We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel full of character”
Review of The Hand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Chirk B&B and Inns
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel full of character”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

although our arrival was quite late we did manage to grab dinner. The dining room was very grand, regency style and very beautiful. The lamb shank was beautifully cooked and the portions were not a scrimped on. Limited wine choices though. The staff were all friendly and polite and quite attentive. Our room, 10, was comfortable with modern furnishings but old furniture. Wifi was non existent in the room but we was told that, elsewhere in the hotel we didn't have a problem. Tea/coffee making facilities and hair dryer were available. The bathroom needs updating and has saniflow system in place. A little noisy but for 30 seconds each flush was not enough to spoil our stay. After reading other reviews we were a bit sceptical about the plumbing system. Had to wait for about 5 minutes for the hot water to reach the shower. If you know this then not a problem and as its an old building just adds to the character. Breakfast was good, well cooked, lots of it and hot. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tllanc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    70
    42
    22
    18
See reviews for
46
77
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

A nice warm welcome. No lift so if you are on the top floor, you need your muscles.

The room was spacious well appointed with still water biscuits and tea tray. \the TV was minute and hard to watch from the bed but the room and bed was very comfortable.

Down for a meal and the staff were really friendly and welcoming. A nice pint of Tetley's and the food was very nice. Well cooked and prepared. The chips and burger were excellent. Wifi was in and out in the lounge and none existent in my room.

The bed was really comfy and my room was very quiet apart from when some one went to the loo. The churning noise of the mechanism the munched the waste up before sending it on its way. I had a good nights sleep.

The bathroom really let the room down as it was very drab and tired and when I turned the shower on the water was just about aired and it was the same out of the so called hot tap.

Down for breakfast and the same warm welcome and the breakfast although a little slow coming was really nice. Again, well cooked and wholesome.

Checkout was slow process as there seemed to be only one person taking breakfast orders and dealing with check outs at the same time. Apologies were offered on a regular basis but no good if you are in a rush.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dino246GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Traveled with my partner from plymouth to the village of chirk to look at a new business venture and stayed at the hand hotel for a few days. After seeing the last few comments on tripadvisor what these people are exspecting from a 400yr old coaching hotel is beyond us.The staff in the hotel are very friendly,polite, and helpful as welsh village people are. Our room was clean and tidy overlooking the garden area albeit not the ritz but we where not paying there prices.The restaurant food was very good the sunday lunch starter of bleu cheese and red onion marmalade cheesecake was to die for as was the main meal and the lemon drizzle cake yummmmmmy.
The bar lounge area is very pleasant in the evenings we actually talked to michael bubles auntie who was on her way to manchester to his concert.To sum up we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lordraymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night (thankfully) at the beginning of February. Looked fine on the website but what a disappointment. Check in was smooth and reception staff were friendly.
If you are given the keys for room 4 on arrival DO NOT accept.
The room is very small, the window rattles all night and the bathroom is dirty and dated. The view from the afore mentioned window is of a brick wall and if you look down from the wall its a dumping ground for twisted step ladders, old laminate flooring and general waste.
There are tea and coffee making facilities and the smallest lcd tv I have ever seen.
The bar shuts at midnight and even though we argued we were residents, our pleas fell on deaf ears.We were allowed to buy a few bottles of the local brew before the shutters were pulled and all the staff left the premises. There was no member of staff seen until breakfast next morning.
The only redeeming factors for this hotel was the breakfast., nicely cooked and plenty of it and the bed was comfortable but at £65 a night we wont be going back.
To sum up, a basic, dated, tired, overpriced "hotel"

Room Tip: do not accept room number 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank uny1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handchirk, Owner at The Hand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for your comments and im sorry you feel you had a bad stay with us.....as you would have noted the Hand Hotel is a 400 yr old coaching inn so we do not profess to be a modern chic boutique hotel..we have slowly but surely been renovating all our rooms but unfortunately room 4 is on the "to do list".....that was the only double room available that evening and appreciate you were not happy with the view but to be fair to the hotel although most of our rooms have lovely views across the town and beyond to the Berwyn mountains we do not advertise as panoramic or sea views!!!..I myself have stayed in some wonderful hotels around the world but most if not all have some rooms overlooking a yard or service entrance at the rear of the hotel.. I dispute your claim on the room being dirty it was not ,it may look a bit "tired" but not dirty....I also note your photos concentrate on your negative views not on the parts of the hotel that are completely different to how you portray it....your points have been noted and "if" you were to revisit you will see that room 4 has been upgraded to a higher standard
regards
paul rogers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chirk hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

booked 2 rooms an the brewery suite for our daughters christening . We was told we could get in the brewery suite to decorate room at 12pm as christening was at 3pm we had to wait for the room to be hooverd an tables moved an.cloths put on.them before we could decorate it. once we had finished went to.our room which was filthy sink an shower had reminants of previous ocupiers .. we had to get them.to re clean before we could use them .still was unclean 2nd time round but we didnt have time to wait we was even late for our daughters christenin because of all the hassle .very disapointed even now as it spoilt wot should of bin a gud day

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kiora24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I have already put a review on for this hotel as we had lunch their, but we actually also ended up having our wedding at The Hand Hotel last year at relatively short notice as weddings go as another local venue was messing us around.

I would like to say that if you are thinking of having a wedding there - You won't be disappointed!!!!

The staff are fabulous, nothing is too much trouble. The food was amazing both for the wedding and in general, as our wedding party was there for 2 nights we had evening meal and breakfasts there and to top it off it wasn't expensive. There is an Indian across the road were the groom and a few others disappeared to the night before, which was great and they said it was fab food and had a great time.

The rooms are nice, a few of the beds had lumpy mattress as couple of the guests pointed out but I know that the hotel is in the process are renewing and re-decorating room by room because this an old hotel, got to say it has a lovely charm and plenty of character.

My guests were also pleased that the drinks behind the bar were 'pub prices' and left with money in the pockets as they had expected to get fleeced as it was a wedding.

We had the ceremony in the Regency Suite and the rest of the day in the Brewery Suite as it has a large dedicated bar and leads into the garden. Though if you are expecting to use the garden for your day make sure you ask for it exclusively so's not to get any locals mixing with your guests.

Room rates were more than acceptable as what people paid for 2 nights for our wedding they had paid not far off that for 1 night at another wedding a few months earlier. Only down side was that I couldn't get enough rooms for all the guests and this hotel isn't huge, but the was an option to stay at another local hotel which was only 5-10mins away by taxi which the reception were happy to pre order for my guests should they require a lift to that hotel. They didn't want to take deposits for all the rooms and that made it far easier for the guests as they just paid the morning after the wedding and didn't need to give us any money or vise versa for deposits.

If you are thinking of having a wedding in the local area, this hotel is a definite one to short list and pay a visit too. I felt completely at ease and knew that they had it all under control, they even arranged a bouncy castle for us for the kids in the garden and got us a great price for it.

Room Tip: Room 11 - Bridal Suite is lovely and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0line_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handchirk, Owner at The Hand Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
thank you for the lovely comments, im pleased you enjoyed your time with us and hope that we see you again at the hotel soon
regards
Paul Rogers
director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

we had a lovely meal here with my carer we both enjoyed it very good service we didn't wait for long very good waiter service I would recommend the hand hotel chirk we also had pudding everything was no problem excellent there was plenty on the early bird menu

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlr79@aol.com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chirk
5.3 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
387 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,256 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
5.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
473 reviews
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hand Hotel

Property: The Hand Hotel
Address: Church Street, Chirk LL14 5EY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Chirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hand Hotel Chirk, Wrexham County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing