We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not four star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langbank
arbroath
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not four star”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My partner and I stayed at Gleddoch house at the weekend, there was a party night on and we were told by the receptionist we were in the new part of the Hotel away from the noise. we had to take our luggage back to the car and drive up a hill and round the back to a small car park that could do with more lights. Our room was cold with only a small heater on the wall that took a long time to heat up, the television was very small. The bath had was covered in mould, not what you would expect to find in a four star hotel. The spa was very dissapointing and the noise from the pipes or heating system was so high pitched we couldnt stay in there. The bar was very small and no atmosphere. The restaurant was nice and the staff were very pleasent. Needs some attention to be a four star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Engineer50Arbroath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    365
    238
    158
    111
See reviews for
276
514
29
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Canfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed at Gleddoch recently for 4 nights whilst visiting friends in the area. The older part of the hotel and reception area looked lovely and we were a bit disappointed to be told our room was in the newer part. However appearances can be deceiving, from the outside the building looked like a soulless box but the room was huge, clean, warm, had a large bed and fabulous views of the Clyde.
Tea, coffee and biscuits were replenished every day and the room had plenty hanging and drawer space.
We did not eat in the restaurant but instead ate in the bar where the food was good and reasonably prices.
Although the leisure facilities were a bit tired the pool was warm, the area clean and staff were friendly.
All in all Gleddoch House ticked all our boxes and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanandmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2014, General Manager at Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank You for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us at The Gleddoch House Hotel. It is with great delight to find that you found the Hotel welcoming and Your bedroom warm and comfortable.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed for a weekend - we got an excellent deal on B&B. Our room was HUGE, warm, clean and comfortable. The TV could have been bigger as it was so far away on the other side of the room it was difficult to see. Breakfast was excellent - a good selection and a hearty cooked Scottish Breakfast available. The bar area could be improved and more couches would be a good idea. The staff were really friendly and we enjoyed chatting to them and they were really helpful. Spa area is typical for a hotel - adequate. I really couldn't be too negative on the hotel - fantastic value for money we would go back. We had the evening meal at the hotel as well - the gripe I would have with it is that the cheese option was too expensive so we didn't bother. Bar prices were average. Good location for a bit of sightseeing in this area - also not too far from Glasgow City Centre.

Room Tip: We had the room above reception at the front of the building - we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macb2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2014, General Manager at Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank You for your recent review of The Gleddoch House Hotel. It is with great delight to hear that you found our bedrooms warm and comfortable. I will pass on your kind comments regarding breakfast to our Chef. I agree that the Hotel is a great location if you are looking to explore the City or Loch Lomond area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gleddoch House Hotel.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

i live near this hotel but decided to take advantage of a good deal. we stayed overnight and played golf the next day.
the reception looked like someones front room with a desk plonked to the side. the receptionist was effiecient but having taken our bags out of the car we had to take them back and drive to the other entrance. ok for our overnight, would be a bit of a hassle if i had the kids in tow.
room was really cold when we arrived. there was a wall heater but it took a while to heat the room. the room was a bit dingy, with a small bed and an even smaller t.v.
the pool itself was lovely but the surrounding area stank of damp. the showers looked like the handyman had knocked them up. the toilet area was basic with the walls grubby.
went tot he bar at night. first glass was filthy. went for a meal. staff were great and well trained, food was good.
check out was efficient and we were charged as expected. we did play golf. my husband tells me it's a good course ive played twice so cant comment. the views are great and well worth the early morning walk.
overall i would say the staff make the place. if i had paid full price and travelled to this supposed four star spa i would have been very dissapointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ang156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Has no soul. Grubby, unkept and unloved. Unhelpful and unfriendly staff. Ordered flowers did not arrive...just a peak into our experience, but waking to the varying view of the skyline and the Clyde saw us forgetting all of this. In a nut shell, a prestigious golf club with rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langbank hotels

Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Didnt actually get to stay as we checked out due to the strong stench of sewage in our room ! Having now looked at some other reviews here I see that we are not the first guests to have had this experience in their room! Hotel was full so couldnt be moved to another room , we were given a refund but no help was offered to find us another hotel. The one star here is for fulfilling my request for a king size bed. Spa area very run down and could do with a clean, dont expect a relaxing atmosphere as pool was full of kids some left unsupervised by parents to use the pool like a fun park. Cant comment on food as glad we never got to eat as reception suggested the odour could be coming from the vent from the kitchen !

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

On the way up to the hotel I was expecting some thing grand, but was disappointed as it looked very untidy and unkempt, which was a shame as the views were really nice, this was then continued into the reception area, very foreboding, empty looking and unfriendly.

The room as nice, but the bathroom ceiling was covered in mould and in general it was in need of some attention.

Evening meal was alright but ended up through a recommendation to go to the Hungry Monk.

Overall it was not what I was expecting and will not be going back there again, likewise I would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Go to the Hungry Monk for meals, the food, service and price are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langbank
6.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
4.1 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
2.1 mi away
Ingliston Country Club
Ingliston Country Club
#2 of 3 in Bishopton
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
13.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
2.4 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf

Property: Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
Address: Old Greenock Road, Langbank PA14 6YE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Langbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf and its 360 acres estate was once the home of the shipping baron, Sir William Lithgow. It is an ideal base from which to explore Scotland's famous sites and attractions and is uniquely situated for Glasgow International Airport and Glasgow city centre. Gleddoch takes you away from the bustle of the city with breathtaking panoramic views of the Clyde Estuary and Renfrewshire hills. The property boasts 70 bedrooms including Executive rooms, junior suites and suites. VISTA restaurant and The Nineteenth bar provide all-day bar and dining facilities whilst the Kilpatrick lounge offers a place to relax with an outdoor terrace giving stunning views of the Clyde and surrounding area. The onsite Imperia Spa boasts a 17m indoor pool, steam room, sauna, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, conservatory, relaxation room, hair & nail salon and six treatment rooms offering a full range of Elemis and ishga treatments. Gleddoch also offers an 18-hole golf course that has dramatic views across the River Clyde to Ben Lomond. We consistently strive to not only meet but to exceed your expectations in delivering a first class service and invite you to sample our welcoming hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Langbank
Gleddoch House Hotel
Gleddoch Hotel Langbank
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf Langbank, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing