We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down and dirty”
Review of Scole Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scole Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scole
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It's a shame that a beautiful building has not been maintained it has so much potential. We stayed in room 8 it had dirty windows dirty carpets the mattress was so old there was a duvet cover to cushion the springs, the curtains were coming off the runners the decor is soooo dated and the shower in the bathroom was cold and trickled out.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mtr2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

ideally located not too far from main centres. staff were very helpful food was freshly cooked and very tasty. nice peaceful setting rooms clean and tidy. parking facilities are very good and free . room we were given was out in converted barn at back of the hotel so no traffic noise . if revisit this area then would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delboy208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I've stayed a few times at the Scole Inn, the staff are friendly, the main building is a fantastic trip back in history, you almost think the London to York stage coach and 6 horses is going to arrive at any moment.
Lovely roaring open fires in the winter and traditional 'pub grub'

The stable lodges are a bit disappointing, so if you do stay, be sure to request a room in the main building.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at the Scole Inn at the weekend while visiting friends in the area. Although we have stayed at the Scole Inn many times in the past, we have never thought to review it before now!

We were given "Emma's Room" which is our favourite - that was a great start! We did not spend long in the hotel, as we were going out for a meal in the evening but the time we spent there was enjoyable, as always. The furniture is all antique, in fitting with this 17th century coaching inn. The bedroom was comfortable with a good sized bathroom, although both could have done with a little updating. However, this did not hinder our enjoyment of the lovely atmosphere at the hotel. The staff are always welcoming and friendly; the car park is ample and the breakfast is superb - you would certainly never leave the hotel hungry!

We understand that the owners (Oxford Inns), have put the Scole Inn up for sale - let's hope that the buyer maintains the traditional qualities of the hotel, while updating the necessary parts - that would definitely be a winning combination!

Room Tip: The four poster rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valandkarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

First impression, shabby on outside, ample parking, quiet location (we did ask for quiet room). My partner said more plug points needed re lap top, bad area for internet, we did manage to get on some of the time, no great hardship thou. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had value for money, the breakfast was good, we ate in the evening a couple of times and that was good value for money. The room, number 7, was a very generous size. The main complaint being generally shabby, carpets, needs decorating and a good clean. Large en-suite, our room was actually on a slant ( not good after a drink) lol, a suppose due to the aged building. Will hopefully be going back.

Room Tip: Room 7 was very spacious, but on a slant, due to aged building. Was on top floor, so lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

What a wonderful old inn, wonky floor boards and priest holes but clean and comfortable.
Good breakfast and helpful staff would definitely go back. Very handy for the many sights of Norfolk. Plenty of parking and although a pub it was amazingly quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggymay1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel does need a lick of paint and some minor attention yet it all adds to the charm and majesty of the place. We've had an amazing stay there and enjoyed brilliant service and excellent locally sourced food. It was good enough for Charles II and Lord Nelson and after 460 years, it was more than good enough for us. Our two year old loved the huge room and his own bed and we will be going back again and again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scole
1.8 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
243 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
J.D.Young
J.D.Young
#1 of 1 in Harleston
101 reviews
15.2 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,837 reviews
2.2 mi away
Diss by Verve
Diss by Verve
#1 of 1 in Scole
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scole Inn

Address: The Street, Scole, Diss IP21 4DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Diss > Scole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scole
Price Range: £63 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to the Scole Inn will be sharing in the company of both kings and thieves, as this 17th Century former coaching inn has provided lodgings for King Charles II and the highwayman John Belcher. With fantastic fireplaces and a staircase that was hand-carved in the 1600s, Scole Inn offers guests a choice of 24 en suite rooms, some with four poster beds and twelve of which have working open fireplaces. During your stay our staff will be attentive to any requests you may have, allowing you to simply relax, unwind and enjoy your break. Currently closed for renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Scole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scole Hotel Diss
Scole Inn Diss, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing