We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip”
Review of Moreton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moreton Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed here 4 times now the rooms are basic but clean bedding ,tea /coffee /biscuits all replaced daily, staff very polite breakfast very good ,full English as much as you want .The spa down the road is spot on, swim,sauna,jacuzzi,steam room all included in price ,nice walks along canal food at poachers pocket good value for money but beer not as good as lord Morton Food at Morton on evening is not as good as breakfast ,beef at carvery on a Wednesday a bit tough stayed at hotel 3 years running now if not returning next year it's only because visited all the attractions in the area if you want a relaxing break then I would recommend this hotel,but try to get a room facing car park because of the noise.the only thing they could do to improve is have better wifi as we stayed in room 5 and wifi didn't work but we didn't tell reception as it wasn't a issue for us we just used the wifi in pub.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annnmarie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
There are newer reviews for Moreton Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed for just the one night but it was very nice, the mezzanine floor makes the room much more spacious than most. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were given a 10% discount voucher for the adjacent pub which was also very nice. We also made use of the leisure facilities at the near by Lion Quays hotel (1 min drive away) which has a great pool but you can only go at certain times (14.30-18.30 & 10.30-11.30). All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Our family room was excellent!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holmsey1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Basic but clean stay for the night on route to see family.
Staff on reception were really lovely, and upon check in we were given a discount for the adjacent restaurant (which was good food).
Slight smell along the corridors which was a bit offputting but the room itself did not smell. Great layout in the room. Upper level with King size bed and another TV which meant my son had the single bed downstairs and his own tv so nice to have a bit of privacy.
Furniture in the room was a little tired but it was certainly fine for just the one night and it was clean and had nice bathroom and very spacious.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank ManxKate09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We were looking for a stopover with family rooms convenient for our onward journey to Snowdon & also considered the Premier Inn at Owestry. We chose Moreton Park because it was slightly nearer to our destination ; because it stated free wi-fi as opposed to having to pay after half an hour and for the more spacious-looking family rooms.

The mezzanine floor certainly gives more room than the average family room we have stayed in before. If you're relying on having wi-fi though, be prepared to sit in the corridor with your device to get any coverage!

The downside of the convenient location is the proximity to the A5 & the resulting noise. Thankfully the temperatures weren't as high as they have been in recent weeks so we were able to close the window after we'd heard loud voices in the car park in addition to the traffic noise.

The motel is clean if a little worn at the edges (flaking paint under the velux window probably as a result of being left open in the rain/discoloured arms of sofa through wear) but did the job we required of it. Any future upgrade must surely include air conditioning though!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Basic, but clean and spacious room. Good place to stay overnight, close to main routes to N. England and Wales. No traffic noise from our room (with windows shut). Our room was only £44, but did not include breakfast which was expensive at £6 each.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jos1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The hotel is next to the A5 however it is ideally situated for touring the area. The room was clean and spacious.Only one complaint the bed was wonky, You slid in to the middle whether you were in as a couple or on your own. So I took the spare quilt and slept on the floor!
The reception staff were extremely helpful
We ate at the next door restaurant the food was what you paid for however the carvery was lovely with huge Yorkshire puddings !
We ate breakfast at a truck stop on the other side of the roundabout for £4.80
We used the swimming pool at the sister hotel and as we were without our children liked the fact that we knew we could swim without children in the pool.
I would use again as it suited our purpose

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alysbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We recently stayed in the motel for an overnight stay which was very well located, the room was spacious with room for a table and two chairs to have food and drinks at. The room was also very clean, we did not have any traffic noise to keep us awake as we closed the windows and this was very effective at cutting out the noise, certainly with the windows open there was noise. The value was very good and the breakfast served next door in the pub style restaurant was buffet with all that you could want to start your day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kplceurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chirk
0.5 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,301 reviews
18.8 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
#3 of 10 in Wrexham
610 reviews
7.2 mi away
Travelodge Wrexham
Travelodge Wrexham
#5 of 10 in Wrexham
186 reviews
7.1 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moreton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moreton Park Hotel

Address: Gledrid, Chirk LL14 5DG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Chirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirk
Price Range: £52 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moreton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern, purpose built Hotel ideally situated for convenient access to Oswestry, Wrexham, Shrewsbury, Chester and North Wales. At Moreton Park Hotel we offer spacious, modern, comfortable, well equipped rooms, friendly service and fantastic value for money. Whether on business, visiting friends, family or for a special occasion, Moreton Park Hotel offers great value. Our rates are per room. We have an excellent Restaurant on site at the Lord Moreton for Breakfast and Food served all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Moreton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moreton Park Hotel Chirk, Wrexham County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing