We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent experience!”
Review of Camino de Soto B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camino de Soto B&B
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed in Camino de Soto 3 nights. We chose this area since we had never been here before. We spent only one day in Madrid this visit.
We enjoyed Pedriza park and had a nice trip to Segovia via the mountains.
The B & B gives you full privacy and at the same time you enjoy the company, experience, travel tips and warm hospitality of Ian and Juan Carlos. It was also a good opportunity to practice our Spanish.
We enjoyed a dinner Ian prepared for us and loved the sunflower seed bread (took the recipe!0

Room Tip: We stayed in La Pedriza on the top floor which has its private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

I agree totally with all the positive recommendations already expressed on here. Having read these reviews before we stayed there, I can only say that first impressions exceeded our expectations and that the 8 nights we stayed confirmed these. The garden and house are immaculately kept and daily room service means that our room was always spotless. We stayed in La Pedriza room and were thrilled with the spacious balcony and its lovely views. The photos on the website are good, but do not quite do justice to the amazing views, which include Lake Santillana, as well as the mountains. You can even enjoy a 'loo with a view'! Service is exceptional with delicious home baked bread and cakes and anticipation of anything that would make your stay more enjoyable. Ian was really helpful, finding extra information on the Internet for any place we mentioned visiting, including walks in the mountains. Camino de Soto is well placed for visiting Madrid, historical towns and also beautiful mountain scenery. Ian and Juan Carlos are excellent hosts. Their recommended restaurant is amazing value - currently under 10€ for 3 courses, water, drinks and coffee on a weekday lunchtime! We had a great holiday and will be back some time!

Room Tip: Although La Pedriza is an amazing room, a lovely stay could also be had in the smaller, downstairs r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 746carolw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This place is perfect for an escapade from noisy Madrid - in our case it was a romantic getaway for the weekend :). The house was clean and tastefully decorated, and the pool and garden were great for realxing - and only a 40 mins drive from Madrid. Ian and Juan Carlos were charming hosts. Thank you for all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anutka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We only stayed for one night at Camino de Soto but we felt welcome at once and we were impressed by the friendly host. these people have a good taste and pay attention on almost everything, but at the same time know how to keep one's distance. we also had diner and it was delicious. we can highly recommend the chicken with prunes an the warm garbano salad. we used this place as a last stop on our little holiday in central Spain before flying from Madrid. It felt as the best choice. we certainly would return to this place, also for a longer stay. Muchas gracias!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olaf k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Beside the wonderfull house and it's warm atmosphere, lush garden with pool, stunning backyard views, tasty breakfast, four o'clock delights, personal guide information, several species of birds passing by all the time, etc..................., there is one other thing that is probably the most important. Ian and Juan Carlos are two people that really "enjoy" hosting people. It's not a job for them. The moment you enter the house they make you feel, and they wan't you to feel at home.They offer you all the opportunities from A to Z, and it's all up to you. No obligations, no stress and all at a level of excellence. Exactly like a good holiday should be, Spain at it's best spiced up with a flavor of American fluency and openness. Are you a silent type? No problem! You want a good conversation or an everyday talk, they are "the" specialists.
You weren't there yet? What are you waiting for?

Dirk and Kris. Belgian birdwatchers and Spanish culinary lovers, May 2013.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My wife and I drove up from Madrid to do some rock climbing in La Pedriza. We stayed at Camino de Soto and were repeatedly impressed by our hosts, the food, and the amazing views. The scenery and ambiance of the B&B were more incredible than even the photos on the website. We thoroughly enjoyed eating genuine Spanish meals each night and their flan was the best I have ever had in my entire life. Camino de Soto is an amazing value and should be on the top of anyone's list who is planning on staying north of Madrid. The food, wine, views and accommodations were noteworthy and I expect they will be booked all the time and you should enjoy it before prices catch up to what they offer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fengelha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

In September 2012 I went on a honeymoon to Spain with my wife. At the airport we were kindly picked up by our host. The arrival at Camino de Soto was great. We had a wonderful view of a valley, a great deal of fun at the pool and enjoyed ourselves so much thanks to a very welcoming host. The food was excellent and there is a great hike to do in the vicinity.

I certainly recommend this place!
D & L from Utrecht, the Netherlands

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank douwe o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Camino de Soto B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino de Soto B&B

Address: Calle Puente de La Reina 18, 28791 Soto del Real, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Soto del Real
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Soto del Real
Price Range: £53 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino de Soto B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you choose to relax by the pool and take in the spectacular views of the Madrid mountains, or explore the surrounding countryside and famous cultural & historic sites, Camino de Soto is your home away from home. It is ideal for business travel, vacations, honeymoons, and romantic getaways.The accommodations feature two cozy, comfortable bedrooms and one spacious master. The rooms come with a queen-size bed, flat-screen television, and other amenities to ensure an enjoyable stay. There is a large, comfortable common area with views of the garden, pool, and Madrid mountains.Camino de Soto is located just 35-40 minutes from Madrid and Barajas International Airport. Places of interest in close proximity include Segovia, Royal Palace of La Granja, Toledo, Avila, Salamanca, Pedraza, La Pedriza National Park, Canencia and Morcuera mountain passes, Lozoya Lake, and Navacerrada and Valdeski ski resorts.Train service is available from Puerto del Sol (city center) to Tres Cantos (10 minutes away) as well as bus service from Plaza Castilla to Soto del Real (5 minutes away). The owners look forward to providing you with a comfortable, relaxing environment whether you desire a cozy place to escape to during the winter months or need a refreshing getaway during the hot summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Camino de Soto B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing