We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kid Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this premier inn, we booked three family rooms as we were with our daughter and three grandchildren, there were play areas in the Brewers Fayre next door which kept them amused whilst we were waiting for our evening meal, ok it was cheap and average (you do get what you pay for). The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and bothered to make friends with the children, the room was clean and provided everything that was needed for an overnight stay. We didn't have to vacate the room until midday which gave us ample time, We would stay at this Inn again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAO56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Service as ever was very good the rest was very average.

Room, clean but small. Shower adequate at best.

Price was cheap (£40) but needed to be to justify what was on offer.

Pub next door was awful but thankfully cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talisker1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Great location for visiting Chester. Friendly staff made us feel welcome. Rooms adequate but on the shabby side. Bathroom a bit grubby and needed updating. Shabby Brewers Fayre next door - poor quality buffet breakfast. Nice coffee from bean to cup machine. Lots of banging around upstairs while I was trying to get to sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed one night and found it excellent. Staff on reception were helpful and very friendly. Room was clean and fresh and very comfortable. The surroundings were really nice too. Would stay again. This Premier Inn is one of the nicest I have stayed in and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janinnwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed here for just one night and everything was great. You know what to expect from a Premier Inn and this was one of the best ones we have stayed in. It was spotlessly clean, the room maybe a little smaller than usual but more than adequate, good TV, very comfortable bed and good bathroom. The staff on reception were the usual friendly staff you find at Premier Inn compared to other 'budget' hotels and they were very helpful. The grounds of the hotel are also very nice and welcoming. It was perfect for a one night stay away. And a bargain price of £25 even on a bank holiday weekend. Well done. Great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Many stays at many Premier Inns, but this was not up to normal standard. Usual amenties and yes a comfortable bed, but quite a small room and a bit dingy. The bathroom was tiny and the door just missed the toilet. The windows are softwood and need replacing. First Premier Inn where we have been able to hear through the walls. Closest to the shopping at Cheshire Oaks, but much much better Premiers elsewhere on the Wirral and would rather drive that bit further in future. The attached 'restaurant' and bar (Brewers Fayre) is awful! The food is overcooked, dry and tasteless. Breakfast was worse, full of unruly kids with families who weren't even staying there, but taking over at breakfast. Flat refusal when we asked for a quiet table as they weren't in use for breakfast. Had to ask for just about everything, staff were hopeless in keeping up with replenshing food, cups, juice etc. First Premier where breakfast was help yourself from pans on a warm counter yukky and cheap catering food. Happy to pay for a good stay at Premier Inn normally, but to charge the same for this place as others of a higher standing is a cheek.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieSue56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed on the Top floor and the room was clean and comfortable with everything you need for a short stay. The staff at reception were both friendly and professional, the only downside is the noise from other guests can be disturbing at times but this says more about their lack of consideration for others than the quality of the Premier Inn. I would stay again but would not eat ever again at the Brewers Fayre next door which is very poor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Childer Thornton
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
528 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
0.5 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Woodcote Hotel
Woodcote Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
288 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Two Mills) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel

Address: Thornton Hall Chester Road, Childer Thornton, Ellesmere Port CH66 1QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port > Childer Thornton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Childer Thornton
Price Range: £46 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling village a short drive from Chester Racecourse and Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing