We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with amazing views”
Review of El Cielo de Canar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Cielo de Canar
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canar
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We had a really enjoyable time staying here. The owners are friendly and welcoming, the room was clean and well presented and the views from the terrace was amazing. And the two labradors (Eddie and Elvis) took us on a long tour of the surrounding countryside!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lauraele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2011

El Cielo de Canar is a wonderful base for a holiday in Southern Spain. Stay as long as possible in this delightful small and unique cortija in a very quiet but accessible region. John and Orna are perfect hosts who have thought of everything to ensure a relaxing holiday in this charming and very special environment. They provided very helpful information and support to make our stay both unique and a delight - the highlight of our month in Spain.

The winding mountain drive up is well worth it with incredible views and is all part of the very unique El Cielo experience. After the first trip it is fine and next time we would base ourselves there for longer and visit Granada as well as the local fascinating Alpujarra region. Canar is a small special village with lovely local bars who provide very interesting food with generous tapas.

The well appointed bedrooms, garden and terraces have excellent mountain and valley views. The lovely sitting and dining room make for quiet relaxing spaces with lots of thoughtful extras. The mountain walks (with the aid of delightful Eddie and Elvis) were a perfect way to unwind. The breakfasts and very special evening meal prepared by Orna who is a fantastic cook were a highlight. Although Australia is a long way from Spain we are already planning our return and will definitely start with time at El Cielo.

Room Tip: All rooms are a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennieandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed in El Cielo for 3 nights with our two grown up sons and were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves.
After a slightly scary last few kilometers (try not to arrive when it is dark although the road is fine once you have got used to it) we arrived in this wonderful location, in the middle of nowhere with beautiful views all around. We were welcomed by John - with a bottle of wine, olives.... and the labradors Elvis and Eddie and from then on it was all pretty perfect: the rooms and bathrooms are not huge but they are very tastefully done and lead onto a lovely terrace; there is plenty of space to lounge around, a pool (although too cold for us at this time of the year) and great walks up and down the mountains.

Canar, the nearest village has a simple but tasty cafe/restaurant but we strongly recommend that you have dinner at the house as food is excellent and we can't thank John enough for his very attentive service. Finally, it is small touches like biscuits with tea or drinks and snacks left in the sitting room in the evening that made us feel totally relaxed and quite at home. Definitely worth going back to!

Room Tip: the one at the very end of the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniepeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

A chance discovery, this was one of the most relaxing parts of our travels through Spain. Wonderfully welcoming hosts (including Elvis and Eddie the resident labradors), who couldn't do enough to make us welcome and keep us fed and watered. Speaking of which, Orna is an excellent cook, and after having to sit upright in bed after eating too much of her good cooking, we were begging her to keep the portions down.

A great place to kick back, enjoy the mountain views (with maybe the odd G&T or red wine), fresh air and peace - disturbed only the the goats with their bells out for a late afternoon feed.

We were particularly lucky and had the entire place to ourselves.

The little village of Canar is a short walk down the mountain for a beer and tapas. A lovely way to experience a different part of Spain, and quite accessible - only 1.5 hours to Malaga airport.

Thanks again - we absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NC444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We found this Bed and Breakfast on tripadvisor and thought we'd give it a go.
In the middle of the mountains, middle of nowhere, completely out of the tourist route and really only accessible with a car, but once you're there it's like a little piece of heaven.

Of our 3 weeks in spain, our 2 nights there were the best.

I'm going back and taking the family (as soon as I win lotto).

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee-atMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

If you're looking for a break from it all, this is the place. Tucked away (up a scary hill) at the foot of the southern alps, you'll find this wonderful b&b.
Run by an ex pat British couple, this was by far the best hotel we stayed at throughout our travels in Spain.
John, the proprietor, welcomed us with a glass of wine and olives and continued to look after us wonderfully during our short stay.
The food was delicious, the wine plentiful and the rooms just right.
Trust me- this one is worth the effort.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

When planning our trip to the Alpujarras I came across the glowing reviews of 'El Cielo de Canar' and decided to book three nights for the end of September. I can only confirm that all of the previous reviews are absolutely accurate and deserving, and El Cielo de Canar is indeed a very unique place. The location and views are simply breathtaking (on a clear day you can see all the way to the Mediterranean) and it offers a very quiet, relaxing and comfortable atmosphere.

The owners John and Orna are wonderful hosts and always made us feel at home, and their two playful Labradors Elvis and Eddie are great companions when going for a walk. If you get a chance to eat dinner there take advantage of it... Orna is an amazing cook and we enjoyed a superb Rioja Risotto that was one of the best meals we had during our two week trip across Andalucía !

Note that the drive up to Canar and then further up to the 'cortijo' can be a little challenging the first time but (in my opinion) is part of its charm and overall experience.

I can only highly recommend this place !!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kzra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canar
1.9 mi away
Hotel Mirasol
Hotel Mirasol
#3 of 3 in Orgiva
22 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alcadima Hotel
Alcadima Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lanjaron
340 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#2 of 4 in Capileira
269 reviews
4.1 mi away
Las Terrazas de la Alpujarra
5.6 mi away
Hotel de Mecina Fondales
Hotel de Mecina Fondales
#1 of 1 in Mecina Fondales
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cielo de Canar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cielo de Canar

Address: Llano de Manzano | Canar, 18418 Canar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Canar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canar
Price Range: £86 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 double bedrooms set in the mountains 1 hour south of Granada with stunning views, country walks and swimming pool. Surrounded by white villages this is a place of tranquility in the Alpujarras. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Cielo De Hotel Canar
Canar El Cielo De

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing