We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“400yr Hotel with real character.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Chirk B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“400yr Hotel with real character.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Traveled with my partner from plymouth to the village of chirk to look at a new business venture and stayed at the hand hotel for a few days. After seeing the last few comments on tripadvisor what these people are exspecting from a 400yr old coaching hotel is beyond us.The staff in the hotel are very friendly,polite, and helpful as welsh village people are. Our room was clean and tidy overlooking the garden area albeit not the ritz but we where not paying there prices.The restaurant food was very good the sunday lunch starter of bleu cheese and red onion marmalade cheesecake was to die for as was the main meal and the lemon drizzle cake yummmmmmy.
The bar lounge area is very pleasant in the evenings we actually talked to michael bubles auntie who was on her way to manchester to his concert.To sum up we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lordraymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    68
    35
    20
    18
See reviews for
42
68
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night (thankfully) at the beginning of February. Looked fine on the website but what a disappointment. Check in was smooth and reception staff were friendly.
If you are given the keys for room 4 on arrival DO NOT accept.
The room is very small, the window rattles all night and the bathroom is dirty and dated. The view from the afore mentioned window is of a brick wall and if you look down from the wall its a dumping ground for twisted step ladders, old laminate flooring and general waste.
There are tea and coffee making facilities and the smallest lcd tv I have ever seen.
The bar shuts at midnight and even though we argued we were residents, our pleas fell on deaf ears.We were allowed to buy a few bottles of the local brew before the shutters were pulled and all the staff left the premises. There was no member of staff seen until breakfast next morning.
The only redeeming factors for this hotel was the breakfast., nicely cooked and plenty of it and the bed was comfortable but at £65 a night we wont be going back.
To sum up, a basic, dated, tired, overpriced "hotel"

Room Tip: do not accept room number 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank uny1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handchirk, Owner at The Hand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for your comments and im sorry you feel you had a bad stay with us.....as you would have noted the Hand Hotel is a 400 yr old coaching inn so we do not profess to be a modern chic boutique hotel..we have slowly but surely been renovating all our rooms but unfortunately room 4 is on the "to do list".....that was the only double room available that evening and appreciate you were not happy with the view but to be fair to the hotel although most of our rooms have lovely views across the town and beyond to the Berwyn mountains we do not advertise as panoramic or sea views!!!..I myself have stayed in some wonderful hotels around the world but most if not all have some rooms overlooking a yard or service entrance at the rear of the hotel.. I dispute your claim on the room being dirty it was not ,it may look a bit "tired" but not dirty....I also note your photos concentrate on your negative views not on the parts of the hotel that are completely different to how you portray it....your points have been noted and "if" you were to revisit you will see that room 4 has been upgraded to a higher standard
regards
paul rogers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chirk hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

booked 2 rooms an the brewery suite for our daughters christening . We was told we could get in the brewery suite to decorate room at 12pm as christening was at 3pm we had to wait for the room to be hooverd an tables moved an.cloths put on.them before we could decorate it. once we had finished went to.our room which was filthy sink an shower had reminants of previous ocupiers .. we had to get them.to re clean before we could use them .still was unclean 2nd time round but we didnt have time to wait we was even late for our daughters christenin because of all the hassle .very disapointed even now as it spoilt wot should of bin a gud day

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kiora24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I have already put a review on for this hotel as we had lunch their, but we actually also ended up having our wedding at The Hand Hotel last year at relatively short notice as weddings go as another local venue was messing us around.

I would like to say that if you are thinking of having a wedding there - You won't be disappointed!!!!

The staff are fabulous, nothing is too much trouble. The food was amazing both for the wedding and in general, as our wedding party was there for 2 nights we had evening meal and breakfasts there and to top it off it wasn't expensive. There is an Indian across the road were the groom and a few others disappeared to the night before, which was great and they said it was fab food and had a great time.

The rooms are nice, a few of the beds had lumpy mattress as couple of the guests pointed out but I know that the hotel is in the process are renewing and re-decorating room by room because this an old hotel, got to say it has a lovely charm and plenty of character.

My guests were also pleased that the drinks behind the bar were 'pub prices' and left with money in the pockets as they had expected to get fleeced as it was a wedding.

We had the ceremony in the Regency Suite and the rest of the day in the Brewery Suite as it has a large dedicated bar and leads into the garden. Though if you are expecting to use the garden for your day make sure you ask for it exclusively so's not to get any locals mixing with your guests.

Room rates were more than acceptable as what people paid for 2 nights for our wedding they had paid not far off that for 1 night at another wedding a few months earlier. Only down side was that I couldn't get enough rooms for all the guests and this hotel isn't huge, but the was an option to stay at another local hotel which was only 5-10mins away by taxi which the reception were happy to pre order for my guests should they require a lift to that hotel. They didn't want to take deposits for all the rooms and that made it far easier for the guests as they just paid the morning after the wedding and didn't need to give us any money or vise versa for deposits.

If you are thinking of having a wedding in the local area, this hotel is a definite one to short list and pay a visit too. I felt completely at ease and knew that they had it all under control, they even arranged a bouncy castle for us for the kids in the garden and got us a great price for it.

Room Tip: Room 11 - Bridal Suite is lovely and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0line_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handchirk, Owner at The Hand Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
thank you for the lovely comments, im pleased you enjoyed your time with us and hope that we see you again at the hotel soon
regards
Paul Rogers
director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

we had a lovely meal here with my carer we both enjoyed it very good service we didn't wait for long very good waiter service I would recommend the hand hotel chirk we also had pudding everything was no problem excellent there was plenty on the early bird menu

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlr79@aol.com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Hand Hotel offers an unusual stay for those seeking the peace of the Welsh countryside. Under extensive renovation, the hotel offers a great range of accommodation. We stayed in The Flat, which was spacious and comfortable, clean and offered a good environment for three adults. Although unfinished, the room was clean.

The meals were very generous in size and imaginative and tasty. Staff were warm and welcoming.

We would definitely recommend this old inn to anyone who is prepared to be a little flexible.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon,UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Called in here for lunch during our recent canal boat holiday. Whilst our food was very good, top marks must go to the service. One lady was running the bar and serving all the food for a busy dining room. She was always smiling and bustling around to make sure everyone was attended to. Chirk is a lovely little place too!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank silvertonsiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chirk
1.4 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
6.7 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hand Hotel

Property: The Hand Hotel
Address: Church Street, Chirk LL14 5EY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Chirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Hand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hand Hotel Chirk, Wrexham County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing