We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend away !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langbank
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great weekend away !”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary and were very pleased with our stay. The staff were very attentive and asked us if we would like a reservation in the restaurant and also take our bags. We felt like royalty! When entering our room we were surprised at how big the bed was. It was a king and we loved it - so much space to stretch! The bathroom was also very nice and the room was very clean. The room in general had an old fashioned look to it but apart from this we had a great sleep and enjoyed our first long lie in weeks. We made reservation for the Ingliston centre about 10 minutes away by car and we asked the receptionist to book it for us. The taxi did take about 25-30 minutes to arrive, however the receptionist did call them back asking how long the taxi would take. We didn't ask him to call the taxi rank back and we felt that it was a nice touch. I didn't take note of the receptionist name but he was very polite and friendly. We did miss our reservation by about 15 minutes, however I had a 3 course meal to make up for it and our night was not spoiled. Be aware of the squeaky floor boards!! I had a look at the breakfast menu and it did seem quite pricey but there is a good variety of meals. I would stay here again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gckc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GleddochHouse, General Manager at Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for such a pleasant review and I will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to Paul who was at reception.

We at Gleddoch look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Alistair Naismith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    370
    241
    158
    112
See reviews for
279
521
29
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

A lovely golf resort with a stunning bay view . Suitable for golf lovers , we had a dinner on the restaurant facing the golf fields , we end up paying £65 for a Bottle of wine 2 mains , 2 deserts. Food was lovely . Staff was polite and operative .Will be back .

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Britania1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GleddochHouse, General Manager at Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest

I thoroughly enjoyed reading your review and we as a team at Gleddoch House Hotel look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Many thanks.

Alistair Naismith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I booked an overnight stay with spa treatments for myself, my daughter and granddaughter as a treat for her 18th birthday. Like others I was rather apprehensive after seeing some of the reviews. I could not agree with them. We had a lovely clean family room with spectacular views over the Clyde. The room was well equipped with hairdryer etc and even an iron and ironing board which normally need to be requested The spa treatments were excellent and we enjoyed our swim too. The food was delicious. The staff throughout the hotel were helpful and friendly. Value for money was exceptional - we paid £45 each for bed, breakfast and a spa treatment each! The only downside was that the beds were not as comfortable as they might have been, but this is a small niggle and did not detract from our stay. Many thanks. We will be back and will recommend the hotel to our friends.
Margaret Samuel

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Clyde have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 181Margaret181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GleddochHouse, General Manager at Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for such a terrific review which I enjoyed reading and sharing with my team.

Alistair Naismith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, UK
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hotel is in a beautiful location, and the room was very spacious and comfortable. The evening meal was not that great but quite frankly, none of the other meals we had in other places or restaurants were either. Actually, I ordered the haddock risotto and that was fantastic, but my daughter had the fish and chips (the fish was not very tasty and the crust was soggy) and my husband had the steak and ale pie which was great but it came with vegetables that tasted of fish, according to my husband. My son had the macaroni and cheese, and that was very good as well. So even the evening meal was not bad, actually. The highlight was the swimming pool and the sauna - that was luxury!. Now, the breakfast, included in the price, was AMAZING. We payed £85 for the night and had the most amazing breakfast EVER. Compared to the other places we stayed, it was incredible value for money!!!!

The room was great…. spacious, nice and comfortable beds. Nice view from the room, overlooking the golf course….

Room Tip: The family room is great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GleddochHouse, General Manager at Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for a great review and I am delighted that you all enjoyed yourselves at the Gleddoch House Hotel.

Alistair Naismith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nts on a d,b&b with golf. Hotel is in a beautiful location, with stunning views of the River Clyde.
Now for the negative points :-
1/ Hotel is " very shabby ", badly in need of MASSIVE T.L.C.
2/ On 1st night, my lentil soup contained a large piece of cling film, the young waiter apologised & my friend & I received a complimentary pint of FLAT lager ( the bar area adjacent to the restaurant is a shambles )
3/ Next evening, the "soup of the day" was again lentil, ( without the cling film )

Golf course is on a par with the hotel, tired & in need of proper course management. The round of golf was ruined by a 4 ball several holes ahead, constantly holding up other golfers, due to their Pathetically SLOW play. In spite of many signs telling golfers to "keep up with the group in front", by the 13th tee, there were no other players thro to the 18th green.
We later found out the 4 "golfers" were the Club Captain & 3 friends !!!!!!!!!!!
The next day we checked out, without even playing another round.

To sum up, avoid this hotel / golf course.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tartanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GleddochHouse, General Manager at Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest

I have discussed your experience in depth with my F&B team and forwarded your comments regarding the golf course to the Golf Director for his and the golf commitee's consideration.

Many thanks for your review.

Alistair Naismith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langbank hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Was treated to an afternoon tea and spa treatment at Gleddoch House this week. Have to say I was pretty shocked as I always thought this was termed a luxury venue. The decor is tired and dirty and I hate to say it but the place doesn't smell that fresh. Lots of dust on lamps and tables etc. The Spa on the other hand was superb despite being housed in this dated establishment. Staff in the Spa were fabulous and I'd defo go back for some treatments...I'd just miss out the Hotel experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delightednumber7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GleddochHouse, General Manager at Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and I have taken note of your comments.

Alistair Naismith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel got rooms one overlooking the golf course and one had a sea view.Dinner at the restaurant had a good choice food was lovely, breakfast more than ample. Pool looked great. Had a good sleep apart from the fire alarm in the wee small hours would have been nice if the staff had checked if we were ok or at least mentioned it the next day apart from that enjoyed the stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GleddochHouse, General Manager at Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your kind comments.

I have taken on board your observations regarding the fire alarm activation for any future incidents.

Alistair Naismith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langbank
6.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
4.1 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
2.1 mi away
Ingliston Country Club
Ingliston Country Club
#2 of 3 in Bishopton
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
13.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
6.2 mi away
Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf

Property: Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
Address: Old Greenock Road, Langbank PA14 6YE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Langbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf and its 360 acres estate was once the home of the shipping baron, Sir William Lithgow. It is an ideal base from which to explore Scotland's famous sites and attractions and is uniquely situated for Glasgow International Airport and Glasgow city centre. Gleddoch takes you away from the bustle of the city with breathtaking panoramic views of the Clyde Estuary and Renfrewshire hills. The property boasts 70 bedrooms including Executive rooms, junior suites and suites. VISTA restaurant and The Nineteenth bar provide all-day bar and dining facilities whilst the Kilpatrick lounge offers a place to relax with an outdoor terrace giving stunning views of the Clyde and surrounding area. The onsite Imperia Spa boasts a 17m indoor pool, steam room, sauna, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, conservatory, relaxation room, hair & nail salon and six treatment rooms offering a full range of Elemis and ishga treatments. Gleddoch also offers an 18-hole golf course that has dramatic views across the River Clyde to Ben Lomond. We consistently strive to not only meet but to exceed your expectations in delivering a first class service and invite you to sample our welcoming hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Langbank
Gleddoch House Hotel
Gleddoch Hotel Langbank
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf Langbank, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing