We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for exploring Ordesa National Park” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Abetos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Abetos
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Torla
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring Ordesa National Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife, 14 year old son and I stayed in Hotel Abetos for 4 nights as a base for exploring the Ordesa National Park. The hotel is stone built (in keeping with the local style) and situated in a tremendously scenic setting with stunning views of the mountains. On booking I would highly recommend requesting a room with a mountain view to truly capitalise on this. The hotel is quite rustic and clearly geared to people who are visiting and hiking in the national park and our rooms were large, clean, comfortable, spacious with free efficient WiFi and really excellent value. Overall, the service was welcoming, friendly, helpful and David (who also helped with our booking) spoke good English.

The hotel has ample parking and is only a short 10 minute, well lit walk away from the village of Torla. It was actually far more preferable to stay in Abetos and walk in especially given the Hotels beautiful setting and the peaceful surrounding area. The National Park is only 10 to 15 minutes drive from Torla and in summer you have to catch a bus from the village. This was incredibly easy, the buses leaving very regular from a tourist centre (where English was spoken and the staff helpful) throughout the day. The park itself is simply stunning and possibly one of the most underrated tourist attractions I have ever visited, being similar in many aspects to Yosemite and far less commercial than the Pyrenees attractions on the French side.

We didn't have breakfast in the Hotel preferring to 'fuel' up in town shortly before catching the bus. If you are going to the Park you can also buy breakfast at the restaurant just within the Park entrance and stock up on 'take away' on Bocadillo and crisps if you're out for a longer hike. This opens at around 8:45/9am in the height of summer.

There is a very pleasant Garden in the Hotel with tables and chairs, again with the most breathtaking views. There is also a bar, but when we fancied an early evening beer often this was closed off. However, we just mentioned to reception we would like a drink in the garden and these were brought out very quickly. There were many elements of the hotel we thought the owners could capitalise on, including the bar, as I can't think of a more beautiful setting to have a 'sun downer' within the whole of Torla.

Overall, Ordesa National Park is an under rated 'gem' and I would thoroughly recommend Hotel Abetos as a comfortable, friendly and extremely beautiful base for visiting it. There are many elements of this hotel, which if focussed on a wee bit, could take the experience up another level.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Robesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    38
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
109
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Hotel Abetos is an idyllic mountain hotel. The place is like directly from a postcard - a beautiful mountain house in the midst of breathtaking mountain scenery. The rooms and public areas are perfectly kept. The service is very friendly. The breakfast, although fairly light, is more than adequate. It is no luxury resort, but everything we could wish for as a base for exploring the beauty of the Ordesa y Monte Perdido national park.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank znkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ommen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

A recomendation for everyone that want to stay in the neighbourhood. Very good rooms in a quiet setting.
Also a good recommendation if you are traveling by motorcycle.

Muy recomendable para quien necesite estadia en la zona. Habitaciones muy lindas y limpias en un lugar tranquilo.
Tambien muy recomendable si usted viaja en motocicleta.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Very nice hotel, clean, large rooms, comfortable and inexpensive. Staff was pleasant and courteous to us. Great location, walking distance to the town Torla where you can find restaurants, shops and the Ordesa National Park shuttle.
Too bad that they do not understand English, but it hardly interfered.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaplanzohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
182 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Excellent, comfortable, good value hotel, run by charming people who care if you are having a good time or not. We were delighted to return, in spite of lousy weather, and would go back again at the drop of a hat. Good breakfast, lovely views, free wi-fi, free parking, central heating to offset the May rain, and all with a smile... what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view towards the mountains, rather than overlooking the carpark!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jb5753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Have to add to all the good comments. The rooms were spotlessly clean with white linen and large fluffy towels. The staff were really friendly and accommodating. We left something behind in the hotel and it was promptly posted to us back in the UK.

No hot breakfast but a buffet to choose from and again everything very fresh.

Beautiful setting and I would certainly recommend it to anyone staying in the area. It was great value for money

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodieflozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
190 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

This hotel is located a 15 minute walk from the centre of Torla. It is surrounded by the most amazing scenery and is a good base from where to go hiking in the Pyrinees. The hotel is stone built in the style of the area. There is ample free parking, free wifi and they serve an excellent breakfast. There are, however, no dining facilities and for this you must head to the quaint nearby village. The walkway there is well lit. The lady in reception recommended us an excellent restaurant there, where we enjoyed an excellent meal.
The rooms and the bathrooms are spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scandilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torla
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ordesa
Hotel Ordesa
#3 of 4 in Torla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bujaruelo
Hotel Bujaruelo
#1 of 4 in Torla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Russell
Hotel Villa Russell
#4 of 4 in Torla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Posada
Hotel La Posada
#3 of 3 in Broto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
10.5 mi away
Parador de Bielsa
Parador de Bielsa
#1 of 3 in Bielsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
16.8 mi away
Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abetos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abetos

Property: Hotel Abetos
Address: Ctra. de Ordesa, s/n, 22376 Torla, Spain
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Huesca > Torla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Torla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abetos 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Abetos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abetos Hotel Huesca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing