We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very comfortable room”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We had two rooms one twin and a double. Both were very comfortable and excellent value for money. Really good location for both Liverpool and Cheshire Oaks. Friendly receptionists on arrival and departure. Only downfall is the mediocre put next door. The pub looks really inviting from the outside and the decor is good on the inside. The food was average. My only real gripe is that although there appears to be plenty of available seating, there are reserved notices on most of them, which is fine normally as I believe in first come first served. However, it appears that the staff were controlling the tables that they wanted to serve at because the tables never did have diners sat at them, we stayed in the restaurant until after last service so we know that this was the case. We would have liked to have the choice where to sit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBlowers, Manager at Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Wirral Childer Thornton Premier Inn and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    116
    41
    31
    13
See reviews for
161
146
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed here for one night recently, nothing wrong with the place.
Was allocated a room in the older part of the hotel, was very cold when got into room and soon got warm from the amazing heater, bed amazing as usual, staff friendly, shower great and good location all good!

Room Tip: Ask for new block and a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twitter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBlowers, Manager at Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and I am grateful for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Wirral Childer Thornton Premier Inn when you are next staying in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Very comfortable Premier Inn and exceptional staff from start to finish. We got exactly what we expected having stayed at 3 other Premier Inns previously around the country.

We were unable to get into any of the 3 Chester City Premier Inn's, having stayed in one last year and Childer Thornton proved to be as ideally positioned and convenient for Chester itself (Park and Ride advised) and especially Chester Zoo. No problems with noise whatsoever, as has been mentioned in other reviews here.

The only downside was the restaurant next door - very average overall and my advice would be not to eat too early (during the meal deal times) to avoid noisy family tables (kids running about)

Room Tip: Second floor at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herodsfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBlowers, Manager at Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

we arrived to a frosty receptionist at 2pm before we could say can we leave our bags she said your room is not ready until 3pm which we knew having stayed at many premier inns.
we were kept awake all night by people walking around in the room above us problem with floor boards i was told. then we were woken again very early by the building site next door

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham200963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
hank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Very helpful staff and comfy rooms, if a tad on noisy side made for great start to family visit. Good location and noise mentioned was from rooms above not having too much sound proofing. Area was quiet enough though. Staff went beyond expectations to offer my mum room suited to her needs. Thanks prem inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timtoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay - the staff were friendly, helpful and professional and the room was great - it was the best nights' sleep we had had in ages! The breakfasts were lovely too! Great location for getting into Chester and the Premier Inn helped our trip to be a really enjoyable one.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Be careful what you ask for and be sure that you know what you want and what you can expect.
The restaurant area was disgusting. In particular the buffet. Hotel offered a new Italian menu, but the food on display wasd dried up, looked un-appetising was coated in spice to disguise no taste, poor choice.
The parking area was inadequate, poor security lighting, to small. The general bar area was tired and looked similar to a working mens club.
The hotel is in desperate need of upgrading.
The walls appear thin and you can listen to someone snoring all night, because the television volume cannot be turned up to drown the noise.
Do not take suitcases up stairs in the hotel unless you carry them on your head and worry if there is a real fire drill the staircase is so narrow you would fight for space.


  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Childer Thornton
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
0.5 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Two Mills) Hotel
5.2 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel
Address: Thornton Hall Chester Road, Childer Thornton, Ellesmere Port CH66 1QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port > Childer Thornton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Childer Thornton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling village a short drive from Chester Racecourse and Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing