We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy overnight stop with good breafast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“comfy overnight stop with good breafast”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Very helpful staff and comfy rooms, if a tad on noisy side made for great start to family visit. Good location and noise mentioned was from rooms above not having too much sound proofing. Area was quiet enough though. Staff went beyond expectations to offer my mum room suited to her needs. Thanks prem inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timtoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    131
    44
    31
    14
See reviews for
178
159
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay - the staff were friendly, helpful and professional and the room was great - it was the best nights' sleep we had had in ages! The breakfasts were lovely too! Great location for getting into Chester and the Premier Inn helped our trip to be a really enjoyable one.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Be careful what you ask for and be sure that you know what you want and what you can expect.
The restaurant area was disgusting. In particular the buffet. Hotel offered a new Italian menu, but the food on display wasd dried up, looked un-appetising was coated in spice to disguise no taste, poor choice.
The parking area was inadequate, poor security lighting, to small. The general bar area was tired and looked similar to a working mens club.
The hotel is in desperate need of upgrading.
The walls appear thin and you can listen to someone snoring all night, because the television volume cannot be turned up to drown the noise.
Do not take suitcases up stairs in the hotel unless you carry them on your head and worry if there is a real fire drill the staircase is so narrow you would fight for space.


  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

For the money we paid you could expect more but light sleepers beware. The level of noise insulation between rooms and floors is very poor. Bed was OK (a bit hard) room great but had a bad nights sleep by hearing noises from other rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaE193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Went to get in to bed to find a dirty streaked mark on the sheet. A member of staff came and changed it where I also pointed out the noise the bed made. I was told there was nothing they can do about the bed and refunded my room. Still never got any sleep though given the noise of the bed and then the bathroom fan making noises from 1am.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Called in yesterday at the brewer's fayre here with DS on way back from Chester. As we mainly wanted a drink and we were only feeling peckish, we decided to just order a combo starter for two and a portion of chips to share. (we would have ordered individual sandwiches or jacket potatoes but told these are only available on menu from Monday- Friday!)
Food took half an hour to arrive- glad we only ordered one course or we may still have been there lol!!!
The girl who brought the platter and a small bowl of chips asked who each dish was for. When I explained we were sharing, she asked if we would like a couple of plates, to which I responded in the affirmative- despite there being hardly anyone else in the restaurant these plates never arrived. We coped by emptying the bowls containing the chips and the chicken dippers and using one of these each!
The food at best was just about warm and passable- I've eaten better at fast food drive in's!
Had been considering using the attached Premier Inn when next on business in the area, but based on the quality of the food here will be giving the place a wide berth!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank localtolytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Good hotel. Rooms comfortable and clean.
Breakfast was good.
Service was good.
Didn't have dinner as went for curry up road but had a few beers in bar and staff seemed nice.
Not much else to write to be honest!! It's what you get and expect from a premier inn!
However, trip advisor want 200 words so in having to write a bit more!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Foody4Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Childer Thornton
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Woodcote Hotel
Woodcote Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
270 reviews
5.2 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel
Address: Thornton Hall Chester Road, Childer Thornton, Ellesmere Port CH66 1QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port > Childer Thornton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Childer Thornton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling village a short drive from Chester Racecourse and Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing