We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value stop off”
Review of Moreton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moreton Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

we stayed here 3yrs ago and then last weekend on our way to the lake district. Greta value £69 for family room with breakfast! but the real treat is they have an agreement with hotel down the road that has a Spa so after breakfast you can pop across and use the pool sauna and steam room for no extra cost. note only certain times kids allowed in pool. worth looking at if on trip up North. staff all friendly and helpful

Room Tip: I think rooms are sold rather than number of people so best value is for family. Big room with mezza...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Booked moreton park on way home from a four day break, having stayed here previously we booked one night B and B , room basic, but caters for your needs, clean and large. Breakfast was in the pub/eating place adjoined to motel. Lovely breakfast with lots of choice . Also has a garden centre adjoining, which is lovely, selling clothes, pavers shoes and plants. We were able to purchase some shoes in the sale.
As part of the overnight stay we were able to use the spa facilities half a mile down the road at the lion quays hotel, the facilities are excellent, having a large gym , classes , swimming pool, fabulous spa facilities.
this was a bonus as staying at the loin quays is fab but double the price of moreton hall . Have stayed at both hotels previously and would highly recommend moreton hall for a brief break not wanting luxury but clean and friendly. Chick ideal to visit Shropshire or Llangollen, definitely worth a visit. The earlier you book the cheaper the price , so with spa use for two days plus B and B can be as little as £50 for double room.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lesleyanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I was arriving late at Gobowen station and thought they might order a cab for me if I asked nicely, but they just gave me a taxi firm number. The guy on reception looked like the security man, and clearly hadn't been to charm school, but he was efficient enough.
The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in, though if you like a firm mattress you won't like it here
Having to walk to the pub next door in the cold and rain for breakfast wasn't great, but the breakfast was pretty good
For a hotel right on the A5 I didn't find it too noisy

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank St_Albans_City
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Had an enjoyable stay Not amazing considering your right next to the main road but I new that when booking. If hadn't known it would have been a 3* but its definitely worth a 4*! Staff are also accommodating. The Lord Morton restaurant is looking a bit dated.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We are a family of four and had a lovely 2 night break here. Great room with a mezzanine floor, so we could sleep in separate rooms. TV upstairs and downstairs. Receptionist was very helpful. Breakfast was great, served in the pub next door. Full English or continental.
We had full use of the spa half a mile down the road. We went for a swim both days using the steam room and sauna too. It has just been done out and is stunning.
Nice walks nearby, had a nice walk along the canal and aqueduct in Chirk.
Would definitely go back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank aitchjay_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The place is immaculate, never stayed in such a clean hotel room. Staff very friendly, can't do enough for you.

Ideal location. Used sister restaurant up the road, again, excellent.

Will def use again when needed

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

wow totally unexpected but an on the ball 1am receptionist guy, brilliant large well decorated twin level bedroom. very well equipped, lots of lights, 2 nice tvs, large sofa, lots of storage

powerful warm shower in simple but spotless bathroom. fab breakfast was included in the pub next door ... unlimited but good quality and loads of choice.

well worth travelling few extra miles for this hotel. i certainally will in future

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chirk
0.5 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,328 reviews
9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
#4 of 10 in Wrexham
646 reviews
4.5 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The West Arms Hotel
The West Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
590 reviews
6.3 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
288 reviews
7.4 mi away
Travelodge Wrexham
Travelodge Wrexham
#5 of 10 in Wrexham
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moreton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moreton Park Hotel

Address: Gledrid, Chirk LL14 5DG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Chirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirk
Price Range: £55 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moreton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern, purpose built Hotel ideally situated for convenient access to Oswestry, Wrexham, Shrewsbury, Chester and North Wales. At Moreton Park Hotel we offer spacious, modern, comfortable, well equipped rooms, friendly service and fantastic value for money. Whether on business, visiting friends, family or for a special occasion, Moreton Park Hotel offers great value. Our rates are per room. We have an excellent Restaurant on site at the Lord Moreton for Breakfast and Food served all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Moreton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moreton Park Hotel Chirk, Wrexham County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing