We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel O Cebreiro
Nearby Hotels
Valcarce Hotel(La Portela De Valcarce)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo(Villafranca del Bierzo)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casa de Diaz(Samos)(Great Value!)
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ctr Ambasmestas(Ambasmestas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Complexo Xacobeo(Triacastela)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
San Francisco(Villafranca del Bierzo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Villa Mencia(Corullon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
27
32
30
25
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
32
30
25
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingroom was cleanbar restaurantpilgrim dinnerbeautiful settingbar staff were friendly and helpfuloctopustoastother reviewsstairscaminogaliciahillcompanyfabapilgrimagevalley
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I had a twin room in the main building overlooking the town square.

The town itself is a small tourist trap, busy during the day but much quieter at night.

I was walking the Camino so enjoyed the French windows which allowed in lots of light and air to dry the washing.

Wifi was poor and slow in the room.

Bar staff were friendly and helpful. Restaurant was quite good for the pilgrim menu.

Overall not bad value and worth a stop.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The priest in O Cebreiro in the 1970's was the driving force behind the resurgence of the Camino de Santiago. His tireless efforts and ingenuity led to the walks rise in popularity after many decades of decline. I think that he would be appalled by the avarice that is now in display in O Cebreiro and particularly within this establishment. Dreadful service, non existent welcome, poor poor food, tacky gift shops, monosyllabic replies to questions asked. The bedroom was cold, the bathroom light that was timed to go off after 2 minutes, leaving you stranded in the shower in darkness, the dirty tiles and dirty plaster in the corner of the room confirmed the complete lack of care that had been taken? The people who manage the property also run one of the restaurants and it really felt that they were trying to screw the last cent out of this seasons walkers. I'd actively recommend people against staying here, but given that this is one of very few accomodation options in O Cebreiro, I suspect that these people will be laughing at our naivety all the way to the bank for many years to come.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brockcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel is small you have to book but I don't think reviews give it justice set at old 692 roman settlement are guarding the pass, the church is beautiful looked after by the friars ,and rumoured to have had the holy grail cup there ,I loved the hotel it's charm simple breakfast , small wooden rooms overlooking the mountains ,what better way to start the camino , I've have started there and in 2012 finished there as jersey Channel Islands only official knight Templar , it's fantastic history bad the camino is no stroll in the park but a life changeing experience cannot wait to go back when I can its a crossroads for meeting weary travellers on there own pilgrimage Gary turner

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Amazing original decoration, in a small village you don't have many options, but this place puts you in a very cool 13th. Century mood!
Our room was clean and beautiful!
I guess by reading other reviews, that is an important issue, try to get a room in the main building w previous reservations!

Room Tip: I would choose the pone facing the church, because the one facing the street is subject to people making noise!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytraveler565656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the first night of our walk towards Compostela. Bearing in mind that O Cebreiro is very, very small, and this hotel is right in front of the church, it is necessary to reserve. We had no problems, reservation was straight forward (via e-mails) and our rooms were ready when we arrive about 6pm. Try to get either a side room or a back one... the main square can get a bit noisy in the evening with enthusiastic pilgrims! Dinner was ok but not fantastic...breakfast was just a cup of coffee + milk and bread + butter. Service was a bit slow in the restaurant, as it was to its full capacity. I would definitely recommend this small hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the back or side are quieter. Avoid a room facing the man square.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buriti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews