We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Get away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langbank
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Gleddoch House golf and spa club is a great wee get away. It has 2 great walks to choose from as well as very clean swimming pool and gymnasium. The hotel its self is like a maze. Trying to get to the rooms from the reception is a bit of a distance but fun trying to get there. You can either go outside and walk up the hill or walk through corridors after corridors and some stairs to get to the rooms and leisure facilities.

Overall its a fantastic hotel and staff will go out there way to help.

The hotel is located away from the train station and the shops. I had to phone for a taxi to get from the train station to the hotel and it cost between £4 and £6. you could walk if u wanted 15 minutes up a hill with no paths. Its a narrow road. The view from the hotel is amazing.

Room Tip: The rooms up near the leisure facilities and restaurant gives the best view of the River Clyde and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol-Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    340
    226
    152
    100
See reviews for
254
465
28
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gourock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and I used our groupon voucher for an overnight stay with breakfast and had a lovely time the views were stunning and room nice! However when we eventually found our room round the maize of corridors we entered our room and the bed sheets had 3 big very obvious black marks on them, I don't doubt they were clean but this is not acceptable! The maid should step back when leaving rooms and think "am I happy with my work here" I would not have big marks on my sheets at home and certainly do not appreciate it when staying in a hotel! These sheets should be put in the bin and never used! Also when going for a shower the shower head kept falling forward into the wall and I had to keep lifting it back up (annoying) And we ran out of the little bit of toilet roll as well that we were left!
I went to make a cup of tea with the stuff left for us and there was a half eaten biscuit in an open packet for us which made me sick! Either leave unopen packs or just don't leave them at all!
I read reviews before I went to this hotel and thought ignore it and enjoy, I have never written a review before and I have stayed in loads of hotels! But I just feel I was let down on this!
Also the pool and sauna, I read the reviews of it needing upgrading my god they were not wrong the smell in the sauna room made me vomit it was so damp!
On a good note....we enjoyed our time away and would stay again! Breakfast was lovely and staff were very attentive, although another point to make which is not acceptable is the dishes we were served our beans in and tea cup were chipped! Infection control.....
Please Gleddoch House get your house staff a good talking to and educate them on cleanliness! And infection risks! Would they like a half eaten biscuit, drink out of chipped cups, sleep in white sheets with big black marks???? This should not have happened overlooked or not!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dapajaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll & Bute
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I had booked Sunday lunch for myself & my Mum via the Groupon Voucher & was a bit dubious after reading some of the reviews but was very pleasantly surprised.

On arrival the views over the Clyde were beautiful & plenty of parking available. By the looks of it the 'potholled' drive had been filled in a bit which I was thankfull for! We went into the main reception area & were told the 2 routes to the resturant, drive round the corner to the leisure club enterance & enter there or work up an appetite climbing up the many stairs to the resturant....we chose the latter & there are alot of stairs & it is abit like the Crystal Maze but it gave us a good wee nosey round the hotel!
The resturant was busy but although we were half an hour early for our table we were seated straight away.
The view from the resurant over the golf course & down the drive again were lovely & I found the table & cutlery etc clean & nicely set out. My mum chose the Steak Pie which was full of steak & she found it delicious. I chose the roast which was ham & equally as nice. We both had cheesecake for dessert & again it was lovely & tasted homemade (alot of hotels do bulk buy there desserts!)
The staff were nice, helpfull, knowedgeable and always on hand if you needed anything. The manager also took time to come over & ask how our meal was & have a quick chat about how the place was doing.
We never used the Spa facilities but we will be back so will try them then. All in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiestagirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. Check in quick and easy. Were told our room was in the leisure section of the hotel, so took the long walk through all the corridors and up several stairs to get there. We brought the car around later on which we parked just outside out room.
Our room was large with a verandah overlooking the golf course. The bed was huge and comfortable. Ironing board, iron, hair dryer and tea and coffee facilities all in room. However, negatives about the room were the soundproofing, you could hear next door as clear as day. Attention needs paying to the cleaning around door sills leading to verandah, toilet roll holder thick with dust, shower holder hanging off wall, curtains not the cleanest!! Would also be nice to have a small fridge in room.
The restaurant was ok, we ate in there our first night and had breakfast both days. Pleasant albeit the service quite slow.
We didn't use the pool, but from looking at it it looks like it could do with a bit of a facelift, which brings me on to the rest of the hotel.
This place has potential to be outstanding. A lick of paint, some nice landscaping, a few more communal areas/bars. We had a walk around the grounds to find old patio heaters lying against a wall, cable coming out of gravel. They really really could make this place beautiful with a bit of TLC.
The location is good for loch Lomand and Glasgow City centre.
All in all wouldn't really stay here again in its current state. I am very well travelled and have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels. In its present state I would only just rate this as a 3 star.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank trollydolly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Superior room I had booked was superb value, I've had smaller suits at over 3 times the cost, furniture style in keeping with the building though not scruffy or tired. Large comfy bed, sofa chairs etc. modern bathroom and tv's

Overall the hotel looks visually good and it would be a nice stroll through the grounds had the weather been kinder.

However the layout is not the greatest with a bit of a maze from rooms to bar / restaurant, with lots of stairs.

Lastly although the hotel was quiet and I arrived too late to eat in the restaurant (closes at 9.30) which looked pretty nice, I was disappointed that no hot food was available at the bar and the bar area itself id say was more suited to a few pints after a round of golf with mates than a nice place for hotel guests to relax.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusymanGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We visited this hotel for an overnight stay. On arrival at the restaurant, my first impression was that it was not as I expected. Having visited this hotel on business visits a few years ago it certainly was not the same standard. Road to hotel in dreadful condition. Having said that the room was very comfortable and the food was excellent. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Voucher deal for leisure access and 3 course lunch. Fantastic value.

Location convenient although I agree the potholed road is a bit dodgy, moreso if you arrived in the dark.

Lovely grounds and golf course (played here before).

Staff at reception lovely. Walked up to the leisure area. Changing rooms could do with a bit more of a clean and new lockers. Very small for a normal gym bag. Machines and gym area good enough for a workout. Might get warm if there are lots of people in.

Went down to the pool area. Excellent. Spacious with a good sauna and steam room. Showers outside the changing rooms a little unusual but safe enough.

Went for lunch in a packed restaurant. Lovely views over our majestic countryside.

Food wonderful. Had the same as the previous reviewer. Sticky toffee pudding and cheesecake lovely. Value incredible. Full price would worry me.

Staff excellent and attentive and a buzzing restaurant. Ambience just right.

A few more touches of quality in the gym area and a cheaper standard menu would hit the mark. Would return on a voucher deal.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GBCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langbank
4.1 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
6.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
2.2 mi away
Ingliston Country Club
Ingliston Country Club
#2 of 3 in Bishopton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
19.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf

Property: Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
Address: Old Greenock Road, Langbank PA14 6YE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Langbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf and its 360 acres estate was once the home of the shipping baron, Sir William Lithgow. It is an ideal base from which to explore Scotland's famous sites and attractions and is uniquely situated for Glasgow International Airport and Glasgow city centre. Gleddoch takes you away from the bustle of the city with breathtaking panoramic views of the Clyde Estuary and Renfrewshire hills. The property boasts 70 bedrooms including Executive rooms, junior suites and suites. VISTA restaurant and The Nineteenth bar provide all-day bar and dining facilities whilst the Kilpatrick lounge offers a place to relax with an outdoor terrace giving stunning views of the Clyde and surrounding area. The onsite Imperia Spa boasts a 17m indoor pool, steam room, sauna, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, conservatory, relaxation room, hair & nail salon and six treatment rooms offering a full range of Elemis and ishga treatments. Gleddoch also offers an 18-hole golf course that has dramatic views across the River Clyde to Ben Lomond. We consistently strive to not only meet but to exceed your expectations in delivering a first class service and invite you to sample our welcoming hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Langbank
Gleddoch House Hotel
Gleddoch Hotel Langbank
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf Langbank, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing