 16 people around trhe table nobody was kept waiting nor had any complaint. I had my guide dog with me and she was made as welcome as we were. I would recommend this hotel as a romantic stay or as a base to enjoy the surrounding countryside. 20 minutes to Chester 30 mnutes to North Wales or just relax in the hotel gardens.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms that I am aware of. We stayed in room 104 which overlooked squirrels playing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Lovely hotle in beautiful gardens. Hotel location very quiet but only a few miles from chester and the beach at hoylake. We stayed on the Saturday night so we could be at chester zoo early on the sunday. Booked room only so cannot comment on the food. Staff very welcoming and friendly, lovely spa bath in the room. All in all an really good stay and an ideal location for Chester, Cheshire oaks the zoo and the bloue planet aquarium.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apdawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, General Manager at Brook Meadow Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thanks for a great review

I agree our location is perfect!

Regards

Tom & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eportt
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I booked to take my boyfriend for a night away for his birthday and i have to say how fantastic it was!!! The room was gorgeous and all the staff couldnt do enough for us!! Thankyou and we will definitely be coming again!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmaaaAndEmmaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, General Manager at Brook Meadow Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
So glad you had a great time and liked our team

Regards

Tom & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight on a Friday night. The hotel is lovely. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on this but the hotel is clean and very comfortable. The grounds are gorgeous. Hotel a bit away from anywhere but peace and quiet. The rooms are spacious and although there was a wedding on it never affected are stay. Would recommend this hotel

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, General Manager at Brook Meadow Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Glad you enjoyed your visit with us

Hope to see you again soon

Regards

Tom & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

For the second time I checked into Brook Meadow following a fire at my home and yet again everyone was brilliant! The food is great and the staff cant do enough to help. Tom the manager is a complete star and makes you welcome and ensures that you are well looked after.

So good we are holding an 80th birthday celebration there!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1960DaveMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, General Manager at Brook Meadow Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks for another great review

We are looking forward to seeing you soon!

Regards

Tom & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Childer Thornton
0.5 mi away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Woodcote Hotel
Woodcote Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
1.4 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
758 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Meadow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Meadow Hotel

Property: Brook Meadow Hotel
Address: Heath Lane, Childer Thornton, Ellesmere Port CH66 7NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port > Childer Thornton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Childer Thornton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook Meadow Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for a relaxing stay at one of the South Wirral's superior 3-star hotels, close to the beautiful village of Childer Thornton. The period charm exudes from every corner of this hotel, yet each of the 25 beautifully-appointed rooms has en-suite facilities complete with spa bath, in addition to ISDN lines and air conditioning. The conservatory, from which you can enjoy uninterrupted views of the glorious gardens, is the place to enjoy exquisite cuisine served by our welcoming and attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Brook Meadow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Meadow Childer Thornton
Brook Meadow Hotel Childer Thornton, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing