We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place near Nairobi with bags of charm and...”

Review of Manyika house

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Thika, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Charlotte...
Nairobi Region, Kenya
1 review
“Great place near Nairobi with bags of charm and entertainment for all ages”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a great weekend and would recommend Manyika house to anyone seeking a getaway from Nairobi. We loved that it was so close and easy to reach.

Joel was an excellent host and very good cook. He didn't seem at all fazed about being presented with a diverse menu and produced delicious meals. He was attentive and discreet throughout our stay. The young children adored the play area with a playhouse on stilts, slide and tranmpoline. The grounds were delightful for relaxing and we enjoyed watching the sheep and hens going about their business.

Pity we didn't bring our golf clubs as there looked to be a brand new course nearby but we will know for next time

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marise201...
Nairobi Region, Kenya
1 review
“Manyika house, what a beautiful and peaceful place”
Reviewed 16 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

In March and November 2015 I have been to Manyika house for a silent retreat arranged by Eva Drager. It is a lovely house with a beautiful garden, great food and the staff is very friendly. I found a lot of peace and rest there and would love to join the retreat for the third time.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deeputitc...
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lots of potential but lots of work needed too”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

First off, the house itself and the grounds are beautiful with bags of potential, IF managed well.

We were travelling with family and unfortunately were very disappointed. For a house that markets itself as a place that children would love to be around animals, the dogs were poorly cared for, covered in fleas, losing hair due to skin diseases and the 3 week old rabbits had fleas jumping on them with the litter tray in the rabbit hutch not having been changed for weeks. In the UK, the RSPCA would have been called out immediately.

On our arrival, we had to ask for the fridges to be cleaned before we could put our food inside. The shelves were covered in blood from meat and there was lots of uncovered, left over food in there. We were a group of vegetarians, so needless to say, seeing blood on fridge shelves is not the warmest welcome!
Shelves in the kitchen were covered in a layer of sticky grease and grime from not being wiped regularly. We had to wash each glass before we used it as they are placed rim down on the icky shelf.

Being the warm season, mosquitoes were out in their masses. Nothing can be done about that. However, when every single mosquito net in the house is riddled with holes and you spend half the night killing mosquitoes which have found their way into your net, added to being completely covered in bites, it does not make for a restful night's sleep!

Hot water for showers is erratic, on one of our nights, only 2 out of 7 of us managed to have showers.

The owner's response to these issues was that we were the last of a line of guests in their busy season, which is why everything seemed to be in a state of neglect. As a peak rate paying customer, it's just not a satisfactory response. If you are prepared to rent out the property knowing it has been a busy time, then be prepared and do it right.... Do not give excuses after the event.
She did offer me a discount on my next visit. However, after the experience we had, and especially seeing our children so upset about the animals being in such a bad state, the chances of us going back or recommending the house to friends are pretty slim. Especially when there are literally hundreds of holiday homes to choose from in Kenya.

What a shame.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2016
Dear Deepali, thank you for your review and it?s good to hear that you thought Manyika house and its grounds are beautiful. I?m sorry, and a bit surprised, to hear that despite this, you experienced your stay as disappointing. I am aware that some mosquito nets need replacement, which will be done within the next months and I also know there is a problem with hot water sometimes as our back-up generator doesn?t support things like water heaters and ovens. Unfortunately the power cuts of KPLC are something that are out of our control and part of life in Kenya. Your other complaints about a dirty fridge, sticky shelves and neglected animals are new to me and have never been raised before by other guests, including the feedback I received from guests staying in the house right before and after you. Therefore, to state that ?everything seemed to be in a state of neglect? is neither a true nor a fair reflection of the actual situation as I?m sure that if that would have been the case, it would have come up in our other reviews as well. I guess that the way guests experience their stay really depends on what they choose to focus on. Do you concentrate on details that don?t meet your expectations and allow them to overshadow everything else, or can you see the bigger picture, like the wonderful setting and amazing garden, the beautiful house and friendly staff? Unfortunately I think you chose to focus on the first which, in my opinion, doesn?t do justice both to Manyika and to yourself. In any case, your feedback has been noted and followed up with the staff and I wish you happy and satisfying travels in Kenya!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Quick weekend getaway”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I was surprised at how close this place was to Nairobi. I'm used to spending hours in the car for weekend escapes, but this place is only 45 mins away. That's very important to me because I do the driving and high speed driving usually kills the whole holiday vibe thing. However, getting to this place is safe and simple - it's double lane and divided the whole way.

Once you're there everything is easy. Playground, farm animals, and plenty of space for the kids. Great chef, beautiful sitting room and lots of fresh air for the adults.

Been here for two years and it's my pick thus far for the quick weekend getaway.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Thanks Matt, for your review! I also love how conveniently Manyika is located for a quick escape of city life. Hope to welcome you back at Manyika soon. Warm regards, Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlies80
netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to relax and enjoy the coffee fields”
Reviewed 8 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with a large group of 15! Although a bit crowded, we could make it fit! The staff is very helpfull and prepared our food lovely. We did a guided walk around the coffee fields which was very much appreciated. Would definately come back again to stay more than 1 night only. Perfect place for a weekend away from the city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and view
Liked least: the power cut
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2016
Thanks for your review Marlies! Hope to see you back for a longer visit in 2016!
Warm regards,
Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nettie v
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Peaceful colonial house with lovely garden: a great place to be!”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I visited Manyika house twice last year, in march for a silent retreat and in december with two family's (4 adults and 5 children aged 5-13 years) for the weekend. Both stays were just fabulous: the house is beautiful, spacious and cosy with a nice fireplace; the place is very much suitable for both occassions. The authentic, colonial style of the house feels like being back to the thirties, however, facilities are up to date. We all enjoyed the hugh garden with trampoline, the little bikes, domestic animals and quiet seating and we walked around the coffee plantation with John, the gardener, with beautiful sceneries. Both Joel, the caretaker and cook, and John are very friendly and just avalaible when needed. The food was very nice too. Overall, Manyika house and surroundings make you feel like being far away, but also at home, in just a second!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2016
Dear Nettie, thank you so much for your wonderful review! John really enjoyed showing you the coffee plantation :-). You are always welcome at Manyika house!
Warm regards,
Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura K
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“An ideal escape”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Manyika House is an ideal escape from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi. The grounds are lovely – gorgeous vegetation, a child-friendly play area and fun,farm animals meandering about. The accommodation is charming, spacious, and filled with wonderful lounge areas to cozy up into. The staff is attentive and responsive, and Chef Joel should not be missed, especially his Swahili style curry. We highly recommend staying here and already look forward to our next visit! Thank you Eva and team.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
You are very welcome Laura! And thank YOU for your review ;-). It will be great to have you back as our guests in February or March.
Warm regards,
Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing