We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, shame about the staff...”
Review of Scole Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scole Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scole
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place, shame about the staff...”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

The building itself is lovely, nice rooms and some nice beers on. The room was clean and the bed was fantastic. The staff however seem to be lacking any trace of soul or emotion. No smiles and a thick air of depression to the place. Even when finding the master keys to the building in our lock (meaning anyone could have accessed our room and possessions while we were out) I returned them to a member of staff who took them and walked away. Not even an apology or even a thank you for returning them.
The walls are also exceptionally thin so the second your neighbours are up, so sre you.

A nice place that would be great if run by staff with emotions other than depression.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    97
    69
    58
    59
See reviews for
47
162
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here 4 times now, each time in one if the 'haunted' rooms (try Emma's room, sleepless night in there)

The staff are always friendly, in fact we buy them a drink for being at our beck and call for the evening.


Ok, some of the decor is a little drab but what do you expect, the place is ancient, want modern hotel with wifi etc then find a Premier inn!


Am looking to go back again at the end of this month.

Love, love, love this place.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LisaH0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Reasonable stay in hot conditions due to weather but I felt staff were indifferent and didn't go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Didn't ask if we enjoyed stay or not.
The wifi signal was very poor and internet was pretty much impossible and the TV couldn't receive the main terrestrial channels at all little niggles I know but took the edge of otherwise enjoyable experience. Some attention to stained carpets needed also.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Scole Inn is the most beautiful period building in a brilliant position. Spacious car park off-road and an inexpensive room rate. Clearly in its day it was a very special place. My stay was comfortable and the staff made up for the very tired interior. The room was spacious but there was a great deal of eighties style velour going on and the four poster bed mattress had seen better days. The shower was little more than a dribble. Breakfast was fair, cooked quickly to order and with very pleasant service. I might have been more disappointed in the whole experiences if the staff hadn't gone out of their way to make me welcome. This is the sort of building that demands millions spent on it for a total refurb, until then the sunny disposition of the staff had to try to make up for many years of neglect.

Room Tip: Speak to loved ones before you arrive, there is little mobile phone reception and no wi fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed in courtyard room that was perfect for my one night stay. Obviously recently decorated and with all the bits you would expect. The main building has buckets of olde worlde charm, bar meal was excellent and the staff were really friendly. Yes it's a bit flaky round the edges but it is large, listed and 500-odd years old. If you want a white pristine box go to a Travelodge - ironically it will probably cost you more as this place is also extremely reasonably priced. Inns like this are becoming rarer every day and they need support.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank VikingDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S E ENGLAND
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Such a shame. A beautiful and historic building sadly in need of a refurb and some TLC. Staff were ok as was the service. The food was surprisingly good and reasonable priced. But the whole place just seems tired and uncared for. There was free wi-fi but only in the public rooms and signal very bad in bedrooms. Could not even get 3G

Room Tip: Not sure about the good rooms. But don't take room 12. It is directly above the kitchen so food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOLIDAYGIRL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just had the most wonderful meal here. I would highly recommend a visit. Staff very friendly and helpful. Chef is brilliant. The bar area is oldie worldy with huge fireplace, bet this would be perfect on a cold winters evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 555Buzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scole
1.8 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wigton
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,599 reviews
6.5 mi away
J.D.Young
J.D.Young
#1 of 1 in Harleston
92 reviews
5.8 mi away
Strenneth
Strenneth
#1 of 1 in Fersfield
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scole Inn

Property: Scole Inn
Address: The Street, Scole, Diss IP21 4DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Diss > Scole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Scole Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to the Scole Inn will be sharing in the company of both kings and thieves, as this 17th Century former coaching inn has provided lodgings for King Charles II and the highwayman John Belcher. With fantastic fireplaces and a staircase that was hand-carved in the 1600s, Scole Inn offers guests a choice of 24 en suite rooms, some with four poster beds and twelve of which have working open fireplaces. During your stay our staff will be attentive to any requests you may have, allowing you to simply relax, unwind and enjoy your break. Currently closed for renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scole Hotel Diss
Scole Inn Diss, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing