We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank god for the restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langbank
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thank god for the restaurant”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Day trip for lunch and spa. Spa needs investment. Ladies changing rooms are totally inadequate. Not enough room to list all the faults. However if I say 2 showers only one with a curtain and lockers for about 50 only a few lock !!!!! Hand dryer is better than the hair dryer. The restaurant however was lovely. Fabulous views. Meal was perfect. Service was friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    353
    231
    155
    105
See reviews for
264
492
29
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here before about 4 years ago and were not disappointed upon returning.
The road up to the hotel in poor condition, not great even for a 4x4!
The main building when you drive up is lovely, and this is the reception, but most rooms are round to the side, which could seem disillusioning, but the rooms are clean with a huge comfy bed, TV, tea and coffee facilities, iron and ironing board and trouser press.
We had a lovely view over the Clyde and it was nice and quiet.
The spa has a decent sized pool, sauna and steam room. The steam room was having issues when we were there, not that warm, but reported to staff.
On Thursday afternoon there are kids' swimming lessons so not that quiet, but on Friday it was lovely and peaceful. (lessons also on Saturday morning).
The changing rooms for the leisure facilities are fine, lockers and hairdryers provided.
We only had breakfast in the hotel; buffet selection of fruit, pastries etc and hot food made to order. Very friendly and attentive staff and the food was lovely.
This was an anniversary break, very relaxing and enjoyable, and great value.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 4, nice view and not overlooked by anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C4TMKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Nich hotel in the hills overlooking the Clyde. The rooms are HUGE and some of the views are fantastic if you get the right room.. Breakfast is ok'ish. Evening meals are to die for. It's not pricey at all. The staff could be a bit more happy...deffo need a car with this one taxis are not cheap in this area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the river :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just spent 2 nights dinner bed & breakfast ,this is my honest opinion of the hotel ,firstly the room 17,very large,warm & cosy with a huge bed everything you want in a room , loved the hotel pool & sauna & always towels which was great ,only downside of the spa was it was fully booked ( they do advise to book in advance) I would have loved a treatment so lesson for the future ,we did not see many guests so I think the spa may be used by locals as is the pool .
Food was lovely & staff on the whole very good but I think some were new so when they settle in they will be fine ,we did not mind the treck to our room ,just drove up after we checked in & had no reason to return to reception until check out , beware though the road has taken a battering with the weather ( pot holes ) ,we would love to return in the better weather so my partner can play golf & I will book treatments ,thank you to all the staff we had a lovely time ,Kathleen & Iain

Room Tip: Room 17 very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I think is this hotel had some money spent on it referbishing the badly crumbling walls in the bedroom and a more inviting reception. This hotel would become a five star. From my experience the staff didn't listen to your order and forgot something's. Great location but just needs some money spent and better training of staff.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Blake R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langbank hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014


When we arrived at the hotel the reception staff were very friendly. Our bedroom was very large with a seperate lounge and large bathroom with free standing bath. Unfortunately the room was filthy with thick dust everywhere. This continued throughout the hotel!.

Our first two courses for dinner were actually very pleasant.....which is more than I can say for the foul cursing being heard coming from the kitchen and bar staff!. Our final course of biscuits and cheese which we shared left us horrified when after working through half of it we discovered a dead eight legged creature which was rather large, under the cheese and grapes! After nearly vomiting and complaining, we were left for 20 mins until the assistant manager??? Came and told us it looked like a spider but the chef didn't want to come out and apologise because he was too busy.!

In the morning breakfast was awfull due to the filthy teapots and cups. On check out the restaurant staff had still expected us to pay for our food but kindly didn't charge us for the cheese and biscuits! We were appauled they wanted us to pay for any food...which we didn't in the end.

Stay clear of this hotel. I'm sure environmental health would have a field day here!.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathtommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Stopped for one night and that was enough, the room was a bit shabby this time as I had stopped before and it was ok then.

The food is great but pricey.

Ok if you are into golf or just one night, there is a lot better near by.

The views are stunning but watch the pot holes on the road up to the hotel, you could lose a small car in some if them

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank R0d_Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langbank
6.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
4.1 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
2.1 mi away
Ingliston Country Club
Ingliston Country Club
#2 of 3 in Bishopton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
13.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
11.3 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf

Property: Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
Address: Old Greenock Road, Langbank PA14 6YE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Langbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf and its 360 acres estate was once the home of the shipping baron, Sir William Lithgow. It is an ideal base from which to explore Scotland's famous sites and attractions and is uniquely situated for Glasgow International Airport and Glasgow city centre. Gleddoch takes you away from the bustle of the city with breathtaking panoramic views of the Clyde Estuary and Renfrewshire hills. The property boasts 70 bedrooms including Executive rooms, junior suites and suites. VISTA restaurant and The Nineteenth bar provide all-day bar and dining facilities whilst the Kilpatrick lounge offers a place to relax with an outdoor terrace giving stunning views of the Clyde and surrounding area. The onsite Imperia Spa boasts a 17m indoor pool, steam room, sauna, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, conservatory, relaxation room, hair & nail salon and six treatment rooms offering a full range of Elemis and ishga treatments. Gleddoch also offers an 18-hole golf course that has dramatic views across the River Clyde to Ben Lomond. We consistently strive to not only meet but to exceed your expectations in delivering a first class service and invite you to sample our welcoming hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Langbank
Gleddoch House Hotel
Gleddoch Hotel Langbank
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf Langbank, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing