We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible excuse for a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langbank
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible excuse for a hotel”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Absoulty terrible, manky rooms, lack of pillows, noisy flooring so when people we're banging there feet when walking past shook our room and kept us awake, found a sock in the bed, thick of dust and sick on the bathroom floor and the bin put over it instead of cleaning it. Food was awful and the waits we're terrible and no apologises, prices at the bar are ridiculous and the attitude from some staff is just out of order. Getting called "pal" from a duty manager is not professional. The lady on reception needs to tone down the make up and attitude and stop arguing long enough to let the guests have a word in edge wise to actually know what the problem is.

Stay at home holidays are great but this place isn't worth anything you might as well stay where you comfortable and not robbed for every penny you have on a meal that's terrible or a bed and room that's way under livable.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MissDrummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    360
    236
    157
    109
See reviews for
271
507
29
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

After avoiding potholes on the driveway we checked into the dark & dreary reception area.
On the way to our room the corridor carpets were dirty, then we encountered bags of dirty linen holding open corridor doors (trip hazard) at 2.30pm! On the plus side we had a lovely big room over looking the River Clyde. All the staff were very helpful & friendly.
Unfortunately for us the stay was spoiled due to a room below us having rowdy residents with loud music & shouting at 1am .Had to ring the 24 hr reception which took 15 mins to answer, to get something done so we could sleep.
All in all our stay was very disappointing & not what we expected. This hotel really needs a makeover.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as an excuse to escape the children and to attend a wedding in nearby Ingliston Country Club.
This was our first time at Gleddoch, beautiful hotel upon approach with fantastic views of the water. But it needs some TLC. Driveway has serious pot holes, lightbulb out in the entrance and checkin was slow. Only one checkin computer, with no actual check in desk - in such a large check in area (beautifully decorated) it could only benefit from an reception desk with 2 pcs. The bar is a fair track from the rooms, up several flights of stairs but was worth the walk. Food was delicious, and again nice views of the gold course. Only one thing to fault the bar on, Gin comes with a lime in it not lemon. No limes in the bar, so lemon it was then. Upon arriving back to the hotel after the wedding, before midnight, we found the front door to be locked and a rather straight to the point night porter informing us that he was on his fire door check and that the other door at the bar area was open. First of all nobody advised us of this before we left and second of all, logic would say that people would use the front door and that night porters are also on duty to serve guests not just work through their list of tasks..
Breakfast this morning was lovely and we were served promptly. Would def return to this hotel, but feel there needs to be some money spent on the basics to uplift this lovely property.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Paula gave me both a massage and a facial. She was both thoroughly knowledgeable and ever so kind. Her hands are pure gold! I would thoroughly recommend her talents to anyone in need of some pampering and kind care. She definitely made our visit to the Gleddoch House one to remember and hopefully to repeat some day very soon. What a glorious treat! Many thanks Paula, a credit to Elemis.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDays213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GleddochHouse, General Manager at Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your recent visit to our Spa. I am delighted Paula has taken care of you and i agree she is a credit to our Team. I will pass along your comments and I am sure she will be just as happy to read your review as i was.

We look forward to welcoming your back to our Hotel in the near future.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned from having a three course lunch deal which i bought on groupon!! I cannot fault anything, staff were great, service fast and food fantastic! I would 100% return here and pay full price! Noticed they did afternoon tea so would lile to try that out sometime aswell!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank taliswoman1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GleddochHouse, General Manager at Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank You for taking the time to share your comments on your recent visit to the Gleddoch House.
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your Sunday lunch and i will pass your compliments onto our Restaurant team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My pals & I have just returned from a wee pamper break at this hotel. We booked through Wowcher & were having two beauty treatments each which included use of spa facilities.
The staff on arrival were not the most pleasant of people, but we went through to use the spa facilities and were even more "put off". We do this regularly & at most hotels are provided with fluffy robes & slippers....NONE HERE. We got one towel each from an unmanned reception area, and were disappointed in the facilities. The pool area is shabby & the changing areas are disgusting!!!! Major refurbishments required. No Jacuzzi ,just pool steam room & sauna. Had to walk through hotel wearing only a towel over swimsuits to treatment area. Treatments themselves were fine, though none of our party were asked to fill out a health questionnaire.(very strange in this society of blame culture). After our time at the pool we were required to get dressed to use the restaurant for lunch where the staff were so abrupt.....Can I help you? meaning where are you wandering to! (after we had stood waiting to be seated for 5 mins). Lunch very pricey for basic burgers etc. We do these pamper breaks every few months & have always been more than happy....Unfortunately WE WILL NOT BE RETURNING!!!!!!!!
Don't waste your hard earned cash on a shabby place. Far nicer places nearby

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sapqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langbank hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I booked a three day break with my fussy mum and two small young daughters at Gleddoch. I do not usually write reviews but truely believe that Gleddoch Hotel deserves praise!

The staff were exceptional, hard working, very pleasant and would do anything to please us.

We stayed in room 25 which overlooked the River Clyde and the views were spectacular! The room had two double beds and still enough room to fit a travel cot! I admit the bathroom needs updating but it was still exceptionally clean. Fresh towels each day.

The breakfast was fantastic, the poached eggs were cooked to perfection! My mum and I had full scottish breakfasts which was delicious! Great views in the restaurant! We also had afternoon tea in the drawing room which was well presented!
We had room service which was ourstanding and only a small charge of £5.

Gleddoch is a big hotel and does have a lot of stairs but also comes with lots of charactor and history! Queen Elizabeth 2 has stayed there in the past along with many other famous people.

I would certainly recommend this charming hotel and please do not let the bad reviews put you off! Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and can't wait to come again!


  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelandhayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langbank
6.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
2.1 mi away
Ingliston Country Club
Ingliston Country Club
#2 of 3 in Bishopton
495 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,403 reviews
13.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
19.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf

Property: Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
Address: Old Greenock Road, Langbank PA14 6YE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Langbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf and its 360 acres estate was once the home of the shipping baron, Sir William Lithgow. It is an ideal base from which to explore Scotland's famous sites and attractions and is uniquely situated for Glasgow International Airport and Glasgow city centre. Gleddoch takes you away from the bustle of the city with breathtaking panoramic views of the Clyde Estuary and Renfrewshire hills. The property boasts 70 bedrooms including Executive rooms, junior suites and suites. VISTA restaurant and The Nineteenth bar provide all-day bar and dining facilities whilst the Kilpatrick lounge offers a place to relax with an outdoor terrace giving stunning views of the Clyde and surrounding area. The onsite Imperia Spa boasts a 17m indoor pool, steam room, sauna, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, conservatory, relaxation room, hair & nail salon and six treatment rooms offering a full range of Elemis and ishga treatments. Gleddoch also offers an 18-hole golf course that has dramatic views across the River Clyde to Ben Lomond. We consistently strive to not only meet but to exceed your expectations in delivering a first class service and invite you to sample our welcoming hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Langbank
Gleddoch House Hotel
Gleddoch Hotel Langbank
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf Langbank, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing